Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Radeon external display on DVI port not recognized
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Punchcutter
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2007
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:13 pm    Post subject: Radeon external display on DVI port not recognized Reply with quote

I'm installing a dual head setup on a Dell tower, with an internal Intel graphics chip and a Radeon HD 7570 on PCI bus.
Code:
# lspci | grep -i vga
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Turks PRO [Radeon HD 7570]

Intel-driven display is working fine, but the system is not recognizing the monitor on the Radeon card. That monitor is an older VGA-type, attached to a DVI port on the card with a DVI-VGA adaptor. Everything works fine under Win7 (dual boot). In Gentoo, if I do xrandr, I see:
Code:
# xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 32767 x 32767
VGA1 connected 1280x1024+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 376mm x 301mm
   1280x1024      60.0*+   75.0
   1152x864       75.0
   1024x768       75.1     60.0
   800x600        75.0     60.3
   640x480        75.0     60.0
   720x400        70.1
HDMI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

The HDMI port is on the Intel motherboard adapter, but the DisplayPort (DP1, right?) is on the Radeon card. So if DP1 is seen, why is my DVI -> VGA not being seen? It looks like I have kernel stuff set up properly, and radeon module loaded:
Code:
# zgrep -i radeon /proc/config.gz
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=m
# CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_KMS is not set
CONFIG_FB_RADEON=m
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_I2C=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_BACKLIGHT=y
# CONFIG_FB_RADEON_DEBUG is not set

Code:
# lsmod | grep -i rade
radeon                858404  0
ttm                    58739  1 radeon
drm_kms_helper         26569  2 i915,radeon
cfbfillrect             3714  2 i915,radeon
cfbimgblt               2039  2 i915,radeon
cfbcopyarea             3350  2 i915,radeon
fb                     51085  7 i915,fbcon,drm_kms_helper,radeon,softcursor,tileblit,bitblit
backlight               4248  2 video,radeon

I also merged radeontool and radeon-ucode, but neither of these seems helpful. The radeontool doesn't really tell me anything useful, beyond that it sees the card.

I'm running a recent kernel (3.8.13) and latest stable (amd64) xorg-server and drivers. Any advice or help with this will be gratefully received.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1745
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

radeontool or radeon-ucode don't help you there. You need >=xrandr-1.4 and set the radeon's VGA output as sink (If intel is primary). See "man xrandr" for more details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Punchcutter
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2007
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! I've upgraded my xrandr to 1.4 and looked at the man page, but.... it's really not very helpful. That's being generous. I have to classify this as "still very poorly documented functionality" :(

I googled around and found this fairly helpful discussion. However even this is insufficient for me to really figure out what I need to do.

On a practical note, I tried doing xrandr --listproviders, but it doesn't show my Radeon card at all:
Code:
# xrandr --listproviders
Providers: number : 1
Provider 0: id: 0x45 cap: 0xb, Source Output, Sink Output, Sink Offload crtcs: 3 outputs: 3 associated providers: 0 name:Intel

I take this as a rather bad sign :(

After spending some time on this, I remembered an old email exchange I had a few years ago with someone in which they seemed to suggest that unifying two different GPUs into a single X desktop was something that was impossible at the time in Xorg, even though I had thought it must be something obviously possible. Even as I was attempting to do the same thing on my current install, I had forgotten about that email. Now I think I understand what this is all about.... these new features in 1.4 are the incipient attempt to fix that situation..... no?

Any further pointers are much appreciated! I suppose I can find an easy solution if I just get a monitor with an HDMI input, and connect it to my Intel adaptor, thus circumventing the problem of two GPUs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 1745
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is possible to use multiple GPUs since xrandr 1.4.
You need to ensure that you have the kernel and X drivers and firmware for the radeon card correctly set up, see http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/xorg-config.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Punchcutter
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2007
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks again, chithanh.... so, now I believe I have my radeon drivers, firmware, etc all set up properly.... even rebuilt my xorg-server, just for kicks :) rebooted, of course...
Just calling plain old xrandr still does not show me any more possible outputs, just the same as I've seen before:
Code:
# xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 32767 x 32767
VGA1 connected 1280x1024+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 376mm x 301mm
   1280x1024      60.0*+   75.0
   1152x864       75.0
   1024x768       75.1     60.0
   800x600        75.0     60.3
   640x480        75.0     60.0
   720x400        70.1
HDMI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

HOWEVER, I do now get this:
Code:
# xrandr --listproviders
Providers: number : 2
Provider 0: id: 0x87 cap: 0xb, Source Output, Sink Output, Sink Offload crtcs: 3 outputs: 3 associated providers: 1 name:Intel
Provider 1: id: 0x57 cap: 0xd, Source Output, Source Offload, Sink Offload crtcs: 6 outputs: 2 associated providers: 1 name:radeon

Now if I run the xrandr commands, both commands, both ways (not being sure which is right), I find that each command will simply output an error if I try to call it with the providers the reverse of what it thinks is possible. But then, if I do:
Code:
xrandr --setprovideroffloadsink 1 0

I just get my bash prompt back with no obvious result. OTOH, if I do:
Code:
xrandr --setprovideroutputsource 0 1

my screen (the usual one that works :)) goes black, and I have to force a reboot.


Any more hints? :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2861
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your video outputs aren't physically connected to the radeon so trying to use --setprovideroutputsource in that way will never work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Punchcutter
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2007
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P., my second monitor is physically connected to the Radeon (3rd party) card, although through a DVI>VGA adaptor.

I didn't mention earlier than when I boot up, a small chunk of the usual startup messages (just about 20 lines) is mirrored onto the second monitor. So something is going on there... it's not completely hopeless :) Just not sure where to go from here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum