Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Editing grub 2
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 1:22 pm    Post subject: Editing grub 2 Reply with quote

I have 2 hdd's in my box one of them is removable. Gentoo is installed on 2nd hdd (/sdb) so the removable is /sda.

When I removed the removable hdd and tried to boot from 2nd hdd (which gentoo is installed on) I got a kernel panic which had a line something like
Quote:
can not mount root to hdd(0 0)


So I can boot when the removable is placed but can't when it's out. I don't need and don't want anything mounted to the removable hdd when I boot from 2nd hdd (I have gentoo in 2nd hdd)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nemectic
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Aug 2004
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're talking about a desktop, wouldn't it be easiest just to rewire the SATA cables so the permanent disk is the first primary drive, meaning it would be /dev/sda ?? Then you'll just need to make a new grub.cfg so it knows where it is, and removing the second drive will have no effect. If you use the second drive to boot windows, you can still select to boot from that in BIOS with no impact.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shoulodn't it be hd1,0 if it's /dev/sdb?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for the reply.

It's a desktop. When I was installing gentoo I had these 2 hdds and a usb flash drive were attached to the box. I booted from systemrescuecd on the flash drive. It named the removable hdd as sda, the one that's gentoo is installed as sdb and it's ownself as sdc. I suggest even if I rewire grub2 will seek somethimg to mount to.

You're right the error should be somethig other than (0 0) but it is (0 0)

I think the problem is because grub2 is unnecesarrily automated. If I can't edit grub2 I will try grub.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frostschutz
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 2424
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

grub2 starts counting partitions from 1, so there never should be a (hd0,0)

My grub2 config looks like this: http://bpaste.net/show/139330/

I write it manually, same way I did for Grub 1. The generated ones just don't appeal for me.
_________________
Linux-User @ VServer (Debian), Desktop (Gentoo), Netbook (Ubuntu), Router (OpenWRT), PDA (Cacko), Smartphone (Android)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the /boot/grub/grub.cfg file:

http://bpaste.net/show/139447/

I guess I wont be able to solve my problem by editing or manually writing the file because I think each time I remove or insert the other hdd my gentoo hdd's # will change.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum