Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
eth0 and wlan0 don't show
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chrosa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jul 2013
Posts: 16
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:04 am    Post subject: eth0 and wlan0 don't show Reply with quote

hi all, so trying to get my network up and running.

when i look in /etc/init.d/ i only have lo so i try to # ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.eth0 and when i # ifconfig wlan0 up it says "eth0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device"

# /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start, give me:
Bringing up interface eth0
ERROR: Interface eth0 does not exist
Ensure that you have loaded the correct kernel module for your hardware
ERROR: net.eth0 faild to start

i can get my network up and running if i:
rmmod alx
modprobe alx
ifconfig enp3s0 up
dmesg |tail -n 50

So guessing it's not a kernel error, rather a script or setup error.

so how can i i link enp3s0 to eth0 and wlp2s0 to wlan0 ?

and realy want it to start up at boot to.
_________________
Yeah, Windows is great... I used it to download Linux!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
massimo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 1226

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Instead of what you did:
Code:
# mv /etc/init.d/net.eth0 /etc/init.d/net.enp3s0
# /etc/init.d/net.enp3s0 start


Rename wlan0 accordingly.
_________________
Hello 911? How are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Schnulli
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jun 2010
Posts: 320
Location: Bremen DE

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

because you dont have a eth.x interface? please re-read your ifconfig......
i am sure you get it then, hopefully ;)
maybe a new symlink can be usefull and dont forget to add ur i-face with rc-update

greetz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here my config:
/etc/conf.d/net:

Code:
dns_domain_lo="homenetwork"
config_enp3s0="192.168.1.2 netmask=255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.1.255"
routes_enp3s0="default via 192.168.1.1"


Code:
cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.enp3s0
rc-update add net.enp3s0 default
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chrosa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jul 2013
Posts: 16
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, thanks guys, gonna try this before i switch back to sabayon. love gentoo, but it's just too much headache for me right now.
_________________
Yeah, Windows is great... I used it to download Linux!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21490

PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem described in this thread is caused by the udev misfeature that renames network devices by default. You can, and often should, disable this feature so that your network names are predictable. Generally, you only want this feature if you have now or will have later, two or more network cards that register in the same namespace (eth0, eth1 or wlan0, wlan1). If you have one of each, the names are predictable without renaming.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum