[SOLVED] Need help to configure a VPN server
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
alex6
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2013 7:43 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Need help to configure a VPN server Reply with quote

Hi, I have looked for documentation about configuring a VPN server but didn't find anything on gentoo wiki.

My goal would be to use 2 computers, one server on gentoo and a client on debian, from a distant connexion and make the applications think they are in LAN.

I installed openVPN on both machines, but I really have no idea how to configure it ! (I'm a bit noob about network things...)

I followed this guide : http://openvpn.net/index.php/open-source/documentation/manuals/65-openvpn-20x-manpage.html#lbAV
But it seems it doesn't really explain how to configure a server...

I added the TUN module to my kernel and modprobed it, but now, what I am supposed to do ?

I found this thread but seems a bit old, maybe it's outdated ? https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-538662-start-0.html

I have no idea what these commands on that last link would do and also what I should replace from the examples of configuration...

Any help would be appreciated :)

Last edited by alex6 on Mon Aug 12, 2013 7:04 am; edited 1 time in total
gerdesj
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2013 9:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Need help to configure a VPN server Reply with quote

To help point you in the right direction but there really are a huge amount of docs out there.

You can use a pre shared key rather than the full SSL/TLS thing with easy-rsa or whatever which will make starting up a lot easier! Generate one like this:

#openvpn --secret mysecret.key

Gentoo specific stuff:

The init script is clever and allows multiple tunnels. Decide on a name for the tunnel - eg FRED

#ln -s /etc/init.d/openvpn /etc/init.d/openvpn.FRED