View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
wisemonkey
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 4:32 am    Post subject: Hard disk partitioning Reply with quote

Hi everyone,
I've been using Ubuntu for last 4 years, Now I want to switch to Gentoo (to learn more).
In last 4 years I've realized, I need separate home partition to port easily.

So this question is bit opinion based:
I received 750GB hybrid HDD for my laptop yesterday :D
I was thinking 150GB for system and 600GB for home.
I wanted community opinion, (My Ubuntu system space never exceeded more than 30GB so I'm assuming 150GB will be plenty)
but then again I never used Gentoo before.

Thanks
cach0rr0
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

30GB is a fairly conservative figure for everything minus home.
you can get by with significantly less (i have full installs with just 16GB - building bigger packages gets sporty, but still manageable - and people do get by with much less in certain setups)

your 150GB for the system partition will be more than sufficient. way overkill in fact, but breathing room is nice.

If you want to give yourself space to be a complete pack rat with installing all kinds of crap, and never cleaning up old source tarballs, 50GB seems like a nice round number that should do the job, with plenty of room left over.
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wisemonkey,

Welcome to gentoo - the fun has just begun :D

IMHO 150Gig would be a big waste of disk space. 16Gig for this lappy w/47% used.

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
wisemonkey
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cach0rr0 wrote:
30GB is a fairly conservative figure for everything minus home.