nfsv4 has been flakey this spring... [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
depontius
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2013 12:57 am    Post subject: nfsv4 has been flakey this spring... [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I've been serving /home over nfsv4 for several years now, and the only problem has been the firefox/thunderbird sqlite databases, which from a little searching appears to be a known problem. I've now got those directories symlinked to local disk, and the 30-second hangs disappeared.

This spring things changed. I've been getting "stale nfs file handle" messages occasionally, refusing to allow firefox and/or thunderbird to start. In addition they occasionally can't start from the xfce buttons, and it's time to have my wife (poor WAF here) start typing into an xterm. Sometimes even that quits working. Once it's bad that particular mechanism stays bad. Sometimes a new xterm will work, sometimes logging out and back in will work, sometimes it just takes a reboot. It seems almost like a bit-rot type of thing, except if I had bad memory I would expect it to manifest itself in crashes too, and it hasn't. I'm also running SMART, and it's not complaining about bad sectors. Nothing is appearing in my logfiles, either.

Then today I was doing weekly service, and I remembered the idmapd discussions I'd participated on earlier. To be honest, I still haven't done anything about this yet. Tonight I saw this topic again, noticed my kernel config and USE flags, and figured I'd post here.

So in general:
Code:
# CONFIG_NFS_USE_LEGACY_DNS is not set
and
[ebuild   R    ] net-fs/nfs-utils-1.2.6  USE="caps nfsv4 tcpd -ipv6 -kerberos -nfsdcld -nfsidmap -nfsv41 (-selinux)" 0 kB

So this looks as if I've "automagically" dropped some sort of legacy support, by not tweaking to include it.