Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Message from emerge somewhat esoteric to standard user.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
augustin2
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2013 10:09 am    Post subject: Message from emerge somewhat esoteric to standard user. Reply with quote

Hi,

I am a basic user of Gentoo. I mean I am not a developer and, despite some technical background, I may encounter problems in understanding some message that are given by emerge.
Of course, there is the documentation that is pretty good that help understanding a lot of thing but there are some topics that are not easy to localize.

My current problem is with use flags.
Sometime emerge gives directions like this :

Quote:

The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:
(see "package.use" in the portage(5) man page for more details)
# required by kde-base/pykde4-4.10.1
# required by kde-base/lokalize-4.10.1
# required by lokalize (argument)
=dev-python/PyQt4-4.9.6-r2 webkit declarative sql script

* IMPORTANT: 8 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
* Use eselect news to read news items.

This is rather clear and I (me the basic user) understand that I should add =dev-python/PyQt4-4.9.6-r2 webkit declarative sql script in /etc/portage/package.use.

In other cases, the message is more complex like this one :
Quote:

!!! The ebuild selected to satisfy "dev-lang/php" has unmet requirements.