Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] ath9k connection problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The Doctor
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 1265

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 6:39 am    Post subject: [Solved] ath9k connection problem Reply with quote

This is rather awkward, but my wifi isn't working. My computer has been on Ethernet for six months or so, so this has gone unnoticed. Now my computer has moved and cannot be connected via Ethernet.

ath9k has been built into the kernel, and as a module. Wicd has completely failed to find a wireless network that my laptop sees quite clearly. Windows 7 on the desktop also sees this network. The only test I can think of is to use ifconfig. here is the result:

Code:
wlan0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 00:21:00:f2:54:45  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
Any rock to turn over would be appreciated[/code].[code]

EDIT: The kernel was missing wext support as mentioned in later posts. Adding this to the kernel solved the problem
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.


Last edited by The Doctor on Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6251
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 8:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

things to look at:
dmesg | grep -i ath9k
dmesg | grep -i wlan0
rc-update show does not have wpa_supplicant, dhcpcd, or dhcp-client or net.eth0 in any run level, has wicd in default,
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 and /etc/init.d/net.eth0 removed
/var/log/wicd/wicd.log
rc_hotplug="!net.eth0" in /etc/rc.conf
does iwlist wlan0 scan or iw wlan0 scan work
iwconfig
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 1265

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no output for the first commands and the run levels are correct.

The wicd log is more interesting. It says that wlan0 does not support scanning. It also says wlan0 no wireless extensions. I'll pastebin the log as soon as I can get it near an internet connection.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6251
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wicd gui allows you to choose the wpa_supplicant driver, it defaults to wext but can be told to use nl80211 . i've been enabling wext support as a module in the kernel (as a just in case) but selecting nl80211 in wicd..
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1223
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i used a live cd to track down my ath9k problems. try to emerge linux-firmware and give exact model numbers of the board. if its usb you require linux-firmware as its ath9k_htc on top of ath9k.
_________________
cat /etc/*-release
Funtoo Linux - baselayout 2.2.0
consider this warning no. 1
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/81Ku-vxIb3L._SL1500_.jpg
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Special:Contributions/666threesixes666
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 1265

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I currently have wicd set to use nl80211, and I apparently did not set wext
Code:
# CONFIG_CFG80211_WEXT is not set
I'll try selecting it. My kernel is built from a kernel seed. Here is my .config and my wicd log


My lspci reports my card as 03:00.0 Network controller: Qualcomm Atheros AR928X Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01) and online sources say that ath9k does not require firmware.

EDIT: Its an internal card, not USB.

EDIT2: added pastbin kernel and wicd log.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1223
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

id go with setting wext for now.

http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/Atheros

&

http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/ath9k

may be helpful.

CONFIG_WEXT_CORE=y
CONFIG_WEXT_PROC=y
CONFIG_CFG80211_WEXT=y

mkultra@mksrv ~ $ sudo iwlist scan
wlp0s2f1u1 Scan completed :

should be your new naming scheme not wlan0 too.....
_________________
cat /etc/*-release
Funtoo Linux - baselayout 2.2.0
consider this warning no. 1
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/81Ku-vxIb3L._SL1500_.jpg
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Special:Contributions/666threesixes666
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 1265

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, the first two options you listed are set in my kernel, the last one was not. I am currently rebuilding my kernel (and libreoffice, unfortunately) I'll report back if that was the issue.

Quote:
should be your new naming scheme not wlan0 too.....

The new naming scheme only applies to udev. Alternatives like mdev and static-dev still use the kernel names.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6251
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you assigning a fixed ip in wicd gui? If not is dhcpcd or equivalent emerged?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 1265

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dhcpcd is emerged. I'm not using a static ip. If I can't scan the network I don't know how to set one.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6251
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just asking; the wicd.log begs the question
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 1265

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem was the missing kernel option CONFIG_CFG80211_WEXT. I just had the opportunity to reboot into a new kernel. Apparently, this is required even for the nl80211 driver.

Thanks to both of you for the help.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6251
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bravo.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum