Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Need old gentoo kernel source
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hathill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 7:25 am    Post subject: Need old gentoo kernel source Reply with quote

Hi all,
I need to get hold of the kernel source for the 2.6.12-gentoor6 kernel for some old hardware (don't ask) - I need to build the e1000 kernel module.
I am not a gentoo user - more dead rat and ubuntu so I am not sure if this is possible or the best way to go about it. Any help greatly appreciated.


Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mahdi1234
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2005
Posts: 559
Location: Being There

PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can get the ebuild for what you're looking for there - http://sources.gentoo.org/cgi-bin/viewvc.cgi/gentoo-x86/sys-kernel/gentoo-sources/?hideattic=0

cheers
_________________
http://gentoo.mahdi.cz <-- gentoo package search engine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54096
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hathill,

That kernel will be based on the 2.6.12 kernel from kernel.org. They may have an archive. Plus you need some gentoo patches.
You will probably need an old toolchain to build that kernel too.

The ebuild says it wants
Code:
K_WANT_GENPATCHES="base extras"
K_GENPATCHES_VER="10"


You can get the patch files from here
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hathill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks all - I have got tried to use the ebuild listed above in a gentoo VM I just built but it exits with

Quote:



gentoo1 ~ # ebuild gentoo-sources-2.6.12-r6.ebuild fetch
Appending / to PORTDIR_OVERLAY...
!!! /gentoo-sources-2.6.12-r6 does not follow correct package syntax.


I am using Gentoo Linux 20121221
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54096
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hathill,

Do not use the ebuild command.

emerge =gentoo-sources-2.6.12-r1 -f
Is more likely to work - but the main sources are no longer on the gentoo mirrors and the ebuild will not know to look in the archive on kernel.org. You will need to get that part for yourself - the ebuild may find the patches.

If you are really using a gentoo from 2012, you should have a much more recent kernel than 2.6.12 as thats 5 or 6 years old.
Your gcc should be too new to build that kernel too.
What does your date refer to ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hathill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks - I can get the main source okay and the patches are still up from your link.

The date is just the date of the download form distrowatch.

Here is the output of the uname -a command from the version I am running.

Quote:
gentoo1 ~ # uname -a
Linux gentoo1 3.7.10-gentoo #1 SMP Sun Mar 3 09:33:50 EST 2013 i686 Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU G530 @ 2.40GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux



The 2.6.12 r6 is on the old hardware. I am trying to run an image of this as a virtual machine and it does not detect the network interfaces.
It was a minimal build and only has the e100 kernel module. I suspect I need the e1000 for it to work with VirtualBox network device/s. ( I have tried them all)
Updating the OS is not possible as it has some custom device drivers compiled and I defiintely cannot get the source for those.



Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54096
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hathill,

If you run lspci in your VM, what does it say about ethernet devices.
You can boot a CD image in the VM if your old install does not have lspci.

This will tell what driver you really need and if you have it, we can look for the problem elsewhere.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hathill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks again - the output from lspci is

Quote:

00:03.0 Ethernet Controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] 79c970 [PCnet32 LANCE] (rev 40)


This is the PCnet FAST III (Am79C973) controller in Vbox.

I have tried specifying the mac addresses in /etc/conf.d/net as the appear in Vbox.

The machine only has 8139too.ko, e100.ko and via-rhine.ko in /lib/modules/2.6.12-gentoo-r6/kernel/drivers/net

The output of lsmod shows that it is loading the e100 driver on boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hathill
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Further to this - I've just compiled a vanilla 2.6.12.6 kernel on the VM and it successfully detects and configures the network interfaces now.
Definitely looks like a driver compatibility issue so far.
This might be enough to get me by - looks like the critical application is running okay so far.
I'll test it tomorrow in our dev environment and see how it goes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54096
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The
Code:
00:03.0 Ethernet Controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] 79c970 [PCnet32 LANCE] (rev 40)

Needs the pcnet32 driver. Thats what you modprobe to load it.
The prompt in make menuconfig is AMD PCnet32 PCI support

If that interface is working, it must be built into the kernel, since none of the loadable modules (8139too.ko, e100.ko and via-rhine.ko) suit that card.
It might be loading the e100 driver because its told to, not because its useful.

There are three other emulation network cards you can choose from in Virtualbox, they are all Intel 1G cards.
I did not not check the drivers they need.

If you have the file /proc/config.gz you can grep it for drivers. Thats the configuration file for the running kernel, if its present.
Try
Code:
zgrep PCNET /proc/config.gz
and/or
Code:
 zgrep 1000 /proc/config.gz

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum