Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Least hassle wireless networking hardware?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
PipesDownUK
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:12 pm    Post subject: Least hassle wireless networking hardware? Reply with quote

Hello,

I recently updated my Gentoo box with new motherboard+CPU. Kernel version has gone from 2.6.x to 3.6.x. I have tried re-using the wireless card which used to work with the ACX111 driver, but the source will no longer compile with the new kernel source. I guess new hardware is the easiest way forward.

I'd be interested in suggestions for what to get for maximum Gentoo compatibility and least hassle in getting it working. I have no knowledge of which chipsets are in which products so actual product recommendation would be most helpful with Vendor and Model number, and with availability in the UK. I'd prefer a PCI or PCIe interface (the motherboard was bought specifically with a PCI slot for the old hardware) as I assume there is more hassle with USB. Having previously selected something that is no longer supported I'd prefer something that is very common and well supported. My current wireless router has a top speed of 54M wirelessly (802.11b and 802.11g) but something supporting more modern standards in addition would be welcome.

What are your suggestions?
_______0
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anything but broadcom. Atheros, zydas, ralink, etc.
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PipesDownUK,

External kernel modules usually end in tears.

Post your lspci or lsusb ... whichever shows the device. There just may be a kernel driver.

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups