Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Grub 2 refuses to install on /dev/sdb.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Savoritias
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2013
Posts: 11
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 2:40 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Grub 2 refuses to install on /dev/sdb. Reply with quote

I have managed to emerge grub2 but now it says this when I try to isntall it:

Code:
root@sysresccd /mnt/gentoo % grub2-install /dev/sdb               
Path `/boot/grub2' is not readable by GRUB on boot. Installation is impossible. Aborting.


Is this the fault of fstab?


Last edited by Savoritias on Sat Oct 12, 2013 3:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 739
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, fstab is not in cause. You try to install Grub2 of the SystemRescueCD. Even if you are in the path of your Gentoo installation /mnt/gentoo, you are not in the chroot of it. So, you're not calling Grub2 of Gentoo but SystemRescueCD.

If you want to install Grub2 of your Gentoo installation, you must first mount the virtual filesystems needed if they are not, pass in chroot and then install Grub2 that you say it's already emerged
Code:
mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
mount -o bind /proc /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount -o bind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
HOME=/root SHELL=/bin/bash USER=root chroot /mnt/gentoo
grub2-install /dev/sdb
grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

That's the way to install Grub2 for your Gentoo installation done in chroot. It should work with Grub2 for grub_platforms_pc .
_________________
Paul


Last edited by Logicien on Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:23 pm; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 480

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems like you outside of chroot environment. Did you mount proc, sys, dev and ran chroot?

Oups, a bit late.
_________________
Intel Core i3-2120 / 4Gb RAM / 250Gb HDD / NVidia GeForce-550Ti
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Savoritias
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2013
Posts: 11
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it says that it is read only file system. How do I change the priviledges?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 739
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're asking how to change the previleges of the root filesystem of you're Gentoo installation that I suppose is mounted in /mnt/gentoo you can do
Code:
mount -o remount,rw /mnt/gentoo

If you have a boot partition it could be needed to remount it as rw too. Follow the handbook to be sure of what you're doing.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Savoritias
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2013
Posts: 11
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it worked thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum