GRUB's th' RUB.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
HenryPeters
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 12:17 am    Post subject: GRUB's th' RUB. Reply with quote

11/Jun/2013 18:38

Hi,

Did another install of Gentoo, via the Gentoo 20121221 liveDVD... (I am a Gentoo novice (!)), but have been using Linux Debian (various "flavors") for about 4 years, & using Grub; so finally think I have problem solved my way through some issues I had previously erred on, in trying to install Gentoo successfully. I have now, some kind of install of Gentoo... on my 500 GiB SATA, second hard drive, with functioning Windows XP (sp3) (such as it may be...) on the first hd.

What follows just below, is some background, & below that, I will try to pose this GRUB PROBLEM (not booting anything) as (more or less) logical questions:

As it was very early in the morning (way past my bedtime), so I just TRIED 'grub-install,' as that seemed a short cut, but also to experience if, & how it may (or may not) work, & then tried to reboot... (as per handbook), though grub was loaded (w/o graphic, or GUI interface)... It gave me some error messages (which I failed to note down... too exhausted). So the next day, I went back, & tried to configure grub through the /boot/grub/grub.conf file...

I basically copied the handbook EXAMPLE version, & tried, best I could (con)figure & tailored as seemed relevant to my system, hardware, etc. (not good enough, as you will see). I did a '^x' double checking that it was indeed saved, & found this too did not work (wouldn't boot), the listing below, is a rough recreation (the commented sections, a generalization of the actual):

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Code:
/boot/grub/grub.conf

# listing (boot 1st)
default 0

# seconds to boot
timeout 60

# splash
splashimage (hd1,1)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title Gentoo Linux 3.8.18