selinux: writing local policies
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
nsoveiko
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 8:51 pm    Post subject: selinux: writing local policies Reply with quote

i'm a selinux noob and this is my first install with hardened/selinux profile. after reading selinux handbook i decided to go with the 'strict' policy. after booting into permissive mode and examining /var/log/avc.log i found a whole bunch of denials.

1) apparently there's no dhclient policy. audit2allow suggests rules that are way too permissive:
Code:
# grep dhclient /var/log/avc.log | audit2allow -m local_dhclient

module local_dhclient 1.0;

require {
        type dhcpc_t;
        type unreserved_port_t;
        type var_lib_t;
        class dir { write add_name };
        class udp_socket name_bind;
        class file { write create open getattr };
}

#============= dhcpc_t ==============
allow dhcpc_t unreserved_port_t:udp_socket name_bind;
allow dhcpc_t var_lib_t:dir { write add_name };
allow dhcpc_t var_lib_t:file { write create open getattr };

from what i inderstand, this allows wholesale writing to /var/lib and binding to any udp port. how do i make it more restrictive?

2) i'm usually running sshd on a port different to 22. agang, audit2allow suggest allowing sshd to bind to any port:
Code:
# grep sshd /var/log/avc.log | audit2allow -m local_sshd

module local_sshd 1.0;

require {
        type reserved_port_t;
        type sshd_t;
        class tcp_socket name_bind;
}

#============= sshd_t ==============
allow sshd_t reserved_port_t:tcp_socket name_bind;

how do i properly redefine sshd port?
Sven Vermeulen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote