Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kernel 3.8.13 wireless problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jimmij
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Dec 2008
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2013 6:23 pm    Post subject: kernel 3.8.13 wireless problem Reply with quote

Recently I've emerged 3.8.13 kernel and now my wireless connection works only a few seconds. After that although wpa_gui shows that I'm still connected in fact I cannot reach any webpage or even ping anywhere. To connect again for another ~5 sec I need to restart wpa_supplicant.

On the same machine with the same network configuration (/etc/conf.d/net, dhcpcd.conf, wpa, and so forth) I still have old kernel 3.5.7 where I do not experience such issue so most probably this is the problem of a new kernel or my misconfiguration of it.
In fact not very much have changed in ".config" since 3.5.7 from my side, here is the diff:

Code:
< # Linux/i386 3.8.13-gentoo Kernel Configuration
> # Linux/i386 3.5.7-gentoo Kernel Configuration
> CONFIG_BSD_PROCESS_ACCT=y
> CONFIG_AUDITSYSCALL=y
> CONFIG_AUDIT_WATCH=y
> CONFIG_AUDIT_TREE=y
< CONFIG_TICK_CPU_ACCOUNTING=y
< CONFIG_BSD_PROCESS_ACCT=y
< CONFIG_ARCH_SUPPORTS_NUMA_BALANCING=y
< CONFIG_ARCH_WANTS_PROT_NUMA_PROT_NONE=y
< CONFIG_UIDGID_CONVERTED=y
< CONFIG_SCHED_AUTOGROUP=y
< CONFIG_HAVE_UID16=y
< CONFIG_SYSCTL_EXCEPTION_TRACE=y
< CONFIG_HAVE_PERF_REGS=y
< CONFIG_HAVE_PERF_USER_STACK_DUMP=y
< CONFIG_ARCH_WANT_IPC_PARSE_VERSION=y
< CONFIG_HAVE_IRQ_TIME_ACCOUNTING=y
< CONFIG_HAVE_ARCH_TRANSPARENT_HUGEPAGE=y
< CONFIG_MODULES_USE_ELF_REL=y
< CONFIG_GENERIC_SIGALTSTACK=y
< CONFIG_CLONE_BACKWARDS=y
> CONFIG_X86_MPPARSE=y
> CONFIG_X86_EXTENDED_PLATFORM=y
> CONFIG_X86_GENERIC=y
> CONFIG_X86_CMPXCHG=y
> CONFIG_X86_XADD=y
> CONFIG_X86_WP_WORKS_OK=y
> CONFIG_X86_INVLPG=y
> CONFIG_X86_BSWAP=y
> CONFIG_X86_POPAD_OK=y
> CONFIG_X86_INTEL_USERCOPY=y
< CONFIG_NR_CPUS=4
> CONFIG_NR_CPUS=8
> CONFIG_X86_MCE_AMD=y
> CONFIG_MICROCODE_AMD=y
< CONFIG_COMPACTION=y
< CONFIG_MIGRATION=y
< CONFIG_X86_SMAP=y
> CONFIG_PM_RUNTIME=y
< CONFIG_PM_SLEEP_DEBUG=y
> CONFIG_CAN_PM_TRACE=y
< CONFIG_ACPI_I2C=y
< CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_COMMON=y
< CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ_CPB=y
> CONFIG_PCIE_PME=y
< CONFIG_COREDUMP=y
> CONFIG_NETWORK_SECMARK=y
> CONFIG_NF_CONNTRACK_SECMARK=y
< CONFIG_NF_NAT=y
< CONFIG_NF_NAT_NEEDED=y
< CONFIG_NF_NAT_FTP=y
< CONFIG_NF_NAT_IRC=y
< CONFIG_NF_NAT_SIP=y
> CONFIG_NETFILTER_XT_TARGET_CONNSECMARK=y
> CONFIG_NETFILTER_XT_TARGET_SECMARK=y
< CONFIG_NF_NAT_IPV4=y
< CONFIG_IP_NF_TARGET_MASQUERADE=m
> CONFIG_NF_NAT=y
> CONFIG_NF_NAT_NEEDED=y
> CONFIG_IP_NF_TARGET_MASQUERADE=y
> CONFIG_NF_NAT_FTP=y
> CONFIG_NF_NAT_IRC=y
> CONFIG_NF_NAT_SIP=y
< CONFIG_HAVE_NET_DSA=y
< CONFIG_WEXT_SPY=y
< CONFIG_LIB80211_CRYPT_WEP=m
< CONFIG_LIB80211_CRYPT_CCMP=m
< CONFIG_LIB80211_CRYPT_TKIP=m
< CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT=y
> CONFIG_BLK_DEV_RAM=y
> CONFIG_BLK_DEV_RAM_COUNT=16
> CONFIG_BLK_DEV_RAM_SIZE=16384
> CONFIG_SCSI_WAIT_SCAN=m
< CONFIG_PATA_AMD=y
> CONFIG_NETCONSOLE=y
> CONFIG_NETPOLL=y
> CONFIG_NET_POLL_CONTROLLER=y
> CONFIG_ATL1=y
> CONFIG_FDDI=y
> CONFIG_ATMEL=m
> CONFIG_PCI_ATMEL=m
> CONFIG_PCMCIA_ATMEL=m
< CONFIG_IPW2100=m
< CONFIG_LIBIPW=m
> CONFIG_INPUT_JOYSTICK=y
> CONFIG_INPUT_TABLET=y
> CONFIG_INPUT_TOUCHSCREEN=y
< CONFIG_SERIAL_8250_PNP=y
> CONFIG_SERIAL_8250_PNP=y
< CONFIG_I2C_I801=m
> CONFIG_I2C_I801=y
< CONFIG_THERMAL_DEFAULT_GOV_STEP_WISE=y
< CONFIG_STEP_WISE=y
< CONFIG_MEDIA_CAMERA_SUPPORT=y
> CONFIG_VIDEO_V4L2_COMMON=y
> CONFIG_VIDEO_MEDIA=y
> CONFIG_MEDIA_TUNER=y
> CONFIG_MEDIA_TUNER_SIMPLE=y
> CONFIG_MEDIA_TUNER_TDA8290=y
> CONFIG_MEDIA_TUNER_TDA827X=y
> CONFIG_MEDIA_TUNER_TDA18271=y
> CONFIG_MEDIA_TUNER_TDA9887=y
> CONFIG_MEDIA_TUNER_TEA5761=y
> CONFIG_MEDIA_TUNER_TEA5767=y
> CONFIG_MEDIA_TUNER_MT20XX=y
> CONFIG_MEDIA_TUNER_XC2028=y
> CONFIG_MEDIA_TUNER_XC5000=y
> CONFIG_MEDIA_TUNER_XC4000=y
> CONFIG_MEDIA_TUNER_MC44S803=y
> CONFIG_VIDEO_CAPTURE_DRIVERS=y
> CONFIG_VIDEO_HELPER_CHIPS_AUTO=y
< CONFIG_MEDIA_USB_SUPPORT=y
> CONFIG_V4L_USB_DRIVERS=y
> CONFIG_V4L_PCI_DRIVERS=y
< CONFIG_MEDIA_SUBDRV_AUTOSELECT=y
< CONFIG_DRM_I810=y
< CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
> CONFIG_HID_LOGITECH_DJ=m
> CONFIG_USB_SUSPEND=y
< CONFIG_USB_EHCI_PCI=y
> CONFIG_USB_PRINTER=y
> CONFIG_USB_LIBUSUAL=y
< CONFIG_EDAC_LEGACY_SYSFS=y
> CONFIG_EDAC_DECODE_MCE=y
> CONFIG_EEEPC_LAPTOP=m
> CONFIG_EXT4_FS_XATTR=y
< CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_2=y
< CONFIG_HAVE_DEBUG_KMEMLEAK=y
< CONFIG_RCU_CPU_STALL_TIMEOUT=21
> CONFIG_RCU_CPU_STALL_TIMEOUT=60
< CONFIG_TRACE_CLOCK=y
> CONFIG_DEBUG_NX_TEST=m
< CONFIG_CRYPTO_ECB=m
< CONFIG_CRYPTO_MICHAEL_MIC=m
< CONFIG_CRYPTO_ARC4=m
< CONFIG_CRYPTO_HW=y
< CONFIG_PERCPU_RWSEM=y
> CONFIG_CRC_T10DIF=y
< CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_ATOMIC64_DEC_IF_POSITIVE=y


Full .config of 3.8.13 is here.
I've got a broadcom card so wl driver is in use.

Does anyone knows what is going on here?
_________________
Vanitas vanitatum et omnia vanitas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teika
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Posts: 68
Location: japan

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2013 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A workaround may help, although it's not a fix at all; instead of restarting wpa_supplicant, $ wpa_cli scan or wpa_cli scan_result from the commandline reconnects my wifi dongle. (I don't remember exactly which does the job. Maybe any of two does.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1223
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2013 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

id give 3.9.4 a whirl. i had major problems in 3.8 series
_________________
cat /etc/*-release
Funtoo Linux - baselayout 2.2.0
consider this warning no. 1
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/81Ku-vxIb3L._SL1500_.jpg
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Special:Contributions/666threesixes666
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jimmij
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Dec 2008
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2013 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AFAICS 3.9.4 in not in portage tree yet, 3.9.3 is the newest unstable gentoo-sources.
In fact 3.8.13 is the only stable kernel right now. :roll:
_________________
Vanitas vanitatum et omnia vanitas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
transcend
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 42
Location: NYC, NY

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2013 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jimmij wrote:
AFAICS 3.9.4 in not in portage tree yet, 3.9.3 is the newest unstable gentoo-sources.
In fact 3.8.13 is the only stable kernel right now. :roll:


3.9.4 IS the latest STABLE version. re: kernel.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 3599
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My 3.8.13-gentoo kernel is working all right with an Intel wireless-N adapter (mPCIe)... I also used a 3.8.13-gentoo kernel with a b43 Broadcom wifi that appears to work fine too (mini PCI). Both are using networkmanager/Gnome.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techuser
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Mar 2007
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 8:46 am    Post subject: same here Reply with quote

same problem here with 2 different PCs, only with this last kernel 3.8.13, I must do "iwlist wlanX scan" twice to get the list of networks in kde4 and connect to them.

both PCs are 64bits
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1352

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please obtain more diagnostics:

Quote:
# First set wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-f /var/log/wpa.log" (change wlan0 by your interface) in /etc/conf.d/net, reboot.

emerge net-wireless/iw
iw event -t -f | tee /tmp/iw_events

# Demonstrate the problem, CTRL+C once you captured sufficient events.

dmesg | wgestpate
wgetpaste /var/log/wpa.log
wgetpaste /tmp/iw_events

# Undo the /etc/conf.d/net change and reboot again.


Please also file bugs at https://bugs.gentoo.org as we don't usually monitor the forums for these.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techuser
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Mar 2007
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 7:52 am    Post subject: hi Reply with quote

thanks TomWij!
but, I do not use WPA, yes, I should, but right now is WEP, so wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-f /var/log/wpa.log" makes no difference.

And from the iw output I only get this interesting info:

iw event -t -f | tee /tmp/iw_events
1369986305.022687: wlan0 (phy #0): scan started
1369986306.902916: wlan0 (phy #0): scan finished: 2412 2417 2422 2427 2432 2437 2442 2447 2452 2457 2462 2467 2472 2484,
1369986307.808631: wlan0 (phy #0): scan started
1369986309.689390: wlan0 (phy #0): scan finished: 2412 2417 2422 2427 2432 2437 2442 2447 2452 2457 2462 2467 2472 2484,
1369986324.895735: wlan0 (phy #0): scan started
1369986325.998200: wlan0 (phy #0): scan finished: 2412 2417 2422 2427 2432 2437 2442 2447 2452 2457 2462 2467 2472 2484, ""
1369986330.712060: wlan0 (phy #0): scan started
1369986331.812237: wlan0 (phy #0): scan finished: 2412 2417 2422 2427 2432 2437 2442 2447 2452 2457 2462 2467 2472 2484, ""
1369986336.435460: wlan0 (phy #0): scan started
1369986337.540622: wlan0 (phy #0): scan finished: 2412 2417 2422 2427 2432 2437 2442 2447 2452 2457 2462 2467 2472 2484, "myAP" ""

first 2 lines without "" is when I do iwlist wlan0 scan.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1352

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 10:17 am    Post subject: Re: hi Reply with quote

techuser wrote:
but, I do not use WPA, yes, I should, but right now is WEP, so wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-f /var/log/wpa.log" makes no difference.


This makes no sense, I'm not referring to the WPA encryption.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techuser
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Mar 2007
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 5:21 pm    Post subject: b43 Reply with quote

so, networkmanager uses wpa_supplicant too for WEP?

ok then I created the log line in /etc/conf.d/net and testing now to see if I get some logs

thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1352

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 5:29 pm    Post subject: Re: b43 Reply with quote

techuser wrote:
so, networkmanager uses wpa_supplicant too for WEP?


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wpa_supplicant --> key management for CCMP, TKIP, WEP (both 104/128 and 40/64 bit)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techuser
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Mar 2007
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 9:30 am    Post subject: b43 Reply with quote

hi again.
I do not think this logs are gonna tell you anything:

cat /etc/conf.d/net
#Generated by NetworkManager
###### Global Configuration ######

###### Connection Configuration ######
#----------------------------------
config_eth0="dhcp"
auto_eth0="true"
enable_ipv6_eth0="false"

wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-f /var/log/wpa.log"


-------------
http://bpaste.net/show/103560/ dmesg

http://bpaste.net/show/103563/ iw_events


/var/log/wpa.log just does not exists... :
cat /var/log/wpa.log
cat: /var/log/wpa.log: No such file or directory

It just happen with this new kernel, probably is something related to the driver.

$> emerge -pv net-wireless/wpa_supplicant

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild R ] net-wireless/wpa_supplicant-0.7.3-r5 USE="dbus gnutls qt4 readline ssl -debug -eap-sim -fasteap -madwifi (-ps3) (-selinux) -wimax -wps" 1,600 kB


iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

enp9s0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:"myESSID"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.417 GHz Access Point: 00:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
xxxxxx....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1352

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looking at the dmesg it seems to delay loading the firmware, try to build the firmware into the kernel.

In "Generic Driver Options" you can list them in "External firmware blobs to build into the kernel binary" and also point where to find them "Firmware blobs root directory" (probably /lib/firmware), you probably want to read the other options there as well. I don't have an idea how the firmware name is called though, so that's something that still needs to be figured out; you can find the firmware files in /lib/firmware, look for b43*.fw files, they could be in a sub directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techuser
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Mar 2007
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks, but the firmware's delay is not the problem for sure, because after a few minutes and after being working right, if I look for networks around in the Kde4 network menu they have all gone except the one I'm connected to.

So it looks like the Networkmaneger or the network menu cannot look for networks, but for sure is something kernel related, because it only happens with this last kernel, and when I do iwlist wlan0 scan (twice or more times, not only one time) I can see all networks around.

So I'm going to check the kernels options again. And try what you said, but I do not think is the firmware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techuser
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Mar 2007
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 10:21 am    Post subject: hi Reply with quote

hi again

I did not do the firmware stuff yet, but I had put b43 as module and debug mode and I thin there is interesting stuff:

http://bpaste.net/show/103777/

as you can see the firmware is loaded a few times, and the card is removed too.

if I unload and load the b43 module I get this:

[ 1043.024076] b43-phy0 debug: Removing Interface type 2
[ 1043.024261] b43-phy0 debug: Wireless interface stopped
[ 1043.024468] b43-phy0 debug: DMA-32 rx_ring: Used slots 2/256, Failed frames 0/0 = 0.0%, Average tries 0.00
[ 1043.024825] b43-phy0 debug: DMA-32 tx_ring_AC_BK: Used slots 2/256, Failed frames 0/1 = 0.0%, Average tries 5.00
[ 1043.027188] b43-phy0 debug: DMA-32 tx_ring_AC_BE: Used slots 24/256, Failed frames 0/598 = 0.0%, Average tries 1.98
[ 1043.029089] b43-phy0 debug: DMA-32 tx_ring_AC_VI: Used slots 0/256, Failed frames 0/0 = 0.0%, Average tries 0.00
[ 1043.031057] b43-phy0 debug: DMA-32 tx_ring_AC_VO: Used slots 4/256, Failed frames 9/786 = 1.1%, Average tries 1.20
[ 1043.033084] b43-phy0 debug: DMA-32 tx_ring_mcast: Used slots 0/256, Failed frames 0/0 = 0.0%, Average tries 0.00
[ 1046.790595] b43-phy1: Broadcom 4311 WLAN found (core revision 10)
[ 1046.805058] b43-phy1: Found PHY: Analog 4, Type 2 (G), Revision 8
[ 1046.805087] b43-phy1 debug: Found Radio: Manuf 0x17F, Version 0x2050, Revision 2
[ 1046.812404] Broadcom 43xx driver loaded [ Features: PML ]
[ 1046.822169] ieee80211 phy1: Selected rate control algorithm 'minstrel_ht'
[ 1046.974093] b43-phy1: Loading firmware version 666.2 (2011-02-23 01:15:07)
[ 1047.008280] b43-phy1 debug: Chip initialized
[ 1047.008723] b43-phy1 debug: 32-bit DMA initialized
[ 1047.008790] b43-phy1 debug: QoS enabled
[ 1047.017575] b43-phy1 debug: Wireless interface started
[ 1047.017667] b43-phy1 debug: Adding Interface type 2
[ 1047.018180] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready


and I cannot see any network again till I do iwlist wlan0 scan twice, when I run iwlist I do not see any kernel message, but just when I connect the the network I get:

[ 1171.626054] b43-phy1 debug: Removing Interface type 2
[ 1171.626209] b43-phy1 debug: Wireless interface stopped
[ 1171.626349] b43-phy1 debug: DMA-32 rx_ring: Used slots 1/256, Failed frames 0/0 = 0.0%, Average tries 0.00
[ 1171.626670] b43-phy1 debug: DMA-32 tx_ring_AC_BK: Used slots 0/256, Failed frames 0/0 = 0.0%, Average tries 0.00
[ 1171.628054] b43-phy1 debug: DMA-32 tx_ring_AC_BE: Used slots 0/256, Failed frames 0/0 = 0.0%, Average tries 0.00
[ 1171.630069] b43-phy1 debug: DMA-32 tx_ring_AC_VI: Used slots 0/256, Failed frames 0/0 = 0.0%, Average tries 0.00
[ 1171.632058] b43-phy1 debug: DMA-32 tx_ring_AC_VO: Used slots 0/256, Failed frames 0/0 = 0.0%, Average tries 0.00
[ 1171.634057] b43-phy1 debug: DMA-32 tx_ring_mcast: Used slots 0/256, Failed frames 0/0 = 0.0%, Average tries 0.00
[ 1171.767071] b43-phy1: Loading firmware version 666.2 (2011-02-23 01:15:07)
[ 1171.803110] b43-phy1 debug: Chip initialized
[ 1171.803558] b43-phy1 debug: 32-bit DMA initialized
[ 1171.803625] b43-phy1 debug: QoS enabled
[ 1171.811705] b43-phy1 debug: Wireless interface started
[ 1171.811797] b43-phy1 debug: Adding Interface type 2
[ 1171.814502] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
[ 1172.969699] wlan0: authenticate with [...]

really strange, it reloads the firmware and the connects... but the firmware must be loaded before connecting so I could run iwlist wlan0 scan...


hope this info helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2073
Location: ロヂで

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

news?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augury
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 718
Location: philadelphia

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd drop the QoS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2073
Location: ロヂで

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

augury wrote:
I'd drop the QoS.


How do I eat it???
Could you translate?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techuser
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Mar 2007
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 9:49 am    Post subject: hi Reply with quote

same bug here:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-960664-highlight-b43.html
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-961398-highlight-b43.html
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-960820-highlight-b43.html same one?, not b43

kernel 3.7.10 working well
kernel 3.8.13 buggy

let's wait for next stable gentoo's kernel....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2073
Location: ロヂで

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have anyone tried any newer kernel version???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1352

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 12:01 pm    Post subject: Re: hi Reply with quote

techuser wrote:
kernel 3.7.10 working well
kernel 3.8.13 buggy


Anyone up for doing a bisect to find the bad commit?

http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Kernel_git-bisect

Please report this bad commit at https://bugs.gentoo.org and I'll look into it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2073
Location: ロヂで

PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bandreabis wrote:
Have anyone tried any newer kernel version???

Tryed latest 3.10.1 kernel with no luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jimmij
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Dec 2008
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bandreabis wrote:
bandreabis wrote:
Have anyone tried any newer kernel version???

Tryed latest 3.10.1 kernel with no luck.

I switched to 3.10.1 and bcma/brcmsmac module. It works fine apart from LED.
There is also small issue (error output) with lspci:
Code:
$ lspci -vvv > /dev/null
pcilib: sysfs_read_vpd: read failed: Connection timed out

which, as far as I googled about, is related to bug in firmware (I'm using sys-kernel/linux-firmware for this module).

Anyway 3.10.1 + bcma + linux-firmware is the best configuration for me, at least it works on every network which I have tested.
_________________
Vanitas vanitatum et omnia vanitas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum