Installing softwares
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
wisemonkey
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 2:11 am    Post subject: Installing softwares Reply with quote

Hi
I've been using Ubuntu for past 4 years now I want to get better knowledge about configs and learn about more control.

In case of Ubuntu, if I want to install non-canonical managed software, all I had to do was add an apt-repository managed by someone else and get the software.

In Gentoo I want to install libreoffice 4.0 and Firefox 20.

I'm assuming I can install them through sources, however I'm guessing they won't be under emerge control as in I can't update / uninstall them through emerge / portage.

So I want to know:
1. Is there something similar to repository for Gentoo?
2. If I install packages with sources, can I manage them through emerge / portage (In case of FF and libreoffice probably I won't need emerge to manage update / uninstall but this is rather general question)?

I know this may seem pretty basic question, however just searching for "install libreoffice 4.0 Gentoo" doesn't really gather many helpful results.
I didn't read through complete portage documentation yet (I'm reading through it one piece at a time)

Thanks
kurly
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Libreoffice 4.0.2.2 and Firefox 20.0 are in the tree, at least as of an hour or two ago.

That aside, for the future, you probably want to investigate 'layman' and portage overlays. That is probably the closest comparison to a 3rd party apt repo. Let us know if your research is successful and/or if you have other questions.
leo.the_zoo
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 9:30 am    Post subject: Re: Installing softwares Reply with quote

wisemonkey wrote: