Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
acrobat installed but nothing happens
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mati
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 3:49 pm    Post subject: acrobat installed but nothing happens Reply with quote

Hi there,

i have a strange problem with my acrobat. I emerged the newest version: acroread -v yields 9.5.4
but when i type acroread aaa.pdf (which is an existing pdf file) nothing happens and i am directed to the prompt:

Code:

<user>@<machine> ~/Downloads $ acroread  aaa.pdf
<user>@<machine> ~/Downloads $


and no acrobat opens. Nothing.

What could be the problem and how can I solve it?

Thanks a lot!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3256

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

acroread is actually a shell script. Try running it as
Code:
bash -x $(which acroread)
and check where it fails.
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II | Now using kde5 | e is unstable :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mati
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks, here is the output:

Code:

bash -x $(which acroread)
+ ver=9.5.4
+ '[' '' = -version ']'
++ echo 9.5.4
++ cut -d. -f1
+ majorRelease=9.0
++ /bin/pwd
+ cwd=/home/mat
+ '[' -h /opt/bin/acroread ']'
++ readlink /opt/bin/acroread
+++ /bin/pwd
++ OLDPWD=/home/mat
++ lfile=/opt/bin/acroread
++ '[' -h /opt/bin/acroread -a -f /opt/bin/acroread ']'
+++ dirname /opt/bin/acroread
++ CWD=/opt/bin
+++ expr /opt/bin : '\.\.'
++ '[' 0 = 2 ']'
+++ basename /opt/bin/acroread
++ lfile=acroread
++ cd /opt/bin
+++ /bin/ls -l acroread
+++ sed 's/^.*-> *\(.*\) *$/\1/'
++ lfile=/opt/Adobe/Reader9/bin/acroread
++ '[' -h /opt/Adobe/Reader9/bin/acroread -a -f /opt/Adobe/Reader9/bin/acroread ']'
++ '[' -f /opt/Adobe/Reader9/bin/acroread ']'
+++ dirname /opt/Adobe/Reader9/bin/acroread
++ CWD=/opt/Adobe/Reader9/bin
+++ basename /opt/Adobe/Reader9/bin/acroread
++ lfile=acroread
+++ expr /opt/Adobe/Reader9/bin : '\.\.'
++ '[' 0 = 2 ']'
++ cd /opt/Adobe/Reader9/bin
+++ /bin/pwd
++ echo /opt/Adobe/Reader9/bin/acroread
++ cd /opt/bin
++ return 0
+ ScriptVariable=/opt/Adobe/Reader9/bin/acroread
++ dirname /opt/Adobe/Reader9/bin/acroread
+ ScriptDirectory=/opt/Adobe/Reader9/bin
++ dirname /opt/Adobe/Reader9/bin
+ install_dir=/opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader
+ '[' '' '!=' set -a '(' '' = set -o '' = set -o '' = set ')' ']'
+ '[' -z /home/mat -o '!' -d /home/mat ']'
+ '[' /home/mat -a -d /home/mat ']'
++ cd /
++ cd /home/mat
++ /bin/pwd
+ '[' /home/mat = /home/mat ']'
+ cwd=/home/mat
+ PWD=/home/mat
+ export PWD
+ arg0=/opt/bin/acroread
+ '[' /opt/bin/acroread ']'
+ case "$arg0" in
+ ACRO_ARG0=/opt/bin/acroread
+ export ACRO_ARG0
+ test_install_dir /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader
++ cat /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/AcroVersion
+ '[' 9.5.4 = 9.5.4 ']'
+ return 0
+ ACRO_INSTALL_DIR=/opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader
+ export ACRO_INSTALL_DIR
++ uname -s
+ os_name=Linux
++ uname -r
+ os_release=3.7.10-gentoo
+ case "$os_name" in
+ ACRO_CONFIG=intellinux
+ export ACRO_CONFIG
+ '[' -z intellinux ']'
+ '[' -x /usr/bin/test ']'
+ TestCmd=/usr/bin/test
+ /usr/bin/test -e .
+ TestCmdOption=-e
+ ACRO_ENABLE_FONT_CONFIG=1
+ export ACRO_ENABLE_FONT_CONFIG
+ '[' -f /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/GlobalPrefs/mozilla_config ']'
+ greConfigFile=/home/mat/.adobe/Acrobat/9.0/Preferences/acrogre.conf
+ '[' -f /home/mat/.adobe/Acrobat/9.0/Preferences/acrogre.conf ']'
+ for i in /etc/gre.d/gre.conf /etc/gre.d/firefox.conf /etc/gre.d/mozilla.conf '/etc/gre.d/*.conf' /etc/gre.conf
+ '[' -f /etc/gre.d/gre.conf ']'
+ for i in /etc/gre.d/gre.conf /etc/gre.d/firefox.conf /etc/gre.d/mozilla.conf '/etc/gre.d/*.conf' /etc/gre.conf
+ '[' -f /etc/gre.d/firefox.conf ']'
+ for i in /etc/gre.d/gre.conf /etc/gre.d/firefox.conf /etc/gre.d/mozilla.conf '/etc/gre.d/*.conf' /etc/gre.conf
+ '[' -f /etc/gre.d/mozilla.conf ']'
+ for i in /etc/gre.d/gre.conf /etc/gre.d/firefox.conf /etc/gre.d/mozilla.conf '/etc/gre.d/*.conf' /etc/gre.conf
+ '[' -f '/etc/gre.d/*.conf' ']'
+ for i in /etc/gre.d/gre.conf /etc/gre.d/firefox.conf /etc/gre.d/mozilla.conf '/etc/gre.d/*.conf' /etc/gre.conf
+ '[' -f /etc/gre.conf ']'
+ '[' -z '' ']'
++ gconftool-2 -g /desktop/gnome/url-handlers/http/command
++ cut -d ' ' -f1
+ MozPath=
+ '[' -x '' ']'
++ Which ''
++ OLD_IFS='
'
++ IFS=:
++ status=1
++ for i in '$PATH'
++ '[' -x /usr/local/bin/ ']'
++ echo /usr/local/bin/
++ status=0
++ break
++ IFS='
'
++ return 0
+ MozPath=/usr/local/bin/
+ '[' -n /usr/local/bin/ ']'
+ '[' -n '' ']'
+ /usr/bin/test -e /libxul.so
+ ADOBE_USER_PREFERENCES=/home/mat/.adobe/Acrobat/9.0/Preferences
+ export ADOBE_USER_PREFERENCES
+ MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME=
+ export MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME
+ LIB_NSPR_PATH=/usr/lib/mps/
+ ACRO_LD_LIBRARY_PATH=
+ export ACRO_LD_LIBRARY_PATH
+ case "$ACRO_CONFIG" in
++ prepend /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/lib:/opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/sidecars: ''
++ '[' -z '' -o '' = /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/lib:/opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/sidecars: ']'
++ echo /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/lib:/opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/sidecars:
+ LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/lib:/opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/sidecars:
+ export LD_LIBRARY_PATH
++ basename /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader
+ directory=Reader
+ '[' Reader = Reader ']'
+ cmd=acroread
+ prod='Adobe Reader'
+ ACRO_EXEC_CMD=/opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread
+ SYNCAPP_EXEC_CMD=/opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/bin/SynchronizerApp
+ export SYNCAPP_EXEC_CMD
+ export ACRO_EXEC_CMD
+ ACRO_RES_DIR=/opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/../Resource
+ export ACRO_RES_DIR
+ ACRO_LANG=ENU
+ export ACRO_LANG
+ ADOBE_HELP_PATH=/opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/../../..
+ export ADOBE_HELP_PATH
+ '[' -n '' ']'
+ Which gconftool-2
+ OLD_IFS='
'
+ IFS=:
+ status=1
+ for i in '$PATH'
+ '[' -x /usr/local/bin/gconftool-2 ']'
+ for i in '$PATH'
+ '[' -x /usr/bin/gconftool-2 ']'
+ for i in '$PATH'
+ '[' -x /bin/gconftool-2 ']'
+ for i in '$PATH'
+ '[' -x /opt/bin/gconftool-2 ']'
+ for i in '$PATH'
+ '[' -x /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/4.6.3/gconftool-2 ']'
+ IFS='
'
+ return 1
+ ACRO_AT_ACTIVE=false
+ export ACRO_AT_ACTIVE
+ '[' intellinux = intellinux ']'
++ which realplay
+ ARG0=
+ '[' false = true ']'
+ '[' '' = -installCertificate ']'
+ PATH=/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/opt/bin:/usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/4.6.3:/opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/bin
+ export PATH
+ rm -rf /home/mat/.adobe/Acrobat/9.0/Preferences/mozilla
+ mkdir -p /home/mat/.adobe/Acrobat/9.0/Preferences/mozilla
+ cp -f /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/mozilla/prefs.js /home/mat/.adobe/Acrobat/9.0/Preferences/mozilla/prefs.js
+ '[' '' = -DEBUG ']'
+ '[' -f /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread ']'
+ LaunchBinary /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread
+ exec /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3256

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's weird. At the last step it does start acroread.
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II | Now using kde5 | e is unstable :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mati
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah that really strange: if i simply take the last line and enter it into a shell, the shell simply closes itself :-D
wtf?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3256

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mati wrote:
yeah that really strange: if i simply take the last line and enter it into a shell, the shell simply closes itself :-D
wtf?
Yes, don't do that.

exec replaces the current process with the new process. So, the current process gets terminated irrespective of whether the new process launches successfully or not.

You can try and check whether it is a problem with some 32 bit library (if something got unmerged):
Code:
ldd /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread | grep -i found

_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II | Now using kde5 | e is unstable :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mati
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

exec replaces the current process with the new process. So, the current process gets terminated irrespective of whether the new process launches successfully or not.


ah ok, thanks for the explanation.

Code:

ldd /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread | grep -i found
        libBIB.so => not found
        libBIBUtils.so => not found
        libACE.so => not found
        libAGM.so => not found
        libCoolType.so => not found
        libAXE8SharedExpat.so => not found
        libJP2K.so => not found
        libAdobeXMP.so => not found
        libicuuc.so.36 => not found
        libResAccess.so => not found



i still need help with that sorry: might this be the reason why it does not start? missing libs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3256

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mati wrote:
Quote:

exec replaces the current process with the new process. So, the current process gets terminated irrespective of whether the new process launches successfully or not.


ah ok, thanks for the explanation.

Code:

ldd /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread | grep -i found
        libBIB.so => not found
        libBIBUtils.so => not found
        libACE.so => not found
        libAGM.so => not found
        libCoolType.so => not found
        libAXE8SharedExpat.so => not found
        libJP2K.so => not found
        libAdobeXMP.so => not found
        libicuuc.so.36 => not found
        libResAccess.so => not found



i still need help with that sorry: might this be the reason why it does not start? missing libs?
That's what I thought too. But I have the same libs missing here and it works. Not sure what else can help you :(
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II | Now using kde5 | e is unstable :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mati
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok no problem, anyway thanks a lot! if someone else has an idea feel free to help :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raptor
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Sep 2002
Posts: 171

PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 6:01 pm    Post subject: manual run Reply with quote

Mati wrote:
ok no problem, anyway thanks a lot! if someone else has an idea feel free to help :-)


When I try to run it manually :

Quote:

$ /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread
/opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread: error while loading shared libraries: libBIB.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


and this is part of acroread
Quote:

# equery files acroread | grep libBIB
/opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/lib/libBIB.so
/opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/lib/libBIB.so.1.2
/opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/lib/libBIBUtils.so
/opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/lib/libBIBUtils.so.1.1



so ???
After doing :

Quote:

cd /usr/lib
sudo ln -s /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/lib/libBIB.so
sudo ln -s /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/lib/libBIB.so.1.2
sudo ln -s /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/lib/libBIBUtils.so
sudo ln -s /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/lib/libBIBUtils.so.1.1

and so on with the other "not-found" libs...now it is not complaining anymore...but still nothing..

Quote:

$ /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread
/opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread must be executed from the startup script.


when i type acroread nothing happens...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gustafson
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 430

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know this thread is old... but I'm having this exact same issue. Any luck?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 6051
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fyi.. You should not have made those links. The script issues ann LD_library declaration
_________________
Quote:
Removed by Chiitoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gustafson
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 430

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2015 3:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK thanks. But how do I make it work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sliwowitz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jan 2005
Posts: 215
Location: Europe/Prague

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2016 6:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Resurrecting the old thread as I have the same problem - running acroread just returns me back to the command line. I need acroread to fill in some PDF forms to do my tax paperwork.

I managed to get a backtrace by modifying the /opt/Adobe/bin/acroread script so that the LaunchBinary function calls gdb. I changed the exec line to read exec gdb ${1+"$@"}.

The backtrace looks like this:
Code:
(gdb) run
Starting program: /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/bin/acroread
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/lib64/libthread_db.so.1".

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
_pango_cairo_font_get_metrics (font=0x9844330, language=0xb1b023c)
    at /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/pango-1.38.1/work/pango-1.38.1/pango/pangocairo-font.c:251
251   /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/pango-1.38.1/work/pango-1.38.1/pango/pangocairo-font.c: No such file or directory.
(gdb) bt
#0  _pango_cairo_font_get_metrics (font=0x9844330, language=0xb1b023c)
    at /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/pango-1.38.1/work/pango-1.38.1/pango/pangocairo-font.c:251
#1  0xf64d83a4 in pango_font_get_metrics (font=0x9844330, language=0xb1b023c)
    at /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/pango-1.38.1/work/pango-1.38.1/pango/fonts.c:1654
#2  0xf64e5531 in pango_layout_get_empty_extents_at_index (layout=0xb1b0938, index=<optimized out>,
    logical_rect=logical_rect@entry=0xffffb714)
    at /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/pango-1.38.1/work/pango-1.38.1/pango/pango-layout.c:4555
#3  0xf64e9904 in pango_layout_line_get_empty_extents (line=0xb1c1548, line=0xb1c1548, logical_rect=0xffffb714)
    at /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/pango-1.38.1/work/pango-1.38.1/pango/pango-layout.c:4590
#4  pango_layout_line_get_extents (line=0xb1c1548, ink_rect=0xb1c1564, logical_rect=0xffffb714)
    at /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/pango-1.38.1/work/pango-1.38.1/pango/pango-layout.c:4819
#5  0xf66e5fe0 in gtk_entry_adjust_scroll (entry=entry@entry=0xb1aa8a0)
    at /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/gtk+-2.24.29/work/gtk+-2.24.29/gtk/gtkentry.c:5948
#6  0xf66e6377 in gtk_entry_realize (widget=0xb1aa8a0)
    at /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/gtk+-2.24.29/work/gtk+-2.24.29/gtk/gtkentry.c:2789
#7  0xf6473aac in g_cclosure_marshal_VOID__VOID (closure=0x9869e78, return_value=0x0, n_param_values=1,
    param_values=0xffffb980, invocation_hint=0xffffb91c, marshal_data=0xf66e61f0 <gtk_entry_realize>)
    at /var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/glib-2.46.2-r2/work/glib-2.46.2/gobject/gmarshal.c:875
#8  0xf6470584 in g_type_class_meta_marshal (closure=0x9869e78, return_value=0x0, n_param_values=1,
    param_values=0xffffb980, invocation_hint=0xffffb91c, marshal_data=0x74)
    at /var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/glib-2.46.2-r2/work/glib-2.46.2/gobject/gclosure.c:994
#9  0xf6471c3b in g_closure_invoke (closure=0x9869e78, return_value=0x0, n_param_values=1, param_values=0xffffb980,
    invocation_hint=0xffffb91c) at /var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/glib-2.46.2-r2/work/glib-2.46.2/gobject/gclosure.c:801
#10 0xf6484c59 in signal_emit_unlocked_R (node=node@entry=0x9869e90, detail=detail@entry=0,
    instance=instance@entry=0xb1aa8a0, emission_return=0x0, instance_and_params=0xffffb980)
    at /var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/glib-2.46.2-r2/work/glib-2.46.2/gobject/gsignal.c:3557
#11 0xf648f706 in g_signal_emit_valist (instance=0xb1aa8a0, signal_id=16, detail=0,
    var_args=0xffffbae4 "\347\a\210", <incomplete sequence \366>)
    at /var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/glib-2.46.2-r2/work/glib-2.46.2/gobject/gsignal.c:3383
#12 0xf648f9d5 in g_signal_emit (instance=0xb1aa8a0, signal_id=16, detail=0)
    at /var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/glib-2.46.2-r2/work/glib-2.46.2/gobject/gsignal.c:3439
#13 0xf68808b9 in IA__gtk_widget_realize (widget=0xb1aa8a0)
    at /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/gtk+-2.24.29/work/gtk+-2.24.29/gtk/gtkwidget.c:3554
#14 0xf6881d41 in IA__gtk_widget_set_parent (widget=0xb1aa8a0, parent=0xafac8b0)
    at /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/gtk+-2.24.29/work/gtk+-2.24.29/gtk/gtkwidget.c:6452
#15 0x0852690c in _start ()
(gdb)


It looks to me like the problem is related to pango and fonts, possibly also due to the fact acroread is a 32bit binary. I found an old thread about problems with fonts in acroread menus in multilib environment here https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-618107-highlight-acroread.html

Now in 2016 gentoo multilib is different from that of 2007. I found a file - /etc/gtk-2.0/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gdk-pixbuf.loaders which referenced a lot of non-existing files like /usr/lib32/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/loaders/something.so I manually changed these to /usr/lib32/gdk-pixbuf-2.0/2.10.0/loaders/something.so which in fact do exists on my machine. It didn't help though.

The thread also mentions pango-querymodules32, but the pango-querymodules command was removed in latest pango versions. I wanted to workaround this by temporarily downgrading pango, but that would lead to downgrading the whole gnome-shell stack.

I gave up and did my taxes in a Ubuntu virtual machine. It would be nice getting acroread running in Gentoo, or having some other linux PDF viewer wchich could handle PDF forms (these forms also do some automatic calculations, etc. so editing them in LO/Inkscape/whatever doesn't solve the problem)
_________________
The question of whether Machines Can Think... is about as relevant as the question of whether Submarines Can Swim.
-- Edsger Dijkstra


Last edited by sliwowitz on Mon Mar 28, 2016 10:05 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mv
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 6747

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2016 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sliwowitz wrote:
It would be nice getting acroread running in Gentoo, or having some other linux PDF viewer wchich could handle PDF forms

I would also like to know of such a pdf viewer.
qpdfview can do simple such things ('though probably no java script), and sometimes some windows programs fail to load the saved documents.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Randy Andy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 1148
Location: /dev/koelsch

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 6:46 pm    Post subject: fails on 32bit systems, but runs on my 64Bit systems Reply with quote

Yesterday I finished a 32Bit Gentoo installation on my neighbors laptop.

Although I installed qpdfview as the preferred pdf-viewer, I installed additionally app-text/acroread for fallback reasons to be able to edit some special pdf forms.
Sadly all of the free pdf viewers are not able to fulfill these requirement up to now.

Astonishingly the acroread doesn't start up on all of the 32Bit systems I tried out after this disgrace. In contrast it runs well on my ~64Bit Gentoo boxes., although its a 32Bit application - interesting behavior. :roll:

I straced both versions an compared it, to get an idea of the root cause, but my skills are not good enough to do the job right.
As I found out in the meantime, this problem lasts already much to long, so hopefully someone could help to sort it out.

So, if someone would be so kind to take a look into my traces to give back some helpful hints what we cant do to fix the problem.

My 32Bit trace you can find here:
https://paste.pound-python.org/show/0kcsoE6fPz0GGSbjrTlr/


And the 64Bit trace here:
https://paste.pound-python.org/show/8wOIiucloRa6fwhsCcL0/

Many thanks for taking a look into.
_________________
If you want to see a Distro done right, compile it yourself!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 2034
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Windows freeware application PDF-XChange Editor running under WINE copes well with PDF forms (including dynamic bar codes embedded in forms). In the following article, which includes screenshots, I evaluated PDF-Xchange Editor in WINE, as well as some other Windows and Linux PDF readers: Completing PDF forms and adding your signature without having to print the form.
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64, VIDEO_CARDS="intel modesetting nvidia".
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64, xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
OpenRC udev elogind & KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Randy Andy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 1148
Location: /dev/koelsch

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tanks for this well documented Test/ workaround as a interim solution, Fitzcarraldo.

But I dislike the idea to use wine for running programs under Linux generally.
That's why I would like to follow up the initial post/ problem furthermore.
_________________
If you want to see a Distro done right, compile it yourself!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum