Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Native Steam client and source game engine
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Letharion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 1231
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uninstalling Pulseaudio by settings USE="-pulseaudio", removing it with portage and running a full update and rebooting didn't help. No audio in either of Superbrothers, Trine 2 or Solar 2.

With pulseaudio Superbrothers gives sound, so it's not a generic problem connected to steam.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hyper_Eye
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Posts: 440
Location: Huntsville, AL.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Those source engine games have all been ported to Mac and so they have working OpenGL backends (not to mention that the Source engine is the Source engine so, having ported TF2, they have already ported the biggest part.) I'm not question the order they intend to port these games. I'm not going to look a gift horse in the mouth... especially when they are delivering the most important port Linux gaming has ever seen. Besides, CS 1.6 has more players concurrently in-game than any of the other CS's.
_________________
Gentoo Gaming Videos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drasica
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Apr 2006
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 7:46 pm    Post subject: horrible audio distortion Reply with quote

I can get audio to work in steam/HL if I set the SDL_AUDIODRIVER=alsa, but it is incredibly glitchy and distorted.
Has anybody else had a similar problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Letharion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 1231
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 9:57 pm    Post subject: Wrong output Reply with quote

So in my case the issue was really silly. Both Solar and Trine got set to output over HDMI instead of the normal 3.5 audio jack. No idea why, as HDMI is set as "fallback" and most other things correctly defaults correctly.

Windowing the games and changing their sinks in pavucontrol was all that was required.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1279
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

someone please make an ebuild, i hate to move/copy/remove files myself :D
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1279
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hyper_Eye wrote:
Besides, CS 1.6 has more players concurrently in-game than any of the other CS's.
this i doubt very much ;)
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Letharion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 1231
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mgiese wrote:
someone please make an ebuild, i hate to move/copy/remove files myself :D


If you're talking about steam, there is one in the gamerlay.
Code:
layman -a gamerlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anyc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Counter Strike Source \o/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whig
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Posts: 970
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 4:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

With another try I got sound effects, music in Half-life sans pulse. I followed the github clone build of sdl2 with a modification: ../configure --disable-pulseaudio
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spacelike
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Sep 2011
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apparently they added a license (or modified?) so that other distros can now being packaging steam.

Anyone want to do this for gentoo? I guess this means it can now start showing up in official repos.. having one in portage would be pretty nice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Herring42
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 366
Location: Buckinghamshire

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm getting the following problem running Steam:

The client runs to the first dialog, but when I click the login button, I get a dialog box saying "Unable to Connect to the Steam network". This occurs with STEAM_RUNTIME=1 and STEAM_RUNTIME=0.

The following appears on the console:
Code:
Running Steam on gentoo  64-bit
STEAM_RUNTIME is enabled by the user
Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1360439662_client)
Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1360439662_client)
unlinked 0 orphaned pipes
Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1360439662_client)
[0210/220721:ERROR:object_proxy.cc(239)] Failed to call method: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.Spawn.ChildExited: Launch helper exited with unknown return code 1
[0210/220721:WARNING:proxy_service.cc(646)] PAC support disabled because there is no system implementation
Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1360439662_client)
Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1360439662_client)
Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1360439662_client)
Generating new string page texture 12: 48x256, total string texture memory is 49.15 KB
Generating new string page texture 13: 256x256, total string texture memory is 311.30 KB
Generating new string page texture 14: 128x256, total string texture memory is 442.37 KB
Generating new string page texture 15: 384x256, total string texture memory is 835.58 KB
Generating new string page texture 18: 24x256, total string texture memory is 860.16 KB
Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1360439662_client)
Shutting down. . .
unlinked 2 orphaned pipes
CAsyncIOManager: 0 threads terminating.  0 reads, 0 writes, 0 deferrals.
CAsyncIOManager: 1009 single object sleeps, 0 multi object sleeps
CAsyncIOManager: 0 single object alertable sleeps, 2 multi object alertable sleeps
CWorkThreadPool::~CWorkThreadPool: work complete queue not empty, 1 items discarded.

_________________
"The problem with quotes on the internet is that it is difficult
to determine whether or not they are genuine." -- Abraham Lincoln
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uzytkownik
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 391
Location: Munich, DE

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I encountered problem with alsa+pulse as the former cannot find pulse plugin. The workaround found in Google is to add /etc/ld.so.conf.d/50alsa.conf:

Code:

/usr/lib32/alsa-lib/
/usr/lib/alsa-lib/


Run ldconfig and change lines in /usr/share/alsa/alsa.conf.d/51-pulseaudio-probe.conf:

Code:

hook_func.pulse_load_if_running {
        #lib "/usr/lib/alsa-lib/libasound_module_conf_pulse.so"
        lib "libasound_module_conf_pulse.so"
        func "conf_pulse_hook_load_if_running"
}

@hooks [
        {
                func pulse_load_if_running
                files [
                        "/usr/share/alsa/pulse-default.conf"
                        "/etc/asound.conf"
                        "~/.asoundrc"
                ]
                errors false
        }
]


As it did worked - is it steam bug or system bug? If the former it might be nice to fix the alsa multilib support.

Mgiese wrote:
Hyper_Eye wrote:
Besides, CS 1.6 has more players concurrently in-game than any of the other CS's.
this i doubt very much ;)


At least in some parts everyone's plays CS 1.6 so no-one upgrades to CSS so everyone plays CS 1.6 (besides - now there is both CSS and CS on SfL)
_________________
I've probably left my head... somwhere. Please wait untill I find it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mir3x
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jun 2012
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have problem with sound in CSS ( TF2 and Amnesia is ok ) -
when shooting many bullets it gets distorted, game lags totally ( maybe 2 fps per second and weapon often locked by continous shooting untill no ammo )
It's 100% no graphics or network issue, any idea ? ( I was using alsa earlier, now @world rebuilt for pulse but it behaves the same )
_________________
Installation aborted to prevent system self-destruction
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 743
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 12:05 am    Post subject: ><)))°€ Reply with quote

mir3x wrote:
I have problem with sound in CSS ( TF2 and Amnesia is ok ) -
when shooting many bullets it gets distorted, game lags totally ( maybe 2 fps per second and weapon often locked by continous shooting untill no ammo )
It's 100% no graphics or network issue, any idea ? ( I was using alsa earlier, now @world rebuilt for pulse but it behaves the same )

I haven't had such a problem, or any major problems really excluding the no-sound without exporting SDL_AUDIODRIVER=ALSA.

However, I did have an issue that seems little bit similar to you, in that, I would often be unable to activate any weapon. Many a time I was trying to stab an opponent, toss a grenade, or just shoot around, smashing the mouse buttons to no avail until they finally spotted me. Although that created some rather hilarious moments, it was a bit annoying fer sure.

It seemed as if I got rid of it by disabling the 'raw input' of the mouse. I don't believe it is enabled by default, at least I think I selected it myself.

At times I still would get some weird behaviour like where I lose control of my character, which keeps running straight without responding to mouse movements or anything else. This usually lasts only a while, but can also produce rather funny scenes. I've not yet been able to pinpoint what causes that one.

Overall, though, the game seems to be running and working even better than it ever did for me under Windows, although I perhaps should do some proper testing and comparing on that before mentioning it as an absolute truth. A friend who occasionally visits me tends to play a bit of CS:S and other related titles here, and even he did feel like it was 'working damn well!' or something along those lines.

Have to say a thanks to Valve for it, really. Even though I am not that much of a CS-holic, I still play it at times quite a bit, and I was pretty impressed of CS:S.

Can't say that I was surprised though!
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mir3x
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jun 2012
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tested many kernel settings, but finally I just enabled VSync in CSS and sound is ok,
anyway there are other irrelevant small bugs in linux version ( I dont bother with them, finally I can use CK47 :D ) - I have kde menu - in left upper corner, sometimes its visible in game ( not whole button, but most of it), but after game when I return to kde the region where it was visible is dead area, I cannot click icon there ( bottom of icon is still clickable ), other issue, after quitting CSS there is white
icon ( looks like paper ) in systray, if steam was launched - there its steam menu and I cannot quit it, but if steam wasnt launched its also some dead icon.
So I just wanted to point that Valve has a lot to fix, lets see when they will do it :D
_________________
Installation aborted to prevent system self-destruction
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
platojones
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1533
Location: Just over the horizon

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems the offical Steam client is now out of beta and onto Ubuntu's software center:

http://www.engadget.com/2013/02/14/steam-client-ubuntu-official-release/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Herring42
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 366
Location: Buckinghamshire

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 8:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Herring42 wrote:
I'm getting the following problem running Steam:


I guess I should have added to my post:

Please help! Has anyone else seen this problem, or knows what to do about it?
_________________
"The problem with quotes on the internet is that it is difficult
to determine whether or not they are genuine." -- Abraham Lincoln
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PabOu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Posts: 1073
Location: Hélécine - Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I did a fresh install of my computer and tried to reinstall steam but I was stuck with this problem when launching steam :

Code:
SteamUpdateUI: An X Error occurred
X Error of failed request:  BadName (named color or font does not exist)
Major opcode of failed request:  45 (X_OpenFont)
Serial number of failed request:  24
xerror_handler: X failed, continuing


I googled it and of course I had emerged all the fonts they told me would resolve the problem (font-bitstream-100dp, corefonts, and so on...), I tried rebooting, adding some FontPath to my Xorg config file, I also tried several "eselect fontconfig enable xxxxx", but no luck.
So I emerged "xtrace" to get the x11trace binary and here is what I found out :

Code:
000:<:0018: 68: Request(45): OpenFont fid=0x02000003 name='-mutt-clearlyu-medium-r-normal--*-120-*-*-p-*-iso10646-1'


So, I took a look inside /usr/portage/media-fonts and I found "media-fonts/font-mutt-misc". I emerged it, and now steam works !
_________________
Mangez du poulet !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spacelike
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Sep 2011
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Herring42 wrote:
Herring42 wrote:
I'm getting the following problem running Steam:


I guess I should have added to my post:

Please help! Has anyone else seen this problem, or knows what to do about it?


