Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Unable to start wireless net after new install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ihtruelsen
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 168
Location: Mill Bay, BC

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2013 12:40 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Unable to start wireless net after new install Reply with quote

This is an install on an Acer Aspire One netbook which has the Atheros chipset for wireless (ath5k module). It worked fine with the Rescue CD install that I did. It even worked after the initial reboot. Then the new udev got involved, changed the name from wlan0 to wlp3s0 and it ceased.

The ath5k module loads without problem. When I try to start net.wlp3s0 I get:

Code:

 * Bringing up interface wlp3s0
*   configuring wireless network for wlp3s0
*   Scanning for access points
*     Found "Mill Bay Marina" at 00:27:22:8C:EF:A7, managed
*     Found "BCSstudent" at 0E:18:0A:04:08:B2, managed, encrypted
*     Found "BCSstaff" at 0A:18:0A:04:08:B2, managed, encrypted
*   Connecting to "Mill Bay Marina" in managed mode (WEP Disabled) ... [ !! ]
Error for wireless request "Set Frequency" (8B04):
    SET failed on device wlp3s0 ; device or resource busy


In dmesg, I see:

Code:

[  112.288413] wlp3s0: send auth to 00:27:22:8c:ef:a7 (try 1/3)
[  112.290372] wlp3s0: authenticated
[  112.291109] wlp3s0: associate with 00:27:22:8c:ef:a7 (try 1/3)
[  112.292817] wlp3s0: deauthenticating from 00:27:22:8c:ef:a7 by local choice (reason=3)
[  112.296421] wlp3s0: RX AssocResp from 00:27:22:8c:ef:a7 (capab=0x421 status=0 aid=8)
[  112.297413] wlp3s0: associated
[  112.308287] wlp3s0: authenticate with 00:27:22:8c:ef:a7
[  112.308524] wlp3s0: send auth to 00:27:22:8c:ef:a7 (try 1/3)
[  112.309751] wlp3s0: deauthenticating from 00:27:22:8c:ef:a7 by local choice (reason=3)
[  112.311231] cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
[  112.406054] cfg80211: World regulatory domain updated:
[  112.406063] cfg80211:   (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp)
[  112.406070] cfg80211:   (2402000 KHz - 2472000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[  112.406075] cfg80211:   (2457000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[  112.406081] cfg80211:   (2474000 KHz - 2494000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[  112.406086] cfg80211:   (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[  112.406091] cfg80211:   (5735000 KHz - 5835000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)


Initially, I was seeing errors that seemed to be related to ipv6, so I removed that from my system, to no avail.

Anyone have any thoughts as to what could be going on here?


Last edited by ihtruelsen on Sat Apr 20, 2013 5:19 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2013 4:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

does ifconfig show an ipaddress on your network?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2013 12:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Unable to start wireless net after new install Reply with quote

ihtruelsen wrote:
Code:
Error for wireless request "Set Frequency" (8B04):
    SET failed on device wlp3s0 ; device or resource busy

ihtruelsen ... your problem is really due to your using iwconfig, you should switch to using cfg80211 natively, and not wext (via cfg80211's compatability layer). In short, wpa_supplicant rather than wireless-tools. The above connection may have failed for a number of reasons, from the dmesg it seems that its an issue with authentication, "reason=3" is a your STA deauthenticating, probably as it couldn't establish a connection with that particular AP (ie, no password available, the AP is hung, or the authentication negociation times out). As I remember the above error shouldn't cause the connection to fail.

Please check you have all of CFG80211/MAC80211 enabled, and CFG80211_WEXT (if you still plan on using wext).

Code:
awk '/(WEXT|(CFG|NL)80211)/' /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_WEXT_CORE=y
CONFIG_WEXT_PROC=y
CONFIG_CFG80211=m
# CONFIG_NL80211_TESTMODE is not set
# CONFIG_CFG80211_DEVELOPER_WARNINGS is not set
# CONFIG_CFG80211_REG_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_CFG80211_DEFAULT_PS=y
# CONFIG_CFG80211_INTERNAL_REGDB is not set
CONFIG_CFG80211_WEXT=y

/etc/conf.d/net would look something like the following:

Code:
modules_wlp3s0="!plug wpa_supplicant dhcpcd"
wpa_supplicant_wlp3s0="-Dnl80211 -qq"
wpa_timeout_wlp3s0="15"
config_wlp3s0="dhcp"
dhcpcd_wlp3s0="-t 10"
enable_ipv6_wlp3s0="false"

You would then emerge wpa_supplicant and configure wpa_supplicant.conf, you can use wpa_gui if you have the "qt4" use flag set, or manually, an example:

/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code:
ctrl_interface=DIR=/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
update_config=1

network={
    ssid="Mill Bay Marina"
    auth_alg=OPEN
    proto=RSN # for WPA2 .. dependent on the AP's capabilities
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    psk=<your_passphrase_here>
}

The network stanza isn't needed if you use wpa_gui as you can select and configure the network and wpa_supplicant will write the config for you.

ihtruelsen wrote:
Initially, I was seeing errors that seemed to be related to ipv6, so I removed that from my system, to no avail.

This can be disabled via "enable_ipv6", see the above.

Best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ihtruelsen
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 168
Location: Mill Bay, BC

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2013 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I changed my setup as suggested and the results are very much the same.

Code:

[  393.761672] wlp3s0: authenticate with 00:27:22:8c:ef:a7
[  393.767582] wlp3s0: send auth to 00:27:22:8c:ef:a7 (try 1/3)
[  393.769510] wlp3s0: authenticated
[  393.771267] wlp3s0: associate with 00:27:22:8c:ef:a7 (try 1/3)
[  393.774259] wlp3s0: RX AssocResp from 00:27:22:8c:ef:a7 (capab=0x21 status=0 aid=3)
[  393.775637] wlp3s0: associated
[  393.779943] wlp3s0: deauthenticating from 00:27:22:8c:ef:a7 by local choice (reason=3)


And it just keeps repeating in dmesg.

And DONAHUE:

There is no IP address in ifconfig or association in iwconfig:

Code:

wlp3s0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 00:23:4e:34:8b:61  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlp3s0    IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:off/any
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=20 dBm
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off  Power Management:off
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2013 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ihtruelsen wrote:
I changed my setup as suggested and the results are very much the same.

ihtruelsen ... can you please try with the following:

/etc/modprobe.d/ath5k.conf
Code:
options ath5k nohwcrypt=1

... assuming your driver is built as a module.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2013 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

first four steps are to ensure interfering processes are not running; expect already stopped and does not exist
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.wlp3s0 stop
/etc/init.d/wpa_supplicant stop
/etc/init.d/dhcpcd stop
rm /var/run/wpa_supplicant/wlp3s0
ifconfig wlp3s0 up
iwlist wlp3s0 scan
iwconfig wlp3s0 essid Mill Bay Marina
dhcpcd wlp3s0
ping -c2 -Iwlp3s0  8.8.8.8
pings?

alternate is use wpa_gui to configure the connection presuming you have a gui and that wpa_supplicant was emerged with USE="qt4" Note that Mill Bay Marina is unprotected.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ihtruelsen
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 168
Location: Mill Bay, BC

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2013 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the thought Khayyam, but that had no effect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ihtruelsen
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 168
Location: Mill Bay, BC

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2013 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay Donahue, as expected the initial commands are all process already stopped and no such file for the rm command.

There is no output for the ifconfig up command.

The iwlist command returns:

Code:

wlp3s0    Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: 00:27:22:8C:EF:A7
                    Channel:6
                    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                    Quality=53/70  Signal level=-57 dBm
                    Encryption key:off
                    ESSID:"Mill Bay Marina"
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
                              9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
                    Bit Rates:24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                    Mode:Master
                    Extra:tsf=00000004a69afeac
                    Extra: Last beacon: 85ms ago
                    IE: Unknown: 000F4D696C6C20426179204D6172696E61
                    IE: Unknown: 010882848B960C121824
                    IE: Unknown: 030106
                    IE: Unknown: 2A0100
                    IE: Unknown: 32043048606C
                    IE: Unknown: DD180050F202010182000364000027A4000041435E0061322F00
                    IE: Unknown: DD1E00904C334C101BFFFF000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
                    IE: Unknown: 2D1A4C101BFFFF000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
                    IE: Unknown: DD1A00904C3406001900000000000000000000000000000000000000
                    IE: Unknown: 3D1606001900000000000000000000000000000000000000
                    IE: Unknown: DD0900037F01010000FF7F
                    IE: Unknown: DD0A00037F04010002004000
                    IE: Unknown: DD0E00156D0000000102B2E102021200


Among others.

The iwconfig command produces no output, however iwconfig does not show any associated AP.

The dhcp command produces:

Code:

dhcpcd[1688]: version 5.6.7 starting
dhcpcd[1688]: all: configured as a router, not a host
dhcpcd[1688]: wlp3s0: waiting for carrier
dhcpcd[1688]: timed out
dhcpcd[1688]: allowing 8 seconds for IPv4LL timeout
dhcpcd[1688]: timed out


And finally the ping command:
Code:

PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8) from 0.0.0.0 wlp3s0: 56(84) bytes of data.
From 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
From 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable

--- 8.8.8.8 ping statistics ---

2 packets transmitted, 0 received, +2 errors, 100% packet loss, time 1000ms
pipe 2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2013 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

iwconfig wlp3s0 essid "Mill Bay Marina" may get a different result
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ihtruelsen
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 168
Location: Mill Bay, BC

PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2013 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's what I used. I assumed the quotes should be there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2013 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

then iwconfig wlp3s0 essid Mill Bay Marina may get a different result :)
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ihtruelsen
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 168
Location: Mill Bay, BC

PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2013 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found the problem. It was networkmanager.

I noticed it trying to do something during the boot process, but the screen cleared so quickly that I was never able to see what was going on. So, out of desperation, I unmerged it and rebooted. Immediately I was able to get connected and am now cruising along once again.

Thanks for all your help and I hope my frustration helps out someone else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2013 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ihtruelsen ....

urrrghh, its always good to know what factors might be in the mix, as that is what DONAHUE was trying to rule out above with stoping all known services ... well, at least its solved.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum