Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Nvidia Optimus & vdpau
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Xywa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 812
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2012 7:24 pm    Post subject: Nvidia Optimus & vdpau Reply with quote

Hi,

After using Nvidia for a long time under Linux, the first time I have to problem how to use it - because of Nvidia Optimus :evil:

I have read those articles:
X.Org/nVidia Optimus
http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/X.Org/nVidia_Optimus

Bumblebee-Project
https://github.com/Bumblebee-Project

I have got instaled:
Code:
*  x11-misc/bumblebee
      Latest version available: 3.0-r1

which works pretty well for me, but I have to use optirun command - eg. optirun glxspheres gives me 50 times more frames per second than just Intel but...

How to use such programs like kdenlive which use inside another programs like ffmpeg or mlt and every of them have a flag vdpau. Optirun kdenlive doesn't work and after trying to load any movie program crashes, probbably when trying to ffmpeg (without optirun comand) . Kdenlive compiled without vdpau flag works fine - so what was the reaseon for me to have Nvida GT630M when I can not use it. Now (with Optimus technology) I have run optirun, but I have no idea which program use nvidia support. In wiki eg. is example optirun firefox, for the last years I had no idea this program (firefox) can use support form 3D card. I have lots of programs, should I chceck EVEY of them if it is possible suporrt from 3D card? Now I have no access to eg. nvidia server setting even with bumlebee worked fine. How to use nvidia card to support eg. screensaver (OpenGL)? Should I manually put everywhere optirun comand before any comands?

It is possible to switch on permanently Nvidia and switch off Intel - so every application could use automatically Nvidia support (without adding optirun command)? My laptop works as workstation and I do not use battery at all, so I need performance not power-saving... I would like fully use such prgrams like kdenlive - which can use vdpau and power of graphic card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2633
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2012 8:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Nvidia Optimus & vdpau Reply with quote

Xywa wrote:
How to use such programs like kdenlive which use inside another programs like ffmpeg or mlt and every of them have a flag vdpau.

Simple: you don't. Probably not the answer you wanted to hear, but that's how it is. Bumblebee is a big giant hack, not a solution. It works only for opengl.

Xywa wrote:
Should I manually put everywhere optirun comand before any comands?

If you want that particular app to run on the nvidia card, yes, you prefix it with optirun.

Xywa wrote:
It is possible to switch on permanently Nvidia and switch off Intel - so every application could use automatically Nvidia support (without adding optirun command)?

No, that goes against the point of Optimus, which is to run as much as possible off the integrated GPU and use Nvidia only for the few apps where you need more performance than the iGPU provides. Some laptops have a hardware mux, that allows such switching. But that's a feature those laptops provide *in addition* to optimus. Pure optimus machines are muxless.

Dave Airlie has started to rip X apart, the end goal being proper multi-GPU support instead of hacks like Bumblebee: http://airlied.livejournal.com/75980.html. Might take a while though before this is ready. Also, having support for this in the closed nvidia driver depends on whether they'll be able to use DMA-BUF. Right now they can't, DMA-BUF's symbols are exported only to GPL modules. There's a chance this will change, as there are good arguments for the change, but who knows if it'll be possible to reach consensus: https://lkml.org/lkml/2012/2/19/88
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 812
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2012 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks Gusar!

Back to kdenlive and vdpau flag - this program inside use ffmpeg & mlt and those 2 use vdpau. When I have system without vdpau - everything is fine. When i use vdpau, Kdenlive crashes after every each video clip added. Someone advised me to check how melt works and just to try form console melt. And bellow are results what i have go (with optirun and without):
Code:
$ melt DSC_4387.MOV
 Xlib: extension "NV-GLX" missing on display ":0".
 Xlib: extension "NV-GLX" missing on display ":0".
 Segmentation fault


Code:
 $ optirun melt DSC_4387.MOV
 xauth: (argv):1: unable to read any entries from file "/etc/VirtualGL/vgl_xauth_key"
 Xlib: extension "NV-GLX" missing on display ":0".
 Xlib: extension "NV-GLX" missing on display ":0".



Doesn't matter i use $ melt or $ optirun melt (- as I have Xlib: extension "NV-GLX" missing on display ":0". and my card is on:
Code:
# cat /proc/acpi/bbswitch
0000:01:00.0 ON


Whats wrong? Did I made a wrong configuration or maybe is imposible vdpau flag on Nvidia Optimus?

Update:
The same story with mplayer using vdpau:
Code:
Xlib:  extension "NV-GLX" missing on display ":0".
Xlib:  extension "NV-GLX" missing on display ":0".
[vdpau] Error when calling vdp_device_create_x11: 1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tr0ll
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Aug 2010
Posts: 84
Location: varies

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 9:43 am    Post subject: Re: Nvidia Optimus & vdpau Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
Dave Airlie has started to rip X apart, the end goal being proper multi-GPU support instead of hacks like Bumblebee: http://airlied.livejournal.com/75980.html. Might take a while though before this is ready. Also, having support for this in the closed nvidia driver depends on whether they'll be able to use DMA-BUF. Right now they can't, DMA-BUF's symbols are exported only to GPL modules. There's a chance this will change, as there are good arguments for the change, but who knows if it'll be possible to reach consensus: https://lkml.org/lkml/2012/2/19/88


Thanks for the info ! This optimus business/hacks/licensing (pick an issue) under nix is a real mess :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 812
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2012 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AskUbuntu have a sollution:
http://askubuntu.com/questions/102508/hybrid-dump-for-vdpau-accelerated-video-playing-on-ubuntu-11-10-with-bumblebee-3

hybrid-windump is needed (I can not find for a Gentoo for a moment)

And here Optimus + Vdpau:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pxziIAPFIFY

I hope someone will tell me how to run this under Gentoo...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 812
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Potential Good News For NVIDIA Optimus On Linux
http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=MTEyOTQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2633
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Takes care of just one piece of the puzzle though - nvidia supporting xrandr1.5. That still leaves the other piece - a way to share buffers with the intel driver. Either they figure something out themselves in this area, or they get access to dma-buf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 812
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vdpau + Optimus on Linux & Gentoo? Probably yes :)
http://lists.freedesktop.org/archives/dri-devel/2012-August/027237.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 812
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe kernel 3.9?
http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=MTMwMjI

Quote:
This makes it part of the pull request that will go into the Linux 3.9 kernel and could eventually lead NVIDIA to properly playing with PRIME / NVIDIA Optimus support on Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 812
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/

PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2013 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Initial Optimus Support For Linux Available With Nvidia Graphics Drivers 319.12 Beta
:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
http://www.webupd8.org/2013/04/nvidia-releases-linux-graphics-drivers.html

Was anybody trying new driver with Optimus? Does it vdpau with a new driver work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum