Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] How to identify and install the usb devices
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 8:12 pm    Post subject: [Solved] How to identify and install the usb devices Reply with quote

Hi
I have problem installing my usb device. The outcome of this problem: I can`t make wireless connection.
I had several posts about wireless connection. After applying one of the threads I gained wireless connection. However I made some trials and lost the connection.

I open a new thread because I made a few installations from scratch since then.

I say my problem is about usb because whenever I change something about usb or firewire in the kernel a different situation occurs about the wireless connection. For example: I use Ralink RT 3070 usb dongle. I checked it under Windows 7 where the dongle appeared as firewire/ohci. I enabled the firewire settings plus ohci in usb settings in my gentoo kernel which resulted in no connection. When I removed the firewire settings I got "....network started but is down...." (ifconfig wlan0 up didn`t work)

When I select ehci as * in the kernel I have to wait a long time at the "waiting for uevents to be...." part. When I select it as "M" I dont wait at the "waiting for uevents..."

Below are the fresh results of

Code:
#booted in gentoo
ifconfig -a > /ifca
ifconfig > /ifc
lspci -k > /lsp
ls -l /boot > /lsl
uname -a > /una


Code:
#booted in systemrescuecd
wgepaste /mnt/gentoo/ifca
wgepaste /mnt/gentoo/ifc
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/lsl
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/lsp
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/una
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/var/log/dmesg
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/var/log/rc.log
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/usr/src/linux/.config


http://bpaste.net/show/87614/
http://bpaste.net/show/87615/
http://bpaste.net/show/87616/
http://bpaste.net/show/87617/
http://bpaste.net/show/87618/
http://bpaste.net/show/87619/
http://bpaste.net/show/87620/
http://bpaste.net/show/87621/
http://bpaste.net/show/87623/

[/post]

Edit: Solved


Last edited by certem on Sun Mar 31, 2013 7:38 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the 3-7-10 kernel has been reported to have usb problems
suggest from the chroot
Code:
nano /etc/portage/package.keywords
add
Quote:
=sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-3.8.4 ~x86
to it. then
Code:
emerge gentoo-sources
eselect kernel set  linux-3.8.4-gentoo
cd /usr/src/linux && make oldconfig && make menuconfig
make && make modules_install && make install
emerge $(qlist -IC x11-drivers)
exit the chroot and reboot

edit to insert missed step
_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Sat Mar 30, 2013 6:05 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE

Code:
eselect kernel set linux-3.8.4-gentoo



Code:
!!! Error: Target "linux-3.8.4-gentoo" doesn't appear to be valid!
exiting



Code:
(chroot) sysresccd / # eselect kernel list
Available kernel symlink targets:
  [1]   linux-3.7.10-gentoo



Quote:
=sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-3.8.4 ~amd64


My PC is X86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

forgot to type
Code:
emerge gentoo-sources
and ~x86
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
(chroot) sysresccd linux # make && make modules_install && make install



Code:
/usr/src/linux-3.8.4-gentoo/scripts/gcc-version.sh: line 25: ygcc: command not found
/usr/src/linux-3.8.4-gentoo/scripts/gcc-version.sh: line 26: ygcc: command not found
make: ygcc: Command not found
scripts/kconfig/conf --silentoldconfig Kconfig
/usr/src/linux-3.8.4-gentoo/scripts/gcc-version.sh: line 25: ygcc: command not found
/usr/src/linux-3.8.4-gentoo/scripts/gcc-version.sh: line 26: ygcc: command not found
make: ygcc: Command not found
make[1]: Nothing to be done for `all'.
make[1]: Nothing to be done for `relocs'.
  CHK     include/generated/uapi/linux/version.h
  CHK     include/generated/utsrelease.h
  CC      kernel/bounds.s
/bin/sh: ygcc: command not found
make[1]: *** [kernel/bounds.s] Error 127
make: *** [prepare0] Error 2
(chroot) sysresccd linux #
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will try to get this right this time
from the chroot
Code:
nano /etc/portage/package.keywords
if
Quote:
=sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-3.8.4 ~amd64
appears there, change it to
Quote:
=sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-3.8.4 ~x86
If
Quote:
=sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-3.8.4 ~x86
is not there, add it.
Then
Code:
emerge --unmerge =sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-3.8.4
rm -rf /src/src/linux-3.8.4-gentoo
emerge =sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-3.8.4
eselect kernel set linux-3.8.4-gentoo
eselect kernel list
cp /usr/src/linux-3.7.10-gentoo/.config /usr/src/linux-3.8.4-gentoo/.config
cd /usr/src/linux && make oldconfig && make menuconfig
make && make modules_install && make install
emerge $(qlist -IC x11-drivers)
exit the chroot and reboot

eselect kernel list will allow checking for the intended version
the ygcc suggests cross-compilation is being attempted which may be due to my error with ~amd64 vice x86
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
the ygcc suggests cross-compilation is being attempted which may be due to my error with ~amd64 vice x86


I don't think so. Because I had already corrected it when you said
Quote:
and ~x86
in the fourth post in this thread.

I think
Quote:
the ygcc suggests cross-compilation
occurs because of what I did. A series of questions appeared after the third or fourth command in the second post of this thread. I answered the first several questions with "y" and when I realised that the questions looks like kernel questions I stopped answering them but hit enter until the end.

I think I messed up my "make menuconfig". I couldn't find a way to restore it to the previous state or bring it back to the "factory settings". By factory settings I mean the original state when we meet during a fresh installation.

Should I still apply the sugestions in the sixth post of this thread or did the things change?

After the fix will I have nothing to do with kernel 3.7.10? If yes: would a fresh install of gentoo with kernel 3.8.4 be a solution? (In fact I wouldn't prefer it, I just want to learn)

In the first post of this thread I had mentioned that Windows 7 tells the Ralink dongle is a firewire. Will gentoo treat it as a firewire or usb 1.1 or usb 2?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

certem wrote:
Quote:
the ygcc suggests cross-compilation is being attempted which may be due to my error with ~amd64 vice x86


I don't think so. Because I had already corrected it when you said
Quote:
and ~x86
in the fourth post in this thread. ok

I think
Quote:
the ygcc suggests cross-compilation
occurs because of what I did. A series of questions appeared after the third or fourth command in the second post of this thread. I answered the first several questions with "y" and when I realised that the questions looks like kernel questions I stopped answering them but hit enter until the end. ok. just enter this time unless you are sure you want to change a setting from the default/your previous setting

I think I messed up my "make menuconfig". I couldn't find a way to restore it to the previous state or bring it back to the "factory settings". By factory settings I mean the original state when we meet during a fresh installation. following post 6 will simply clear everything previously done concerning kernel 3.8.4

Should I still apply the sugestions in the sixth post of this thread or did the things change? yes from the top

After the fix will I have nothing to do with kernel 3.7.10? If yes: would a fresh install of gentoo with kernel 3.8.4 be a solution? (In fact I wouldn't prefer it, I just want to learn) not helpful to reinstall, post 6 should clear it. recommend always keeping the last kernel that worked in /boot and /usr/src/ and in grub.conf until the replacement is known to be working.

In the first post of this thread I had mentioned that Windows 7 tells the Ralink dongle is a firewire. Will gentoo treat it as a firewire or usb 1.1 or usb 2?
do you know if the manufacturer sold it as a firewire device? As far as I can tell it is usb2.0. lsusb detects it as usb.

when you complete the procedure of post six, add as the first menu choice in grub.conf an entry for vmlinuz-3.8.4-gentoo in the same format as the one for vmlinuz-3.7.10-gentoo

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I applied post 6

after reboot the grub screen came (with the choices of 3.7.10 and 3.7.10 Rescue) I went on and a boot with "there`s no wlan0" happened.

I logged in and did
Quote:
when you complete the procedure of post six, add as the first menu choice in grub.conf an entry for vmlinuz-3.8.4-gentoo in the same format as the one for vmlinuz-3.7.10-gentoo


When I rebooted I get an Error 15 file not found. I had received this error with my previos installations due to my IDE hard drive and had solved it by making the changes in the "make menuconfig"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

check menuconfig for
Code:
Device Drivers  --->

SCSI device support  --->
<*> SCSI disk support
<*> SCSI CDROM support
<*> SCSI generic support

<*> Serial ATA and Parallel ATA drivers  --->
[*]   ATA ACPI Support
<*>   AHCI SATA support
[*]   ATA SFF support (for legacy IDE and PATA)
[*]     ATA BMDMA support
<*>       Intel ESB, ICH, PIIX3, PIIX4 PATA/SATA support
<*>       VIA PATA support

File systems  --->
< > Second extended fs support
< > Ext3 journalling file system support
<*> The Extended 4 (ext4) filesystem
[*]   Use ext4 for ext2/ext3 file systems
[*]   Ext4 POSIX Access Control Lists
[*]   Ext4 Security Labels
< > Second extended fs support is disabled as it could interfere with [*] Use ext4 for ext2/ext3 file systems which is preferred.

boot sysresccd and mount the gentoo partitions, then run
Code:
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf
ls -l /mnt/gentoo/boot | wgetpaste
post url's. grub error 15 occurs before the kernel is involved so suspect a grub.conf typo
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I unselected
Code:
File systems  --->
< > Second extended fs support


and could boot 3.8.4

now I have
Code:
wlan0 has started but is inactive


the urls for
Code:
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf
ls -l /mnt/gentoo/boot | wgetpaste


are below
http://bpaste.net/show/87904/
http://bpaste.net/show/87905/

I don't know if it has anything to do with the issue but I was using dsl connection until a few weeks ago now I'm using fiber now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wlan0 has started but is inactive is informational and accurate at the instant, I see it every startup, if the force is with you wlan0 will shortly after associate with an access point and acquire an ip and be active.
Code:
ping -c2 8.8.8.8
to test the interface.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 6:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it produces:
connect: Network is unreachable

I do "Ifconfig wlan0 up" but no use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 7:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you should use /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start or stop or restart to control the interface now.
run
Code:
 iwlist wlan0 scan
should give a lot of info b ut of greatest interest items like "Encryption key:on
ESSID:"yourssid"
WPA2 Version 1
CCMP and or tkip
PSK"
Run ifconfig does wlan0 appear? have an ipaddress?
/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf should contain, as a minimum:
Quote:
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
ap_scan=1


run
Code:
 rc-update show
net.lo should be in the boot runlevel; net.wlan0 should be in the default run level. udev-postmount, dhcpcd, and wpa_supplicant should not be in any run level.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Everything is ok for the previous post but
Quote:
Run ifconfig does wlan0 appear? have an ipaddress?


wlan0 appears but doesn't take an IP address.
Ifconfig wlan0 doesn't work.

I also checked the kernel for the wireless and usb settings couldn't find anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The response to ifconfig tells us that the kernel is satisfactory for the wireless NIC
The lack of an ipaddress in ifconfig identifies a problem with /etc/conf.d/net or /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf or wpa_supplicant or dhcp
to be sure you have them:
Code:
emerge dhcpcd wpa_supplicant

let's take a look at everything I can think of: boot the sysresccd, mount the gentoo partitions, run
Code:
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/var/log/dmesg
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/usr/src/linux/.config
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/eic/conf.d/net
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
ls -l /mnt/gentoo/etc/init.d/net.* | wgetpaste
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/etc/rc.conf
ls /mnt/gentoo/etc/runlevels/sysinit | wgetpaste
ls /mnt/gentoo/etc/runlevels/boot | wgetpaste
ls /mnt/gentoo/etc/runlevels/default | wgetpaste
ls /mnt/gentoo/lib/firmware/rt* | wgetpaste
ifconfig | wgetpaste
iwconfig | wgetpaste
iwlist wlan0 scan | wgetpaste
Post the url's
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge dhcpcd wpa_supplicant


I made the emerges 1 item was emerged for dhcpcd and 1 item was emerged for wpa_supplicant.


wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/var/log/dmesg
http://bpaste.net/show/87993/
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/usr/src/linux/.config
http://bpaste.net/show/87994/
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/eic/conf.d/net
/usr/bin/wgetpaste: /mnt/gentoo/eic/conf.d/net No such file found.
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
http://bpaste.net/show/87995/
ls -l /mnt/gentoo/etc/init.d/net.* | wgetpaste
http://bpaste.net/show/87996/
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/etc/rc.conf
http://bpaste.net/show/87997/
ls /mnt/gentoo/etc/runlevels/sysinit | wgetpaste
http://bpaste.net/show/87998/
ls /mnt/gentoo/etc/runlevels/boot | wgetpaste
http://bpaste.net/show/87999/
ls /mnt/gentoo/etc/runlevels/default | wgetpaste
http://bpaste.net/show/88000/
ls /mnt/gentoo/lib/firmware/rt* | wgetpaste
http://bpaste.net/show/88001/
ifconfig | wgetpaste
http://bpaste.net/show/88002/
iwconfig | wgetpaste
http://bpaste.net/show/88003/
iwlist wlan0 scan | wgetpaste
http://bpaste.net/show/88004/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/etc/conf.d/net
typo, pls try again
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/etc/conf.d/net


http://bpaste.net/show/88010/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Boot gentoo,
Code:
nano /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
edit
Quote:
ssid="phoneix"
to
Quote:
ssid="Phoneix"
to match the result of iwlist scan, then
Code:
 /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 stop
/etc/init.d/wpa_supplicant stop
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart
ifconfig
ping -c2 8.8.8.8
does ifconfig show an ipaddress for wlan0, ping succeed?

do you have wpa_gui available in your desktop/gui?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
certem
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2013
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE you're great.

Thank you very much. :) One more time I have a working wireless with your help.

Quote:
does ifconfig show an ipaddress for wlan0


yes

Quote:
ping succeed?


yes

I also rebboted and pinged and did poweroff and started and pinged and all succesfull.

Quote:
do you have wpa_gui available in your desktop/gui?


No I don't have a wpa_gui.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wpa_gui could be useful if this is a laptop or for troubleshooting if the problem were not cleared. You should not need it. It is obtained by emerging wpa_supplicant with qt4 USE flag. godspeed.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum