BTRFS features discussion
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
UX.MAN
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2013 7:14 pm    Post subject: BTRFS features discussion Reply with quote

I'm starting this thread to discuss the current state and usage of BTRFS.

BTRFS brought my attention when I read about the native RAID feature. I'm currently running my filesystem structure this way:

Code:

DM-crypt
     |
    LVM
     |
   EXT4

The RAID integrated feature of BTRFS will allow me to dismiss the LVM layer, as I'll be able to create a RAID-0 array, simplifying the administration process.
I'm no expert to say this is better that LVM, but it sounds a promising feature.
If there's any expert on this matter, I'd like to hear your opinions.
vaxbrat
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sun Sep 22, 2013 1:56 am    Post subject: I did this wiki entry for it Reply with quote

You can blame me for authorship of this:

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Btrfs_system_root

I now have three systems set up with a raid 1 flavor of btrfs. The only problems I have seen so far are that btfs is very sensitive to bad memory. If the filesystem gets corrupted, it is hard to salvage in-place with btfs-fsck. At least you can mount the filesystem ro and copy around the corruption to somewhere else and then pull the files back after reformat. Once the one box had more reliable memory installed, I have yet to hear any complaints from it.

The pool concept (subvolumes) are very nice. I have vm's in one subvolume that I set to not auto-defragment, but I have lzo compression enabled there. My /home volumes are set up to autodefrag and compress. I also have repository subvolumes for things like gentoo distfiles and Centos repos which are setup to autodefrag but not bother with compression.

At some point I'm going to take a good long hard look at ceph and will have that running on top of btrfs volumes.