Try making sure steam is not running and then delete Steam/ClientRegistry.blob
It's completely harmless to delete, a new one will be created and it usually fixes a lot of issues with steam network.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Herring42
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 366
Location: Buckinghamshire

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

spacelike wrote:

Try making sure steam is not running and then delete Steam/ClientRegistry.blob
It's completely harmless to delete, a new one will be created and it usually fixes a lot of issues with steam network.


Thank you, but no joy.

The weird thing is I've tried looking at a packet trace of my machine while starting steam. Apart from doing a DNS request for gds2.steampowered.com (208.64.200.190), there appears to be no network activity at all. Certainly not to the aforementioned IP address.

I'm running IPv4 / IPv6 setup here if that makes a difference.
_________________
"The problem with quotes on the internet is that it is difficult
to determine whether or not they are genuine." -- Abraham Lincoln
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonfr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 908
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the steam client name in Gentoo Linux?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1223
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wiki.gentoo.org's steam entry from *.deb is completely incorrect.....

my deb only spits out control.tar.gz and data.tar.gz data appears as if it will get some things done, deep in its extracted archives are some things the original installation require. steam.desktop completely missing.... having data tarball dump into / & running /usr/bin/steam just gets me to end user agreement and nothing more...... && i suspect critically broken my system lol it over writ the /usr/lib symlink so i temporarily lost emerge, and x, and all that is good in life in linux. re symlink back to lib64 and back in business.
_________________
cat /etc/*-release
Funtoo Linux - baselayout 2.2.0
consider this warning no. 1
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/81Ku-vxIb3L._SL1500_.jpg
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Special:Contributions/666threesixes666
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PabOu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Posts: 1073
Location: Hélécine - Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jonfr wrote:
What is the steam client name in Gentoo Linux?
it's available in some overlays (gamerlay for example) under the name "steam-meta".
_________________
Mangez du poulet !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 743
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:26 pm    Post subject: ><)))°€ Reply with quote

666threesixes666 wrote:
wiki.gentoo.org's steam entry from *.deb is completely incorrect.....

my deb only spits out control.tar.gz and data.tar.gz data appears as if it will get some things done, deep in its extracted archives are some things the original installation require. steam.desktop completely missing....

I agree, that it could be a bit more clear, but I'm not really complaining and I guess I would edit it myself if it really bothered me.
And if I didn't think I'd make it worse.

However, I don't see what there is incorrect. Could you elaborate on that?
The bootstraplinux_ubuntu12_32.tar.xz is in:

Code:
data.tar.gz
  /usr/lib/steam

steam.desktop (which I think is optional, but can't remember for sure at this point of time) is in:

Code:
data.tar.gz
  /usr/share/applications

Moreover...

666threesixes666 wrote:
having data tarball dump into / & running /usr/bin/steam just gets me to end user agreement and nothing more...... && i suspect critically broken my system lol it over writ the /usr/lib symlink so i temporarily lost emerge, and x, and all that is good in life in linux. re symlink back to lib64 and back in business.

Where does the wikki article suggest you should do any of that? ^^;
(I guess you don't really imply that it does.)

wiki.gentoo.org - Steam - 3 Installation wrote:
Installation

Download the .deb archive found here, extract[1] and put the following files into the same directory:
bootstraplinux_ubuntu12_32.tar.xz (from the .deb archive)
steam.desktop (from the .deb archive)
steam (get the script here)

Make steam executable and run it. There are also a few icons in the .deb archive.

The way I read that, is that it suggests you to put the bootstraplinux_ubuntu12_32.tar.xz, the steam.desktop file, as well as the script into a directory, and run the script there. Not into a particular directory, like your real /usr for example (though I guess that is what it does in Ubuntu etc. maybe).

I guess I was at first expecting to see the 2 files right away, instead of looking for them from inside archives.
So yeah, it could be a bit clearer, but not a huge issue... or so I think I guess.


Just some thoughts~
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hyper_Eye
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Posts: 440
Location: Huntsville, AL.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have steam installed from gamerlay. Today's steam update appears to have broken it on my system. The steam bin segfaults.

The issue looks the same as what is reported here: https://github.com/ValveSoftware/steam-for-linux/issues/1977

UPDATE: The issue has been corrected.
_________________
Gentoo Gaming Videos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next
Page 9 of 12

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum