Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Wireless RealTek [Solved (kinda)]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Canguru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 5:14 am    Post subject: Wireless RealTek [Solved (kinda)] Reply with quote

Hello

I was hoping somebody would be able to help with the following.

I've installed a fresh Gentoo make. Pretty much everything is working as it should except for the WiFi card. The symptom is that if I open a connection with WiFi security switched off then DHCP allocates a 10.0.0.x address perfectly as it should. Alternatively, if I decide to run WPA, WEP, pretty much any form of WiFi security it simply does not work. Instead I receive a 169.254.x.x (or the fact that DHCP doesn't find the gateway so it doesn't allocate anything).

If there is something I'm missing, any help trying to isolate the issue would be greatly received. Thanks.

lspci
Code:
# lspci -k
02:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter (rev 01)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 84b6
        Kernel driver in use: rtl8192ce


wpa_cli status - no security
Code:

# wpa_cli status
Selected interface 'wlp2s0'
bssid=a2:21:b7:b2:da:7e
ssid=MYSSID
id=0
mode=station
pairwise_cipher=NONE
group_cipher=NONE
key_mgmt=NONE
wpa_state=COMPLETED
ip_address=10.0.0.10
address=60:a4:4c:44:be:a8

wpa_cli status - with security
Code:

# wpa_cli status
Selected interface 'wlp2s0'
bssid=3a:28:6b:d6:58:85
ssid=MYSSID
id=0
mode=IBSS
pairwise_cipher=CCMP
group_cipher=TKIP
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
wpa_state=COMPLETED
ip_address=169.254.225.212
address=60:a4:4c:44:be:a8

wpa_supplicant.conf
Code:

# nano -w /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0

#update_config=1
#eapol_version=1
ap_scan=1
#fast_reauth=1

#With WPA
network={
        ssid="MYSSID"
        proto=WPA
        scan_ssid=1
        psk="MYKEY"
        mode=1
        pairwise=TKIP CCMP
        group=TKIP CCMP
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        priority=5
        auth_alg=OPEN
}

#No security
network={
        ssid="MYSSID"
       key_mgmt=NONE
}


Last edited by Canguru on Thu Jan 09, 2014 12:11 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dataking
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 5:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you change the security configuration of the client, do you change the security configuration of the AP? You can't connect to an open AP with client security enabled. You have to match the security level of the AP. So if the AP uses WEP (not recommended), the client must use WEP. If the AP uses WPA-PSK, the client must use WPA-PSK.
_________________
-= the D@7@k|n& =-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Canguru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure do. Because I've been so consumed with the issue for testing purposes I've setup an EXT point that is 100% open (I'm guessing the neighbors are loving it at the moment). The main gateway is WPA though I've tried everything, I've had the EXT point setup as WEP and it does the same thing.

If i don't match the security client to AP wpa_cli reports either DISCONNECTED / AUTHENITCATING / SCANNING or whatever based on the config I'm using at the time. It gives me a COMPLETED wpa_state when the security settings match. It becomes an issue at DHCP trying to do what it does.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augury
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 722
Location: philadelphia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't want push a non-answer answer, but have you tried #'ng out any/christ all of these settings? WIFI was a chore for me. Who are we connecting to?


proto=WPA
scan_ssid=1
psk="MYKEY"
mode=1
pairwise=TKIP CCMP
group=TKIP CCMP
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK

auth_alg=OPEN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augury
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 722
Location: philadelphia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK I have a Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8169 PCI Gigabit Ethernet Controller
with ndiswrapper mod and an interface visible. I'll try this some.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augury
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 722
Location: philadelphia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This fucking thing.
Code:
wpa_supplicant v2.0
random: Trying to read entropy from /dev/random
Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant
Initializing interface 'wlan0' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'default' ctrl_interface 'N/A' bridge 'N/A'
Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
ctrl_interface_group='0'
ap_scan=1
Line: 12 - start of a new network block
ssid - hexdump_ascii(len=5):
     6e 65 74 69 73                                    netis           
proto: 0x2
scan_ssid=1 (0x1)
PSK (ASCII passphrase) - hexdump_ascii(len=17):
     68 65 72 61 74 78 72 39 34 37 38 6f 37 71 39 38   heratxr9478o7q98
     39                                                9               
pairwise: 0x18
group: 0x18
key_mgmt: 0x2
priority=5 (0x5)
auth_alg: 0x1
PSK (from passphrase) - hexdump(len=32): 2a bc 4e 61 2e 48 a0 c2 df b0 d5 29 50 fc a0 13 4e e6 a7 1c a1 31 df 38 6e e9 c1 b0 64 0b 9a 4d
Priority group 5
   id=0 ssid='netis'
ioctl[SIOCSIWPMKSA]: Invalid argument
SIOCGIWRANGE: WE(compiled)=22 WE(source)=19 enc_capa=0xd
  capabilities: key_mgmt 0x5 enc 0x1f flags 0x0
netlink: Operstate: linkmode=1, operstate=5
wlan0: Own MAC address: 00:11:09:2a:64:58
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=0 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=1 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=2 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=3 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
wlan0: RSN: flushing PMKID list in the driver
ioctl[SIOCSIWPMKSA]: Invalid argument
wlan0: Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
ctrl_interface_group=0
wlan0: Added interface wlan0
wlan0: State: DISCONNECTED -> DISCONNECTED
wpa_driver_wext_set_operstate: operstate 0->0 (DORMANT)
netlink: Operstate: linkmode=-1, operstate=5
Daemonize..                                                                                                       


That's all the debugging code I'm getting. This fucking thing is a severe headache. There is nothing setting this straight except for some metaphysical reference to IEEE.

ioctl[SIOCSIWPMKSA]: Invalid argument

What? Don't even tell me ioctl[SIOCSIWPMKSA].
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Canguru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

augury wrote:
I don't want push a non-answer answer, but have you tried #'ng out any/christ all of these settings? WIFI was a chore for me. Who are we connecting to?


You had to ask didn't you :) It's a pre-configured (by the ISP) Thomson Gateway TG782T which doesn't give me much in the ways of flexibility. But the extender I am using is a Netgear WN2000RPT but it doesn't work with WEP or WPA either.

As for #ing stuff out it usually leads to no connection. As for your wpa_supplicant dump. I'd do the same if it weren't for rfkill imposing blocks. It was at one stage allowing me to run wpa_suppliant from the command line but now only via the /etc/init/net.wlp2s0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Canguru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay issue resolved. Went to the store today picked up a TP-Link adaptor. Did a recompile worked a charm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum