Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No Volume or Brightness Configuration in KDE
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
agszepp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2014 10:43 pm    Post subject: No Volume or Brightness Configuration in KDE Reply with quote

I just got KDE working, but I can't change the brightness. Whenever I try, it says that it goes down, but it still stays the same. Also, there's no volume manager icon and there's no sound. How do I fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 1709
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2014 11:27 pm    Post subject: ><)))°€ Reply with quote

Teegrins and welcome, agszepp!


For the brightness issue, is this a laptop?

It might help a bit if you sent your dmesg output to a pastebin (make friends with app-text/wgetpaste), and return here with a link to it.


Are you using pulseaudio?

If yes, then some, if not most of what I write may be irrelevant, as I do not use, nor know too much about it.

Firstly, you may try running kmix (package kde-base/kmix, which you likely should have around). That's what I have providing a task-bar entry for volume (although I rarely use it, heh!).

It may be that you have the above installed just fine, but it's perhaps not running because you don't have audio at all. Do you?

Try running alsamixer (package media-sound/alsa-utils) from a terminal.

What happens, if anything, when you play some media-files?


Possibly worth reading:
  • ALSA @ wiki.gentoo.org

_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agszepp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think I have audio at all because when I tried running it from VLC Player I got the following message:

Code:

Audio output failed:
The audio device "default" could not be used:
No such file or directory.


I downloaded kmix, but it doesn't look the same as on screenshots. My dmesg is here: http://bpaste.net/show/174676/, and I do have Gentoo installed on a laptop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agszepp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed alsa, but alsamixer doesn't save my settings. After I exit I run
Code:

sudo alsactl store

but this doesn't save it, because when I run alsamixer again, it shows me the settings that were there when I first ran it. When I tried the sound test on the wiki, I got the following error:
Code:

speaker-test 1.0.27.2

Playback device is default
Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 2 channels
WAV file(s)
ALSA lib /var/tmp/portage/media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.27.2/work/alsa-lib-1.0.27.2/src/pcm/pcm_dmix.c:1022:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
Playback open error: -2,No such file or directory


My lspci for audio is here:
Code:

00:03.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Haswell-ULT HD Audio Controller (rev 09)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Lynx Point-LP HD Audio Controller (rev 04)


How do I fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 1709
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

agszepp wrote:
I don't think I have audio at all because when I tried running it from VLC Player I got the following message:

Code:

Audio output failed:
The audio device "default" could not be used:
No such file or directory.

First of all, make sure your (regular) user is in the audio group. It seems to me that this may be the root of your problem, but I may be wrong, too!

agszepp wrote:
I downloaded kmix, but it doesn't look the same as on screenshots. My dmesg is here: http://bpaste.net/show/174676/, and I do have Gentoo installed on a laptop.

I hope by downloaded you don't mean you downloaded it off of some website and installed it outside of Portage. In probably most of the caess, one should have the package kde-base/kmix installed as a dependency of KDE.

agszepp wrote:
I installed alsa, but alsamixer doesn't save my settings. After I exit I run
Code:

sudo alsactl store

but this doesn't save it, because when I run alsamixer again, it shows me the settings that were there when I first ran it.

By installed, do you mean you installed some alsa-package not mentioned in the wikki article that I linked to? If so, I can't much help as I've not used that method, and I believe it's recommended to be using the 'kernel alsa' instead.

From what you are describing, it seems like you actually have the driver(s) for your device (which I mention more about below). However, are you running alsamixer as root or a regular user? You should be running it as a regular user. If you are unable to, check groups. As for alsactl, that's a different story, but I never actually used it for anything.

agszepp wrote:
When I tried the sound test on the wiki, I got the following error:
Code:

speaker-test 1.0.27.2

Playback device is default
Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 2 channels
WAV file(s)
ALSA lib /var/tmp/portage/media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.27.2/work/alsa-lib-1.0.27.2/src/pcm/pcm_dmix.c:1022:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
Playback open error: -2,No such file or directory

Here, too, I'll ask if you are you running it as root or as a regular user? You should be running it as a regular user, and in case you weren't in the audio group, that might explain your results.

agszepp wrote:
My lspci for audio is here:
Code:

00:03.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Haswell-ULT HD Audio Controller (rev 09)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Lynx Point-LP HD Audio Controller (rev 04)


How do I fix this?

For future reference, add the -k switch for lspci to show the kernel driver being used (if any). If there is none, use the -n switch and paste the output here:
That should help you to verify that you have the required driver/module around.


I hope this helps!
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agszepp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your help Chiitoo.

I think the default sound card is changed because I have this:

Code:

$ cat /proc/asound/cards

 0 [MID            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel MID
                      HDA Intel MID at 0xb0710000 irq 61
 1 [PCH            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
                      HDA Intel PCH at 0xb0714000 irq 62


Also, in alsamixer, the HDA Intel MID has no options for changing the volume, but HDA Intel PCH has a whole buch. I think I need to switch them, so that HDA Intel PCH is at position 0 and HDA-Intel MID is at position one. How do I do that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2540
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a similar problem, what fixed it was loading the
snd_hda_intel module with an index parameter; it
might work for you

in /etc/conf.d/modules:

Code:
modules="snd_hda_intel"
module_snd_hda_intel_args="index=1"


you might have to blacklist the snd_hda_intel module
as well or it will get autoloaded without the parameter

If so, add

blacklist snd_hda_intel

[and whatever other modules you need to]

to /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum