Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Trying to emerge KDE. [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Shimanim
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Feb 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 2:26 am    Post subject: Trying to emerge KDE. [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Just installed Gentoo, now I want to install KDE.
I use the command:
emerge --ask kdebase-meta
(from here: http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE).

It tells me after I do this: 'The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:'
There is also a ton of text below this, but I can't tell which USE flags I need to change.
Now, I do have wgetpaste, but I don't know where the file that says all this is so I can show you.

This is my make.conf file as well.
Code:
# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
CFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
# These are the USE flags that were used in addition to what is provided by the
# profile used for building.
USE="-gtk -gnome qt4 kde dvd alsa cdr mp3 bindist mmx sse sse2"
MAKEOPTS="-j5"

GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://ftp.swin.edu.au/gentoo ftp://ftp.swin.edu.au/gentoo"

SYNC="rsync://rsync1.au.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"


The profile I have chosen (through eselect) is number 5 (default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/kde *)


Last edited by Shimanim on Wed Mar 06, 2013 4:02 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 1266

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can do something like emerge -pv kdebase-meta > somefile.txt && wgetpaste somefile.txt although it would be much more elegant to use emerge -pv kdebase-meta | wgetpaste

Please note that you also need to install xorg-server as it is not a dependency, but required if you want to run locally.

EDIT: corrected to include better command.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.


Last edited by The Doctor on Wed Mar 06, 2013 2:43 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7405
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 2:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shimanim wrote:
Now, I do have wgetpaste, but I don't know where the file that says all this is so I can show you.
Probably nowhere, unless you've already configured logging. Just reissue the command and pipe it to wgetpaste:
Code:
emerge kdebase-meta | wgetpaste
:wink:

But, there are other prerequisites. Have you already installed and tested X (The X Server Configuration HOWTO)? How about accelerated video drivers (Gentoo Linux nVidia Guide or perhaps Gentoo Linux ATI FAQ)?

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shimanim
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Feb 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
You can do something like emerge -pv kdebase-meta > somefile.txt && wgetpaste somefile.txt

Quote:
emerge kdebase-meta | wgetpaste


Nothing happens when I type these, it just goes down to the next line and it's blank.

Quote:
Please note that you also need to install xorg-server as it is not a dependency, but required if you want to run locally.

Quote:
But, there are other prerequisites. Have you already installed and tested X (The X Server Configuration HOWTO)? How about accelerated video drivers (Gentoo Linux nVidia Guide or perhaps Gentoo Linux ATI FAQ)?


Oh, I didn't know this. I'll do that as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7405
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shimanim wrote:
Nothing happens when I type these, it just goes down to the next line and it's blank.
You have to wait for it to complete. It'll take almost exactly the same runtime whether piped or not, but when piped, you don't see the output. If, after waiting, you truly get no URL from wgetpaste, then please post the output of
Code:
echo "Hello, world." | wgetpaste
Do you get a URL then?

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shimanim
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Feb 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

John R. Graham wrote:
Shimanim wrote:
Nothing happens when I type these, it just goes down to the next line and it's blank.
You have to wait for it to complete. It'll take almost exactly the same runtime whether piped or not, but when piped, you don't see the output. If, after waiting, you truly get no URL from wgetpaste, then please post the output of
Code:
echo "Hello, world." | wgetpaste
Do you get a URL then?

- John


Ah, that worked. Sorry, I'm impatient. I just assumed it didn't work since nothing happened for 5 minutes.
Worked this time:
http://bpaste.net/show/81786/

But, it doesn't show at the bottom the part where it says "The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:", I can still see that on my screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7405
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm. Didn't realize that part went to stderr. Redirect stderr as well, like so:
Code:
emerge kdebase-meta 2>&1 | wgetpaste
- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shimanim
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Feb 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That worked!

http://bpaste.net/show/81790/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7405
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, so at line 453-454, it's showing you the exact syntax that would go into a file in /etc/portage/package.use. (You read about that in the Handbook, right?) Interpreting what it says textually, it's saying
Quote:
sys-libs/zlib needs to be built with the minizip USE flag to support all the features that kdebase-meta (and its dependencies) need.
It's your choice whether to add the minizip USE flag to the main USE variable in /etc/portage/make.conf or to create a package-specific USE specification in /etc/portage/package.use. Quick setup of the latter would be:
Code:
mkdir -p /etc/portage/package.{mask,unmask,keywords,use}
cat <<EOF >/etc/portage/package.use/kde
#required by some kdebase-meta dependencies
>=sys-libs/zlib-1.2.7 minizip
EOF
I just pasted those two lines from your pastebin.

Edit: Cut down on the size of the comment for clarity.

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shimanim
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Feb 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, it's minizip.
I just didn't know where exactly at line 453-554 was the USE flag it wanted me to use.

Thank you very much and also thank you for telling me about the X prerequisite, I missed it in the KDE gentoo wiki page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum