View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 8:59 pm    Post subject: Suggest A DE for me Reply with quote

KDE, Gnome and even XFCE are beginning to bug the crap out of me, they all seem to have their little faults.

Latest one in XFCE is that thunar hangs when transferring files through samba.

I was thinking of trying one the *box options but seeing as I have never used them before it all seemed alien to me when adding applications to the menus

I would like something light yet functional, something that will show thumbnails of pictures and movies but take up very little resources

I did look at e17 when it was on overlay but went back to xfce, i think now is the time to make the jump :)

any and all (constructive) suggestions welcome :)
NathanZachary

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would strongly recommend Openbox, but I am a bit partial to it, for obvious reasons. If you would like to try it out, feel free to follow my guide at:

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/openbox.xml

Another choice which is more of a desktop-environment-esque solution is LXDE (which uses Openbox as its window manager anyway). You can read that guide here:

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/lxde-howto.xml

Those would be my two recommendations, but I don't know your exact goals. I want a really light system that allows for as much customisation as possible, even if it requires a bit more work upfront.

Cheers,
Nathan Zachary
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the suggestion currently having a little play about with e17 seeing as it is now stable in tree, cant get PDF thumbs to appear but a minor issue atm.