Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved]Failiure to play music in TTYs not actively onscreen
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Aviator
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Location: The Moon

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 10:03 pm    Post subject: [Solved]Failiure to play music in TTYs not actively onscreen Reply with quote

I am trying to run Pianobar (Internet radio, Pandora, from a CLI interface, really sweet, something I've installed on all my machines so far) on my Gentoo machine.
However, any time I switch virtual consoles to any that ISN'T running agetty (Such as my Xorg) or is not logged in to my user account, the music doesn't play. Pianobar even freezes up and refuses to play.
Someone on the IRC channel suggested Consolekit is to blame. DuckDuckGoing the problem didn't help me find anything similar.
Any advice? It works on my Ubuntu, my ArchLinux ARM, just not my Gentoo (Which is my now-desktop)... and it should.
Thanks,
- Aviator


Last edited by Aviator on Mon Jun 24, 2013 12:28 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2204
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2013 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does it behave any different if run under something like screen?

Also are you using Pulseaudio? If you do have consolekit then it's probably trying to be "helpful" by muting programs started from a different VT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aviator
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Location: The Moon

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
Does it behave any different if run under something like screen?


No different under TMUX or a plain VT.

Ant P. wrote:
Also are you using Pulseaudio? If you do have consolekit then it's probably trying to be "helpful" by muting programs started from a different VT.


I am using pulseaudio (which always gives me startup errors... Pianobar also does...) and consolekit is probably trying to be helpful, yes. Pulse requires consolekit, so perhaps there is a way to tell consolekit to get it's nose where it belongs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2204
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nothing requires consolekit unless you have a weird multiseat setup - I have two systems with no *kit installed whatsoever and PA certainly works fine without it.

There probably is a config option for it, but I've never been able to make sense of consolekit's XML mess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aviator
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Location: The Moon

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
Nothing requires consolekit unless you have a weird multiseat setup - I have two systems with no *kit installed whatsoever and PA certainly works fine without it.


I unmerged consolekit, and it broke my PA. I'll try again.

Quote:
There probably is a config option for it, but I've never been able to make sense of consolekit's XML mess.


Alright then, I'll try unmerging.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2204
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aviator wrote:
I unmerged consolekit, and it broke my PA. I'll try again.

There's a consolekit thing in /etc/pulse/default.pa, maybe commenting that out will have the right effect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aviator
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Location: The Moon

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
Aviator wrote:
I unmerged consolekit, and it broke my PA. I'll try again.

There's a consolekit thing in /etc/pulse/default.pa, maybe commenting that out will have the right effect.

I did. The lines were:

Code:
### If autoexit on idle is enabled we want to make sure we only quit
### when no local session needs us anymore.
.ifexists module-console-kit.so
load-module module-console-kit
.endif
.ifexists module-systemd-login.so
load-module module-systemd-login
.endif


I commented out:

Code:
.ifexists module-console-kit.so
load-module module-console-kit
.endif


And now my sound works in all TTYs. (Still have a problem with defaults in Alsa, but that's for another thread.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2204
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2013 12:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is the ALSA problem about PA taking over alsamixer etc.?

For that I had to reinstall alsa-plugins with USE=-pulseaudio, which required editing the pulseaudio ebuild to remove an incorrect hard dependency:

Code:
--- /var/db/repositories/gentoo/media-sound/pulseaudio/pulseaudio-4.0.ebuild   2013-06-03 20:23:05.000000000 +0100
+++ code/ebuilds/media-sound/pulseaudio/pulseaudio-4.0.ebuild   2013-06-08 18:32:53.274475522 +0100
@@ -74,7 +74,7 @@
    system-wide? ( || ( dev-util/unifdef sys-freebsd/freebsd-ubin ) )
    dev-util/intltool"
 # This is a PDEPEND to avoid a circular dep
-PDEPEND="alsa? ( media-plugins/alsa-plugins[pulseaudio] )"
+#PDEPEND="alsa? ( media-plugins/alsa-plugins[pulseaudio] )"
 
 # alsa-utils dep is for the alsasound init.d script (see bug #155707)
 # bluez dep is for the bluetooth init.d script
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aviator
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Location: The Moon

PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2013 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
Is the ALSA problem about PA taking over alsamixer etc.?

For that I had to reinstall alsa-plugins with USE=-pulseaudio, which required editing the pulseaudio ebuild to remove an incorrect hard dependency:

Code:
--- /var/db/repositories/gentoo/media-sound/pulseaudio/pulseaudio-4.0.ebuild   2013-06-03 20:23:05.000000000 +0100
+++ code/ebuilds/media-sound/pulseaudio/pulseaudio-4.0.ebuild   2013-06-08 18:32:53.274475522 +0100
@@ -74,7 +74,7 @@
    system-wide? ( || ( dev-util/unifdef sys-freebsd/freebsd-ubin ) )
    dev-util/intltool"
 # This is a PDEPEND to avoid a circular dep
-PDEPEND="alsa? ( media-plugins/alsa-plugins[pulseaudio] )"
+#PDEPEND="alsa? ( media-plugins/alsa-plugins[pulseaudio] )"
 
 # alsa-utils dep is for the alsasound init.d script (see bug #155707)
 # bluez dep is for the bluetooth init.d script


The problem is now in a new thread, where I think it belongs, being a different problem. Not that problem, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum