Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] conky does not display mpd status
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Electromaniac
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 8:28 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] conky does not display mpd status Reply with quote

While being on Arch I had this line to display mpd status in conky:
TEXT
$if_mpd_playing ${mpd_smart}$endif

But on Gentoo if_mpd_playing and mpd_smart are unrecognized commands
Instead, I tried
TEXT
$if_running mpd ${mpd_artist}$endif
And I get
Conky:if_running needs an argument
Segmentation fault
And then it freezes conky, which will not load on next startx
When tried ${if_running mpd} $mpd_artist ${endif}
I get
Conky: unknown variable mpd_artist
${mpd_artist} | 2% / 1% / 2% / 1% | full | 50c | 11% (372MiB) | 0B 0B | Thu Nov 14 09:29am


What else should I try?


Last edited by Electromaniac on Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:10 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maitreya
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you try:

${if_running mpd} ${mpd_artist} ${endif}

So the function and var are within { }
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Electromaniac
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just tried. Same thing. It says unknown variable mpd_artist and prints ${mpd_artist}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rorgoroth
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Aug 2012
Posts: 221
Location: England, UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does conky have the mpd flag enabled? There seems to be one here: http://sources.gentoo.org/cgi-bin/viewvc.cgi/gentoo-x86/app-admin/conky/conky-1.9.0-r3.ebuild?revision=1.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Electromaniac
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just remerged conky with USE="mpd"
Now it seems to support mpd
It displays now ${if_running mpd} ${mpd_artist} ${endif} as
Conky: MPD error: host "localhost" not found: Name or service not known
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rorgoroth
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Aug 2012
Posts: 221
Location: England, UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check your mpd configuration for host, mine is
Code:
#bind_to_address         "127.0.0.1"

So make sure it is correct or commented out.

Then check your /etc/hosts just in case you set it up wrong, mine for example:
Code:
127.0.0.1       gentoo.mastodon        gentoo         localhost
::1             localhost
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Electromaniac
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You guys rocks. Thanks once again, now it is working as it should
Here's scrot

http://s15.postimg.org/wqvmeiwob/2013_11_14_133057_1366x768_scrot.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rorgoroth
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Aug 2012
Posts: 221
Location: England, UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're welcome, and it looks pretty sweet, nice! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum