Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
google-chrome and scim
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
v_andal
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 283
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:21 am    Post subject: google-chrome and scim Reply with quote

Got weird problem. If I try to use SCIM to input Japanese in google-chrome, my CPU usage goes to 100% and conversion happens very slowly. Trying the same in Firefox does not produce any problems. Anyone has experienced this? Or it's just specific to my setup?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baeksu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Sep 2004
Posts: 609
Location: Seoul, Korea

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see this as well using scim for Korean input. No lag or CPU spikes when using scim on other applications. Will investigate further and come back here if I figure out what's wrong.
_________________
Gnome:
1. A legendary being.
2. A never ending quest to make unix friendly to people who don't want unix and excruciating for those that do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baeksu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Sep 2004
Posts: 609
Location: Seoul, Korea

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, launching chrome/chromium with
Code:

GTK_IM_MODULE=xim XMODIFIERS="@im=SCIM" chromium
totally eliminates this issue.

This looks to happen only on 64-bit systems: source

Time to edit the .desktop file.
_________________
Gnome:
1. A legendary being.
2. A never ending quest to make unix friendly to people who don't want unix and excruciating for those that do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v_andal
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 283
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm. I'm using GTK_IM_MODULE=scim-bridge XIM_PROGRAM="scim -d" XMODIFIERS=@im=SCIM, so looks like "scim-bridge" is no good for chromium, but is necessary for some other application that didn't want to work otherwise (don't remember which one, Skype?? :roll: )

Ok, thank you. Shall mark it for future, since now I've switched back to using Firefox :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum