Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
OpenGL output, why is it cloned?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
deltamalloc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Fri Aug 09, 2013 2:58 pm    Post subject: OpenGL output, why is it cloned? Reply with quote

I just made a post about getting a virtual display stretched across two monitors, with the ability to move programs between them. While that was resolved, I have a new problem:

OpenGL output gets cloned to both displays when in full screen mode. This is very distracting, especially as the latency on the displays are different (although they are of the same size).

I only want the output to appear on one display, like it normally does with TwinView and in Windows.

My xorg.conf:

Code:

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
   Screen         "Generic Screen" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Module"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor1"
   Option       "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
   Option       "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
   Option       "DPMS" "true"
   Option "Position" "1920 0"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor2"
   Option       "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
   Option       "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
   Option       "DPMS" "true"
   Option "Position" "0 0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "AMD Radeon"
   Driver      "fglrx"
   BusID       "PCI:2:0:0"
   Option       "Monitor-DFP6" "Monitor1"
   Option       "Monitor-DFP7" "Monitor2"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Generic Screen"
   SubSection "Display"
      Virtual 3840 1200
   EndSubSection
EndSection


I noticed in the aticonfig tool this:

Code:

  --ovon, --overlay-on={0|1}
        Choose which head the hardware overlay should be visible on.  The
        hardware overlay can be used for either OpenGL, video, pseudo-color
        or stereo.


So I tried that, which generated this option (in section Device):

Code:

   Option       "OverlayOnCRTC2" "1"


I don't even know what this is. But from the output of xrandr, I tried adapting it to one of my "DFP" displays. I used this option for my Device section:

Code:

   Option "OverlayOnDFP7" "1"


To see if that would make OpenGL render to just one display. It didn't work. I also saw in the xorg log that the option got ignored.

I have also tried using the program "amdcccle" which is a GUI tool that apparently generates or modifies xorg.conf files. It does not have an option for this, or even something vaguely related.

Using TwinView with NVIDIA, this never was a problem, it would only render to one display.

I could also add that mplayer, even when using "-vo gl" as argument, does only render to one display, in full screen mode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2207
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does it work correctly with the xorg radeon driver?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deltamalloc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2013 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
Does it work correctly with the xorg radeon driver?


I will have to reemerge and check. I know that it doesn't work with the radeon driver in the sense that there is some horrible flickering and other artifacts. However, I did not test full screen mode, I do now know if it clones the display or not. But I will check.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum