Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Sound from Chrome browser suddenly has a higher pitch
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mhelvens
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Mar 2005
Posts: 337
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:20 pm    Post subject: Sound from Chrome browser suddenly has a higher pitch Reply with quote

Hi all!

Strange problem. Since a recent world update, sound from the Google Chrome browser (Flash as well as <video> tags) has a noticeably higher pitch.

Here's some possibly relevant information:

  • www-client/google-chrome-27.0.1453.15_beta191758
  • media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.26-r2
  • media-sound/pulseaudio-3.0

Please let me know what additional information I can provide.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1122

PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The beta chromium-27 just now devels to use pulseaudio.
Pulseaudio was a masked use flag <chromium-27.
Nothing "strange" if some strange effects occure!
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mhelvens
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Mar 2005
Posts: 337
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ulenrich wrote:
The beta chromium-27 just now devels to use pulseaudio.
Pulseaudio was a masked use flag <chromium-27.
Nothing "strange" if some strange effects occure!


I see! Well, that might just explain it then. :-)

Any suggestions on how to (temporarily) fix this? Other than downgrading to chrome-26 or switching to chromium? The branded browser doesn't seem to support any use flags (other than +plugins).

(PS: Normally I would file a bug somewhere, but I'm afraid I just can't spare the time right now. :()

Edit: I found the following bug report that seems quite relevant: https://code.google.com/p/webrtc/issues/detail?id=1587.

Edit 2: I used the workaround suggested by 'thedra...@gmail.com' in that bug-report. Edit /etc/pulse/daemon.conf and set the following values:
Code:
default-sample-rate = 48000
default-sample-format = s16le

That fixed the problem for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum