Raid and SSD Setup
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Gankfest
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:16 am    Post subject: Raid and SSD Setup Reply with quote

I'm getting some new parts for my computer, and adding an SSD drive along with a raid setup. The SSD drive will have Windows on it, along with a 1.5TB 5 Raid that will have Gentoo on it and a partition for storing files like pics, music, etc... I've never used a drive outside of a Raid before, so I wasn't sure if this could be done? If so, does the Gentoo installation need to be setup as if I was going to dual boot windows Raid wise; because Windows will be on a completely different drive. The SSD won't be a raid drive, just a normal partition setup. Thanx for the help!

Everyone has to start somewhere, it depends on where you end up that counts! (>")>
duby2291
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my Motherboard I have to select f12 during the post screen after bios load it starts a dialog that allows me to select which drive to boot from. In you case the key may be different but choose that key and then you can select the array or the ssd from which to boot. Thats the easiest way, but you could also set up grup to chainload the windows bootloader.
Gankfest
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote