Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No optical drive found. K3b did not find any optical device
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eurabilis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 66
Location: Warwick, Rhode island, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes thats all already selected. What do you mean ahci mode wheres that.
_________________
--
I am my only local user and I cannot be trusted. This is a generally a very bad thing. Thing is, with *nix where there is a shell there is a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piewie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Sep 2002
Posts: 484
Location: old Europe

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it depends on your bios, if AHCI is available. if you can only choose between enhanced and ide mode, then enhanced should be the correct choice. Probably you can activate AHCI in chipset setting menu and after that you get AHCI option for CDROM. I can't say this, because I don't know how your bios looks like.
Have you tried the consolekit and the dbus part from the links I had mentioned?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eurabilis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 66
Location: Warwick, Rhode island, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no such option in my bios. also I just lost my sata disks the devices are no longer in dev and of course they wont mount. I dont know why as i didnt disable anything. I am trying to get them back again.
_________________
--
I am my only local user and I cannot be trusted. This is a generally a very bad thing. Thing is, with *nix where there is a shell there is a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eurabilis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 66
Location: Warwick, Rhode island, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sdb and sdb1 are there and mountable but only sdc is there no sdc1 any idea why. This shits buggy.
_________________
--
I am my only local user and I cannot be trusted. This is a generally a very bad thing. Thing is, with *nix where there is a shell there is a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piewie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Sep 2002
Posts: 484
Location: old Europe

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

# fdisk -l /dev/sdc
# dmesg | grep -i sdc
# /usr/sbin/rescan-scsi-bus.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eurabilis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 66
Location: Warwick, Rhode island, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
gentoo mike # fdisk -l /dev/sdc
fdisk: cannot open /dev/sdc: No medium found
gentoo mike #  dmesg | grep -i sdc
[   28.139122] sd 3:0:0:0: [sdc] Attached SCSI removable disk
[   33.031307] sd 4:0:0:0: [sdc] Attached SCSI removable disk
gentoo mike # /usr/sbin/rescan-scsi-bus.sh
bash: /usr/sbin/rescan-scsi-bus.sh: No such file or directory
gentoo mike #


googled it emerging that prog now.
_________________
--
I am my only local user and I cannot be trusted. This is a generally a very bad thing. Thing is, with *nix where there is a shell there is a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piewie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Sep 2002
Posts: 484
Location: old Europe

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

# /usr/bin/eject /dev/sdc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eurabilis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 66
Location: Warwick, Rhode island, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
gentoo mike # /usr/sbin/rescan-scsi-bus.sh
/usr/sbin/rescan-scsi-bus.sh: line 476: [: 1.13: integer expression expected
Host adapter 0 (ata_piix) found.
Host adapter 1 (ata_piix) found.
Host adapter 6 (usb-storage) found.
Scanning SCSI subsystem for new devices
Scanning host 0 channels 0 for  SCSI target IDs  0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7, all LUNs
Scanning for device 0 0 0 0 ...
OLD: Host: scsi0 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
      Vendor: ATA      Model: ST3500418AS      Rev: CC46
      Type:   Direct-Access                    ANSI SCSI revision: 05
Scanning host 1 channels 0 for  SCSI target IDs  0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7, all LUNs
Scanning for device 1 0 0 0 ...
OLD: Host: scsi1 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
      Vendor: ATA      Model: ST3500418AS      Rev: CC46
      Type:   Direct-Access                    ANSI SCSI revision: 05
Scanning host 6 channels 0 for  SCSI target IDs  0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7, all LUNs
Scanning for device 6 0 0 0 ...
OLD: Host: scsi6 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
      Vendor: HTC      Model: Android Phone    Rev: 0000
      Type:   Direct-Access                    ANSI SCSI revision: 02
Report Luns command not supported (support mandatory in SPC-3)
Scanning for device 6 0 0 0 ...
OLD: Host: scsi6 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
      Vendor: HTC      Model: Android Phone    Rev: 0000
      Type:   Direct-Access                    ANSI SCSI revision: 02
0 new device(s) found.               
0 device(s) removed.                 
gentoo mike #


I have to step out I have no choice but to continue this later. Thank you so much for your help.
_________________
--
I am my only local user and I cannot be trusted. This is a generally a very bad thing. Thing is, with *nix where there is a shell there is a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piewie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Sep 2002
Posts: 484
Location: old Europe

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

think that looks correct. /dev/sda and /dev/sdb and a mobile phone connnected via usb (/dev/sdc)
How about your you cdrom? sr0 or hdX?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eurabilis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 66
Location: Warwick, Rhode island, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like cdrom is still /dev/hdc and /dev/sdc has completely disappeared..
_________________
--
I am my only local user and I cannot be trusted. This is a generally a very bad thing. Thing is, with *nix where there is a shell there is a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5270

PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2013 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eurabilis wrote:
It looks like cdrom is still /dev/hdc and /dev/sdc has completely disappeared..

This can't happen if CONFIG_IDE is really off.
Are you sure you're booting the correct kernel ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eurabilis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 66
Location: Warwick, Rhode island, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

config_ide is set because when it isnt i cant boot i get a mount root error. gentoo itself is on an ide disk as well as my burner. its my storage drives which i just lost completely that are sata remember.
_________________
--
I am my only local user and I cannot be trusted. This is a generally a very bad thing. Thing is, with *nix where there is a shell there is a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eurabilis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 66
Location: Warwick, Rhode island, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just did some googling and found this thread, https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-823447-start-0.html I also reread some of what you told me previously in our threwad and i understand a bit more. I am trying to figuure out what I am missing and why I get a kernel panic. I want to be able to use the new driver.
_________________
--
I am my only local user and I cannot be trusted. This is a generally a very bad thing. Thing is, with *nix where there is a shell there is a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eurabilis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 66
Location: Warwick, Rhode island, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2013 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I disabled the whole section that is config_ide and enabled the new one and everything in it i thought might even remotely had to do with me if i knew it wasnt i left it unchecked and i still get a kernel panic. I wanted to show youi the screen using my phone but my son was playing need for speed and killed the battery. It pretty much says mount root error but it happens very early on. As soon as i press enter at the grub menu actually.
_________________
--
I am my only local user and I cannot be trusted. This is a generally a very bad thing. Thing is, with *nix where there is a shell there is a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5270

PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2013 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, CONFIG_IDE should (and in some ways must) be disabled.

What most likely happens is that besides adjusting fstab, you also need to adjust value of root argument in 'linux' line for grub.

If we're talking about grub2 and your disk is GPT partitioned, that should be quite simple, otherwise you'll either need initramfs or need to chance it that the order of your disks won't be changing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eurabilis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 66
Location: Warwick, Rhode island, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2013 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok let me see thanks
_________________
--
I am my only local user and I cannot be trusted. This is a generally a very bad thing. Thing is, with *nix where there is a shell there is a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eurabilis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 66
Location: Warwick, Rhode island, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2013 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you know offhjand what my root device will become? What should I change my kernel line root=/dev/___
_________________
--
I am my only local user and I cannot be trusted. This is a generally a very bad thing. Thing is, with *nix where there is a shell there is a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eurabilis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 66
Location: Warwick, Rhode island, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2013 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was sda1 etc... I had to change the kernel line like you said from hda1 to sda1 and change all my fstab entries like you also said. Now My sata disks also appeared. now all I need is by burner. Thanks
_________________
--
I am my only local user and I cannot be trusted. This is a generally a very bad thing. Thing is, with *nix where there is a shell there is a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eurabilis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 66
Location: Warwick, Rhode island, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2013 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh that's interesting.. /dev/sr0 is there and k3b sees it. Thanks a lot for your help yesterday and today I am all set. I really appreciate your time.
_________________
--
I am my only local user and I cannot be trusted. This is a generally a very bad thing. Thing is, with *nix where there is a shell there is a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum