Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Gnome3.8 causes high CPU Load
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
derDomi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 3:09 pm    Post subject: [Solved] Gnome3.8 causes high CPU Load Reply with quote

Hi,

i've just updated to gnome 3.8.0 but after the update, i've a very high cpu load (60% for all 4 threads using an I7) even if only firefox and thunderbird are opened. Most of the cpu usage is caused by the gnome-shell processes.
Now the battery service life of my thinkpad is only about 1.5 hours, which is a huge reduction compared to my gnome2 system (over 4 hours).

My question is, if someone has the same problems and if there is anyone who has a solution for this problem.

Some details about my system:
Gnome3.8.0: Installed versions: 3.8.0-r1(2.0)(09:51:18 09.12.2013)(bluetooth cdr classic cups extras -accessibility -flashback)
I'm using it in the classic mode
kernel: 3.10.17-gentoo


So i hope i get some help here.

Thanks,
Domi


Last edited by derDomi on Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1553

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

See what the process is doing with strace, ltrace, gdb and similar troubleshooting tools.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyberjun
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Nov 2005
Posts: 293

PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Start by disabling/uninstalling any extensions you might have enabled/downloaded.

--cyberjun
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
derDomi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry...i was not online for the last weeks

when using lsof and observing the process, i can not really see something why my cpu load should be so high
acutally...i have no extensions installed (only the default) and they are all disabled

i noticed, that the cpu load rises, after opening some flash (youtube etc) in firefox or chromium
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ps133
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

derDomi wrote:
sorry...i was not online for the last weeks

when using lsof and observing the process, i can not really see something why my cpu load should be so high
acutally...i have no extensions installed (only the default) and they are all disabled

i noticed, that the cpu load rises, after opening some flash (youtube etc) in firefox or chromium


Did you get it fixed? Your CPU load is high or not?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
derDomi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no...i can not fix it...cpu load is still very high
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1361
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adobe Flash is a blob that have always give troubles. It was making my Gentoo installation completely freeze until I disable the hardware acceleration in the Flash parameters. Since then, I have no problem. I see no degradation in Youtube.

Doing that will make Flash use the Cpu instead of the Gpu for graphical calculs, but it will free other graphical applications to use the Gpu. Something is wrong with hardware acceleration in Flash with Gentoo.

Note that you can use Gtk Youtube viewer to watch videos on Youtube using Mplayer. It's great !
_________________
Paul


Last edited by Logicien on Tue Jan 07, 2014 10:41 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pacho2
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Mar 2005
Posts: 2599
Location: Oviedo, Spain

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Verify your 3D setup is correct:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/GNOME/3.8-upgrade-guide#GDM.2FGnome_not_starting_due_3D_issues

Maybe it's not and, then, you are using software rendering
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
derDomi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@pacho2: thanks...i've put the output of glxinfo | grep renderer to the blacklist...now it's working

thank you all for the helpfull hints
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum