Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Xinerama or twinview?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1109
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 5:44 pm    Post subject: Xinerama or twinview? Reply with quote

I have recently go a new system and another monitor, and am about to start a dual boot on it, before I start which would people suggest for a twin monitor setup?

Xinerama or twinview?

I have a geforce 560ti with two led monitors, I have googles a bit about this and there seems to be people who say Xinerama while others suggest twinview
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2633
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Who on earth suggests xinerama??

Xinerama uses more resources (all pixmaps have to be doubled in ram) and has a significant performance penalty. Use twinview.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1109
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

a lot of people on google searches did :p

K i will go with twinview :)
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LoTeK
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2012
Posts: 270

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Who on earth suggests xinerama??

Xinerama uses more resources (all pixmaps have to be doubled in ram) and has a significant performance penalty. Use twinview.


I'm using 3 monitors (19 inch, 1280x1024; 24 inch 1920x1200; 24 inch 1920x1080) with xinerama (dwm) and yesterday top said that 15 GB (I have 16GB) RAM are used, but I had only 2 firefox windows open and mplayer and mupdf were running. moreover top showed no process with heavy RAM usage.

Could this caused by xinerama?
_________________
"I want to see gamma rays! I want to hear X-rays! Do you see the absurdity of what I am? I can't even express these things properly because I have to conceptualize complex ideas in this stupid limiting spoken language!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1109
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

give twinview a go and see what happens :p
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2633
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dark Foo wrote:
give twinview a go and see what happens :p

Depending on what graphic card he has, he might not be able to. Only Kepler cards support more than two displays (up to four) with twinview.

@LoTeK: Most of that is probably buffers and cache, not xinerama.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LoTeK
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2012
Posts: 270

PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2013 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a Sapphire Radeon HD 6450, so I don't have to try twinview. It's anyway more for nvidia, isn't it?

Quote:
Most of that is probably buffers and cache, not xinerama.

I see, but it's even so strange and the usage is way too high...
_________________
"I want to see gamma rays! I want to hear X-rays! Do you see the absurdity of what I am? I can't even express these things properly because I have to conceptualize complex ideas in this stupid limiting spoken language!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1109
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

so why ask if you should try it if you know its for nvidia only?
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2633
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2013 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have a HD6000, why xinerama then? Since HD5000, radeon cards support 4-6 displays with xrandr.

And yeah, twinview is a nvidia thing. It works very similarly to xrandr1.2 though, and since the 300 driver nvidia actually dropped twinview in favor of xrandr1.2. All that remains is some xorg.conf options named "twinview" for backwards compatibility.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LoTeK
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2012
Posts: 270

PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2013 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
so why ask if you should try it if you know its for nvidia only?

Because I've read that it also work with radeon, but not as good as with nvidia.

Quote:
If you have a HD6000, why xinerama then? Since HD5000, radeon cards support 4-6 displays with xrandr.

because I thought dwm supports multihead only with xinerama, but I'll try it with xrandr.
_________________
"I want to see gamma rays! I want to hear X-rays! Do you see the absurdity of what I am? I can't even express these things properly because I have to conceptualize complex ideas in this stupid limiting spoken language!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum