Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Difficulties with wpa_supplicant
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hcaulfield57
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Mar 2012
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 11:32 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Difficulties with wpa_supplicant Reply with quote

I just got my Asus USB N-13 wifi adapter recognized by the kernel, but I'm having trouble actually connect to wifi with it. I'm pretty much a newb when it comes to networking, so please bear with me. The steps I've tried are as follows:
Code:

ifconfig wlan0 up # works
wpa_supplicant -Dwext -i wlan0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
# this hangs on 'Trying to associate with SSID 'my-ssid'

My wpa_supplicant.conf is as follows:
Code:

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
ap_scan=2
update_config=1

network={
   ssid="my-ssid"
        psk=my-hex-key
   proto=WPA
   key_mgmt=NONE
   priority=5
}

I have no idea what I should be doing.
_________________
"To design the perfect anti-Unix, make all file formats binary and opaque, and require heavyweight tools to read and edit them." - The Art of Unix Programming


Last edited by hcaulfield57 on Mon Apr 29, 2013 11:28 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcaulfield57,

I noticed from your other thread that you finally got your dongle working :D

The next thing is to get the dongle matched up to your router, and get the syntax right.

Fashion your wpa_supplicant.conf like mine.
Code:
bill@laptop ~ $ cat /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=wheel
update_config=1

network={
   ssid="myssid"
   psk="mypsk"
   proto=WPA2
   key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
   pairwise=CCMP TKIP-
   group=CCMP TKIP
   id_str="gentoo-laptop"
}

My router is setup for wpa2 personal - wpa algorithims is TKIP+AES. Just make sure your info matches what the router is setup for.

Your line ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel doesn't look kosher :wink:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcaulfield57
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Mar 2012
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 2:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've changed a few things around in the wpa_supplicant.conf and now I get the following upon issuing the command wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code:

Trying to associate with 00:1c:10:40:5c:58 (SSID='my_network' freq=2437 MHz)
ioctl[SIOCSIWFREQ]: Device or resource busy
Association request to the driver failed
Associated with 00:1c:10:40:5c:58
WPA: 4-Way Handshake failed - pre-shared key may be incorrect
CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED bssid=00:1c:10:40:5c:58 reason=0  :?

Thanks for the help in the previous thread too :) Don't know why this has to be so difficult, I know this adapter works.
_________________
"To design the perfect anti-Unix, make all file formats binary and opaque, and require heavyweight tools to read and edit them." - The Art of Unix Programming
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcaulfield57,

This WPA: 4-Way Handshake failed - pre-shared key may be incorrect message looks like the SSID you're using doesn't match the router :?

Is my-ssid the name entered in the router's WPA Shared Key field :?:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcaulfield57
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Mar 2012
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillWho wrote:
hcaulfield57,

This WPA: 4-Way Handshake failed - pre-shared key may be incorrect message looks like the SSID you're using doesn't match the router :?

Is my-ssid the name entered in the router's WPA Shared Key field :?:

Sorry the name 'my_network' was just for example, not the actual name of the network. conf looks like this now
Code:

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
update_config=1

network={
   ssid="my_network"
   scan_ssid=1
   key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
   #psk="my_password"
   psk=hex_key # provided by wpa_passphrase
   proto=WPA
   group=TKIP
}

Tried switching around the ctrl_interface line like you suggested, but to no avail. With this setup I still get the same error as I indicated last post.

iwlist wlan0 scan gives me:
Code:

Cell 02 - Address: 00:1C:10:40:5C:58
                    Channel:6
                    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                    Quality=70/70  Signal level=-35 dBm 
                    Encryption key:on
                    ESSID:"my_network"
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
                              24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                    Bit Rates:6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
                    Mode:Master
                    Extra:tsf=00000025bc32ff1c
                    Extra: Last beacon: 58ms ago
                    IE: Unknown: 00066D617468636B
                    IE: Unknown: 010882848B962430486C
                    IE: Unknown: 030106
                    IE: Unknown: 2A0104
                    IE: Unknown: 2F0104
                    IE: Unknown: 32040C121860
                    IE: Unknown: DD09001018020015000000
                    IE: WPA Version 1
                        Group Cipher : TKIP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK

Thanks for bearing with me, networking (like I said) is not really my thing.
_________________
"To design the perfect anti-Unix, make all file formats binary and opaque, and require heavyweight tools to read and edit them." - The Art of Unix Programming
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcaulfield57

I kinda figured my-ssid was just a placeholder - just wanted to make sure the router's key matched whatever you're actually using.

One thing I don't see in your scan is: IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1

Check for these .config settings:
Code:
laptop linux # awk '/802/{if ($1 != "#") print}' /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_CFG80211=m
CONFIG_CFG80211_DEFAULT_PS=y
CONFIG_CFG80211_WEXT=y
CONFIG_MAC80211=m
CONFIG_MAC80211_HAS_RC=y
CONFIG_MAC80211_RC_MINSTREL=y
CONFIG_MAC80211_RC_MINSTREL_HT=y
CONFIG_MAC80211_RC_DEFAULT_MINSTREL=y
CONFIG_MAC80211_RC_DEFAULT="minstrel_ht"
CONFIG_MAC80211_LEDS=y

You can see my laptop card (ath9k) using cfg80211
Code:
laptop linux # lsmod|grep ath9k
ath9k                  95355  0
ath9k_common            1881  1 ath9k
ath9k_hw              331655  2 ath9k_common,ath9k
ath                    14954  3 ath9k_common,ath9k,ath9k_hw
mac80211              366097  1 ath9k
cfg80211              168255  3 ath,ath9k,mac80211


You might want to check other dependents for your card too
Code:
laptop linux # modprobe --show-depends ath9k
insmod /lib/modules/3.6.11-gentoo/kernel/net/wireless/cfg80211.ko
insmod /lib/modules/3.6.11-gentoo/kernel/net/mac80211/mac80211.ko
insmod /lib/modules/3.6.11-gentoo/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/ath/ath.ko
insmod /lib/modules/3.6.11-gentoo/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/ath/ath9k/ath9k_hw.ko
insmod /lib/modules/3.6.11-gentoo/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/ath/ath9k/ath9k_common.ko
insmod /lib/modules/3.6.11-gentoo/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/ath/ath9k/ath9k.ko blink=1

_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcaulfield57
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Mar 2012
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillWho wrote:

Check for these .config settings:
Code:
laptop linux # awk '/802/{if ($1 != "#") print}' /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_CFG80211=m
CONFIG_CFG80211_DEFAULT_PS=y
CONFIG_CFG80211_WEXT=y
CONFIG_MAC80211=m
CONFIG_MAC80211_HAS_RC=y
CONFIG_MAC80211_RC_MINSTREL=y
CONFIG_MAC80211_RC_MINSTREL_HT=y
CONFIG_MAC80211_RC_DEFAULT_MINSTREL=y
CONFIG_MAC80211_RC_DEFAULT="minstrel_ht"
CONFIG_MAC80211_LEDS=y

All of those options are compiled into my kernel. I kind of supposed it may have been a driver issue, because I feel it should be working. I don't know, maybe it was not meant to be.
_________________
"To design the perfect anti-Unix, make all file formats binary and opaque, and require heavyweight tools to read and edit them." - The Art of Unix Programming
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcaulfield57
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Mar 2012
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I thought I'd have a go with getting the wifi working on this computer. I finally managed to get things to work. Wifi connection is good, and I don't see any visible problems, other than my wifi dongle literally only works on one USB port on my computer. I know that sounds ridiculous, but I have checked every other port, and it's impossible to get it to work. This is frustrating, because the one that it does work on is in a non optimal location. Here is the relevant information that I can think of.

wpa_supplicant.conf
Code:

ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0

network={
   ssid="<my_ssid>"
   scan_ssid=1
   proto=WPA
   key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
   pairwise=TKIP
   group=TKIP
   psk=<my_hexkey>
}

I can assure you this configuration works flawlessly, when the wifi dongle is plugged into that particular port. If it's plugged into any other port, it just hangs indefinitely on "SCANNING" (as revealed by `wpa_cli status`). It makes no sense to me why the wifi adapter would only work on one USB port.

On other ports, I get a bunch of this with `wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf -dd`
Code:

No suitable network found
Setting scan request: 5 sec 0 usec
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
Scan SSID - hexdump_ascii(len=6):
     6d 61 74 68 63 6b                                 <my_ssid>         
Starting AP scan for specific SSID(s)
Scan requested (ret=0) - scan timeout 30 seconds
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x1003 ([UP])
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'wlan0' added
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b19 len=16
Received 0 bytes of scan results (0 BSSes)
BSS: Start scan result update 5
BSS: Expire BSS 1 due to no match in scan
BSS: Remove id 1 BSSID 00:1c:10:40:5c:58 SSID '<my_ssid>'
New scan results available
Selecting BSS from priority group 0
Try to find WPA-enabled AP
Try to find non-WPA AP
No suitable network found
Setting scan request: 5 sec 0 usec
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
Starting AP scan for wildcard SSID
Scan requested (ret=0) - scan timeout 30 seconds
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x1003 ([UP])
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'wlan0' added
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b19 len=16
Received 0 bytes of scan results (0 BSSes)
BSS: Start scan result update 6
BSS: Expire BSS 2 due to no match in scan
BSS: Remove id 2 BSSID c0:3f:0e:72:e8:84 SSID 'Dillnet'
New scan results available
Selecting BSS from priority group 0
Try to find WPA-enabled AP
Try to find non-WPA AP
No suitable network found
Setting scan request: 5 sec 0 usec
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: startWhen --> 0
EAPOL: disable timer tick
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
Scan SSID - hexdump_ascii(len=6):
     6d 61 74 68 63 6b                                 <my_ssid>         
Starting AP scan for specific SSID(s)
Scan requested (ret=0) - scan timeout 30 seconds
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x1003 ([UP])
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'wlan0' added
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b19 len=16
Received 0 bytes of scan results (0 BSSes)
BSS: Start scan result update 7
New scan results available
Selecting BSS from priority group 0
Try to find WPA-enabled AP
Try to find non-WPA AP
No suitable network found
Setting scan request: 5 sec 0 usec
RX ctrl_iface - hexdump_ascii(len=6):
     53 54 41 54 55 53                                 STATUS         
Starting AP scan for wildcard SSID
Scan requested (ret=0) - scan timeout 30 seconds
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x1003 ([UP])
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'wlan0' added
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b19 len=16
Received 0 bytes of scan results (0 BSSes)
BSS: Start scan result update 8
New scan results available
Selecting BSS from priority group 0
Try to find WPA-enabled AP
Try to find non-WPA AP
No suitable network found
Setting scan request: 5 sec 0 usec
Scan SSID - hexdump_ascii(len=6):
     6d 61 74 68 63 6b                                 <my_ssid>         
Starting AP scan for specific SSID(s)
Scan requested (ret=0) - scan timeout 30 seconds
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x1003 ([UP])
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'wlan0' added
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b19 len=16
Received 0 bytes of scan results (0 BSSes)
BSS: Start scan result update 9
New scan results available
Selecting BSS from priority group 0
Try to find WPA-enabled AP
Try to find non-WPA AP
No suitable network found
Setting scan request: 5 sec 0 usec
^CCTRL-EVENT-TERMINATING - signal 2 received
Removing interface wlan0
No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
State: SCANNING -> DISCONNECTED
wpa_driver_wext_set_operstate: operstate 0->0 (DORMANT)
netlink: Operstate: linkmode=-1, operstate=5
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: External notification - EAP success=0
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
Cancelling scan request
Cancelling authentication timeout
netlink: Operstate: linkmode=0, operstate=6


dmesg has a bunch of this, I don't know if any of it is relevant.
Code:

[  390.282159] rtl8192cu: MAC auto ON okay!
[  390.314873] rtl8192cu: Tx queue select: 0x05
[  390.688113] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
[  415.405801] wlan0: authenticate with 00:1c:10:40:5c:58
[  415.429819] wlan0: send auth to 00:1c:10:40:5c:58 (try 1/3)
[  415.446183] wlan0: authenticated
[  415.446195] rtl8192cu 2-1:1.0 wlan0: disabling HT/VHT due to WEP/TKIP use
[  415.446197] rtl8192cu 2-1:1.0 wlan0: disabling HT as WMM/QoS is not supported by the AP
[  415.446199] rtl8192cu 2-1:1.0 wlan0: disabling VHT as WMM/QoS is not supported by the AP
[  415.446536] wlan0: associate with 00:1c:10:40:5c:58 (try 1/3)
[  415.452677] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:1c:10:40:5c:58 (capab=0x411 status=0 aid=11)
[  415.452808] wlan0: associated
[  415.452816] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready
[  425.447276] wlan0: deauthenticating from 00:1c:10:40:5c:58 by local choice (reason=3)
[  425.456637] cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
[  426.237105] wlan0: authenticate with 00:1c:10:40:5c:58
[  426.260842] wlan0: send auth to 00:1c:10:40:5c:58 (try 1/3)
[  426.460700] wlan0: send auth to 00:1c:10:40:5c:58 (try 2/3)
[  426.661504] wlan0: send auth to 00:1c:10:40:5c:58 (try 3/3)
[  426.722862] wlan0: authenticated
[  426.722874] rtl8192cu 2-1:1.0 wlan0: disabling HT/VHT due to WEP/TKIP use
[  426.722876] rtl8192cu 2-1:1.0 wlan0: disabling HT as WMM/QoS is not supported by the AP
[  426.722877] rtl8192cu 2-1:1.0 wlan0: disabling VHT as WMM/QoS is not supported by the AP
[  426.723444] wlan0: associate with 00:1c:10:40:5c:58 (try 1/3)
[  426.739967] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:1c:10:40:5c:58 (capab=0x411 status=0 aid=11)
[  426.740069] wlan0: associated
[  436.733070] wlan0: deauthenticating from 00:1c:10:40:5c:58 by local choice (reason=3)
[  436.742655] cfg80211: Calling CRDA for country: US
[  437.524020] wlan0: authenticate with 00:1c:10:40:5c:58
[  437.547856] wlan0: send auth to 00:1c:10:40:5c:58 (try 1/3)
[  437.748590] wlan0: send auth to 00:1c:10:40:5c:58 (try 2/3)
[  437.949393] wlan0: send auth to 00:1c:10:40:5c:58 (try 3/3)
[  438.150208] wlan0: authentication with 00:1c:10:40:5c:58 timed out
[  617.275524] rtl8192cu: MAC auto ON okay!
[  617.308238] rtl8192cu: Tx queue select: 0x05
[  617.681352] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
[  656.510183] rtl8192cu: MAC auto ON okay!
[  656.542897] rtl8192cu: Tx queue select: 0x05
[  656.921137] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready


I suppose I can just deal with using the wifi dongle in one port, but it makes no sense to me why it won't work elsewhere. Any help would be much appreciated.
_________________
"To design the perfect anti-Unix, make all file formats binary and opaque, and require heavyweight tools to read and edit them." - The Art of Unix Programming
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 1536

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillWho wrote:
Your line ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel doesn't look kosher

BillWho ... that method of defining the ctrl_interface and group is fine, I'm not sure if this is a recent change but the examples provided in the manpage for 2.0 define it this way.

hcaulfield57 ... as we discussed on #gentoo it has to be some issue with the slot itself, so powersave or USB3 vs USB2. So, more information in that regard might help to narrow down the issue. In may be a good idea to pastebin the output of the following when the card is in one or other slot:

Code:
# ip link set dev wlan0 up
# iw dev wlan0 get power_save
# lsusb -v

... also the following may provide some useful information about the driver
Code:
# modinfo rtl8192cu

As for the wpa_supplicant.conf and the network stanza, your first example used "ap_scan=2" and this was probably the cause of the initial error, you should generally avoid defining it (defaults to "1") unless you know the card requires it.

Looking at the output of the scan the following would be how I would define it:

Code:
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
update_config=1

network={
   ssid="my_network"
   bssid=00:1C:10:40:5C:58
   scan_freq=2437
   scan_ssid=0
   auth_alg=OPEN
   key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
   proto=WPA
   group=TKIP
   pairwise=TKIP
   psk=my_password # if your psk is the maximum char length (63) then don't quote the string.
}

Obviously the stanza is not the issue, but I thought I'd provide it anyhow :P

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcaulfield57
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Mar 2012
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam, thanks for the help previously on #gentoo and here. I've managed to get it working on any USB port on my computer at this point. I'm not sure what I did to fix that. I switched to nl80211 driver per your advice, and I also built the wifi driver as a module. However, the USB wifi adapter doesn't consistently work on every port, sometimes it wants to, other times it doesn't. I think it ultimately comes down to it just being a cheap shoddy wifi adapter. I will take this into consideration next time I buy a new one.

EDIT: It seems like even when I can get it to work, it will continue to work after reboots, but not after full power downs. I'm not sure why. Perhaps it wants to be continually unplugged?
EDIT: I did try the things you suggested, and I didn't notice any difference on various ports, and I can confirm it works on all the ports now, it just doesn't seem to be consistent. I'd still be willing to figure out how I can consistently make it work, but I'm running out of ideas. Maybe suggest another wifi usb?

PS. I finally managed to fix my initramfs after several hours. I will probably learn how to make one once I get some time, so I don't have to rely on genkernel anymore.
_________________
"To design the perfect anti-Unix, make all file formats binary and opaque, and require heavyweight tools to read and edit them." - The Art of Unix Programming
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 1536

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hcaulfield57 wrote:
I've managed to get it working on any USB port on my computer at this point. I'm not sure what I did to fix that. I switched to nl80211 driver per your advice, and I also built the wifi driver as a module. However, the USB wifi adapter doesn't consistently work on every port, sometimes it wants to, other times it doesn't. I think it ultimately comes down to it just being a cheap shoddy wifi adapter. I will take this into consideration next time I buy a new one.

hcaulfield57 ... ok, good ... sort of. As I think I mentioned, I could find no mention of this Asus N-13 in any of the places where I'd normally look, and so you really never know what the specs are and what it expects of the firmware. For your next purchase I'd suggest looking through the list provided here.

hcaulfield57 wrote:
EDIT: It seems like even when I can get it to work, it will continue to work after reboots, but not after full power downs. I'm not sure why. Perhaps it wants to be continually unplugged?

hmmm ... try blacklisting the module (/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf) and loading it via preup()

/etc/conf.d/net.wlan0
Code:
preup() {

if [ -z "$(lsmod | awk '$1 ~/rtl8192cu/')" ] ; then
    modprobe rtl8192cu && sleep 0.5
fi

HTH & best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hcaulfield57
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Mar 2012
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks khayyam, as far as I am concerned everything 'works', even if it is a bit buggy. I'm going to mark this as solved. Thanks for all the help.
_________________
"To design the perfect anti-Unix, make all file formats binary and opaque, and require heavyweight tools to read and edit them." - The Art of Unix Programming
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum