Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Unable to mount root fs..
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wink42
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2002
Posts: 16
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2002 9:41 pm    Post subject: Unable to mount root fs.. Reply with quote

I am trying to use Grub for dualbooting. Grub is starting up Win2K works fine, if i choose gentoo, the kernel starts, but ends with this:
Code:
VFS: cannot open root device "sda3" or 08:03
Please append a correct "root" boot option
Kernel Panic: VFS: unable to mount root fs on 08:03

from my menu.lst:
Code:
title=gentoo
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/sda3

OK:
yes i use a SCSI disk, sda3 is the partition with root
yes i have included SCSI support in the kernel

I can see that the problem must be when trying to establish sda3 as root, but I can access the disk during install, and it IS the 3rd partition on the disk, and I just cant come up with any more solutions to try, so
any comments and ideas will be greatly appreceated
TIA
_________________
I wish I was two puppies.
Then I could play with each other.
-- Storm P.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2002 9:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Unable to mount root fs.. Reply with quote

I hope you won't think I'm being rude.
wink42 wrote:
yes i have included SCSI support in the kernel

Is it possible that you haven't enabled all of the relevant SCSI options? For example, what host adapter model are you using, and what driver did you choose for it? Are you certain that /boot was mounted when you copied your kernel to it?
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nE0
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 146
Location: The Netherlands, Breda

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2002 6:23 am    Post subject: Re: Unable to mount root fs.. Reply with quote

rac wrote:
I hope you won't think I'm being rude.
wink42 wrote:
yes i have included SCSI support in the kernel

Is it possible that you haven't enabled all of the relevant SCSI options? For example, what host adapter model are you using, and what driver did you choose for it? Are you certain that /boot was mounted when you copied your kernel to it?


mounting the root fs happens when the kernel is already laoding and running, so the bzImage was found by grub/lilo/whatever.

He probably did not use the correct scsi drivers in the kernel, or he forgot to compile support for his fs in his kernel.

Wink42, The kernel needs support for SCSI, but also support for a scsidisk. did you compile that in the kernel as well ?
What filesystem are you using wink42 :?
ext3, Reiser FS, ext2 ??
Did you compile the support for that fs in your kernel ?
_________________
All things considerring! I'm considerring to...never mind!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
water
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 387
Location: Zierikzee, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2002 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your root is on the 3rd partion, then the the second line of menu.lst should be
Code:
root (hd0,2)


BTW: how many disks do you have? Also some ide-disks?

1st disk is hd0, 1st partion is 0, second partion is 1, 3rd partion is 2. If you also have some ide-disks, grub counts first the ide-disk and then the de scsi-disks (most the time).

See these ones for more info:
http://www.gnu.org/manual/grub-0.90/html_mono/grub.html
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=11998
_________________
Groeten uit Holland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wink42
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2002
Posts: 16
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2002 7:45 am    Post subject: lets see. Reply with quote

thanks for the answers guys:
I am at work right now, so I cant check the installation details, but i am pretty sure i didnt forget any scsi support options (like i did the last time :) )
but i must admit that i could have overseen the fs thing, which btw is ext3.

rac: aic7xxx, ill check on the kernel thing, you mean that I could be using an old kernel, right?

water: I DO also have an IDE disk, but remember that my Win2K installation works, which means that i must have got the partition numbering right. Are you sure about the "counting IDE before SCSI"-thing or could it have something to do with the BIOS-boot-settings, or maybe whether the disks are being set to master or slave?
_________________
I wish I was two puppies.
Then I could play with each other.
-- Storm P.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
water
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 387
Location: Zierikzee, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2002 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have one ide-disk, the root-partion should be (hd1,2). As far as i know is there an option to set the scsi-drives before the ide-drives, somewhere in the bios. Maybe it has something to do with the drive that boots, the ide-disk or the scsi-disk.

Anyway: i think it should be (hd1,2), and if that don't work, try (hd0,2).
_________________
Groeten uit Holland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
water
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 387
Location: Zierikzee, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2002 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops :oops: :oops: , correction:

The partion is 0, because root=boot for grub. So my advise: try
Code:
root (hd1,0)
.

If (at least) yout /boot is on sda1.

BTW: do you have a boot-partion anyway?
_________________
Groeten uit Holland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wink42
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2002
Posts: 16
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2002 8:59 am    Post subject: my partitions: Reply with quote

here now:

Code:
sda  1  Boot   (hd0,0)
     2  Swap   (hd0,1)
     3  /      (hd0,2)
     4  Win2K  (hd0,3)


Code:
hda  1  (hd1,0)
     2  (hd1,1)
     3  (hd1,2)

_________________
I wish I was two puppies.
Then I could play with each other.
-- Storm P.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2002 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This may not return too much useful information... from the Grub shell, what does 'find /boot/grub/bzImage' return?
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum