Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Play on linux gets stuck when installing Wine [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SemmZemm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jul 2013
Posts: 30
Location: France, Russia

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 11:35 am    Post subject: Play on linux gets stuck when installing Wine [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi,

I have problem with several games on PlayOnLinux. When I install several games (Super Street Fighter IV: Arcade Edition, League of Legends) it freezes on downloading specific version of Wine.

SSF4AE:
http://www.zimagez.com/zimage/screenshot-12302013-122245pm.php

LoL:
http://www.zimagez.com/zimage/screenshot-12302013-123012pm.php
For league of legends it downloads a big tarball with the game and unpacks it.

I can wait for hours: it stays like that.

At the same time I can easily install World of Tanks for example.

I don't provide any logs because I don't know what I should provide, say me what should I post, please.

Thanks in advance.


Last edited by SemmZemm on Sat Jan 11, 2014 2:10 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piotraf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2003
Posts: 42
Location: Łódź - Poland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a topic for playonlinux forum or bug report.
e.g. http://www.playonlinux.com/es/topic-11377.html
_________________
pozdrawiam/best regards
PiotrAF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SemmZemm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jul 2013
Posts: 30
Location: France, Russia

PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, it helped. Not enough disk space.
I remarked similar message for transmission.

My df says:

Code:
Filesystem     1K-blocks     Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/sdb2      230490868 35921336 182838200  17% /
tmpfs             806768      556    806212   1% /run
udev               10240        0     10240   0% /dev
shm              4033824    23196   4010628   1% /dev/shm
cgroup_root        10240        0     10240   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
/dev/sdb1         126960    18308    102100  16% /boot
tmpfs           12582912        0  12582912   0% /var/tmp/portage
tmpfs            4033824    24020   4009804   1% /tmp


df -i

Code:
Filesystem       Inodes   IUsed    IFree IUse% Mounted on
/dev/sdb2      14647296 1347712 13299584   10% /
tmpfs           1008456     460  1007996    1% /run
udev            1007970     482  1007488    1% /dev
shm             1008456      24  1008432    1% /dev/shm
cgroup_root     1008456       6  1008450    1% /sys/fs/cgroup
/dev/sdb1         32768      35    32733    1% /boot
tmpfs           1008456       1  1008455    1% /var/tmp/portage
tmpfs           1008456     254  1008202    1% /tmp


Should I post it to another thread?

Added: sorry, my fault, I forgotten to add -a key. My /home is full
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 168
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

SemmZemm wrote:
Thank you, it helped. Not enough disk space.


Added: sorry, my fault, I forgotten to add -a key. My /home is full


Does that mean the problem is solved for you?
I had similar issues but in my case it involved incompatibility between my current python and wxpython versions.
Resolving that solved it for me.

Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SemmZemm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jul 2013
Posts: 30
Location: France, Russia

PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It didn't resolve the problem. Now I have similar problem with wxGTK and wxpython.

I have:

Code:
equery l wxGTK
 * Searching for wxGTK ...
[IP-] [  ] x11-libs/wxGTK-2.8.12.1-r1:2.8
[IP-] [  ] x11-libs/wxGTK-2.9.4.1-r1:2.9/2.9.4

equery l wxpython
 * Searching for wxpython ...
[IP-] [  ] dev-python/wxpython-2.8.12.1-r2:2.8
[IP-] [  ] dev-python/wxpython-2.9.4.1-r2:2.9

equery l python
[IP-] [  ] dev-lang/python-2.7.6:2.7
[IP-] [  ] dev-lang/python-3.2.5-r3:3.2
[IP-] [  ] dev-lang/python-3.3.3:3.3

eselect python show
python3.3


What should I do to solve it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 168
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SemmZemm wrote:
It didn't resolve the problem. Now I have similar problem with wxGTK and wxpython.

I have:

Code:
equery l wxGTK
 * Searching for wxGTK ...
[IP-] [  ] x11-libs/wxGTK-2.8.12.1-r1:2.8
[IP-] [  ] x11-libs/wxGTK-2.9.4.1-r1:2.9/2.9.4

equery l wxpython
 * Searching for wxpython ...
[IP-] [  ] dev-python/wxpython-2.8.12.1-r2:2.8
[IP-] [  ] dev-python/wxpython-2.9.4.1-r2:2.9

equery l python
[IP-] [  ] dev-lang/python-2.7.6:2.7
[IP-] [  ] dev-lang/python-3.2.5-r3:3.2
[IP-] [  ] dev-lang/python-3.3.3:3.3

eselect python show
python3.3


What should I do to solve it?


For me installing only the stable versions and explicitly removing all other installed versions solved it.
I had an ~amd keyword for some of them ; Removing that and reinstaling both wxpython and wxgtk solved it.

I guess in the end I only had the 2.8 versions installed ( but I cant check right now; I can check that tonight at home.

Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SemmZemm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jul 2013
Posts: 30
Location: France, Russia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lexflex wrote:


For me installing only the stable versions and explicitly removing all other installed versions solved it.
I had an ~amd keyword for some of them ; Removing that and reinstaling both wxpython and wxgtk solved it.

I guess in the end I only had the 2.8 versions installed ( but I cant check right now; I can check that tonight at home.

Alex.


Hm.. I think you are right. But I fear that it will crash my system. I have global ~amd keyword. Deleting it wil rollback a lot of packages.
Anyway, thank you for advice!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 168
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SemmZemm wrote:

Hm.. I think you are right. But I fear that it will crash my system. I have global ~amd keyword. Deleting it wil rollback a lot of packages.
Anyway, thank you for advice!


Mm, yeah, that might cause trouble.

Maybe you can use
Code:
 equery depends wxpython
(and wxgtk) to try to assess the damage if you would only remove the ~amd flag for those two packages.
You can then try to only allow the stable versions just for wxpython and wxgtk, and keep the rest at ~amd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 749
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Teegrins!


I'm not familiar with the particular issue, but what I might first try is setting the active, main Python interpreter to version 2, so that eselect python list shows something like:

Code:
Available Python interpreters:
  [1]   python2.7 *
  [2]   python3.2
  [3]   python3.3

Depending on the set-up, one may have several installed for either (like I have 3.2 as well as 3.3), use --python2 or/and --python3 to set the active version for either 'slot'. The important thing is to have the main one set to a Python 2 version (or at least I believe that is still a thing, although I imagine many more things now work just fine with 3).

Changing the main version may require running python-updater, or at least it may be a good idea to do.

As I mentioned though, I'm not familiar with the specific package(s), and can't say at this time if they should work with 3.


I do hope this helps!
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SemmZemm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jul 2013
Posts: 30
Location: France, Russia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lexflex wrote:

Maybe you can use
Code:
 equery depends wxpython
(and wxgtk) to try to assess the damage if you would only remove the ~amd flag for those two packages.
You can then try to only allow the stable versions just for wxpython and wxgtk, and keep the rest at ~amd.


Good idea, but I can't find, how to chose keyword amd64 (or block ~amd64) for some packages? I can do vice versa - choose unstable branch for some packages.
Is there better solution than choosing precise version of wxGTK/wxpython?

Chiitoo wrote:

I'm not familiar with the particular issue, but what I might first try is setting the active, main Python interpreter to version 2, so that eselect python list


It could help but I don't like the idea. I'd prefer python3.3 be my main version of python.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 168
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SemmZemm wrote:
lexflex wrote:

Maybe you can use
Code:
 equery depends wxpython
(and wxgtk) to try to assess the damage if you would only remove the ~amd flag for those two packages.
You can then try to only allow the stable versions just for wxpython and wxgtk, and keep the rest at ~amd.


Good idea, but I can't find, how to chose keyword amd64 (or block ~amd64) for some packages? I can do vice versa - choose unstable branch for some packages.
Is there better solution than choosing precise version of wxGTK/wxpython?


Going 'stable' and choosing unstable branch for some packages would probably be the best, but since there might be a lot of ~amd64 packages this might be a lot of work figuring out how to go back.

Otherwise, I guess the only way I know would be to choose the precise version you want by blocking specific packages in package.mask ( by adding >x11-libs/wxGTK-2.8.12.1-r1).....

Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SemmZemm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jul 2013
Posts: 30
Location: France, Russia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blocking wxpython and wxGTK to stable didn't help.

But I also have gtk2-unicode-2.9 installed in another slot. It wasn't unmerged.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 168
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SemmZemm wrote:
Blocking wxpython and wxGTK to stable didn't help.

But I also have gtk2-unicode-2.9 installed in another slot. It wasn't unmerged.



Ok, but did you also explicitly uninstall the other versions? ( I remember having to do that).
What does
Code:
eix wxpython
eix wxGTK

show?

Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SemmZemm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jul 2013
Posts: 30
Location: France, Russia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2014 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot, it helped! :D

I unmerged wxpython:2.9 (if someone will do it, please check that there is no dependencies, I didn't have!!!!)
I normally installed League of Legends and Street Fighter (for SF Steam crashes, but previous problem is solved)
Moreover, the interface is again normal, without fixed-size windows with buttons outside their regions

I also chose python2.7 as main version, it could help too. Now I will turn it back, but the games are always installed.
The only problem left: I have no more time to play it))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 168
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2014 6:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good that you got it working !

SemmZemm wrote:
Thanks a lot, it helped! :D
The only problem left: I have no more time to play it))


Lol, yeah, holidays are over :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum