ssd dual boot question
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
blain3
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:55 am    Post subject: ssd dual boot question Reply with quote

I Just bought an Intel 520 series SSD to stick into one of my 2 HD bays on my laptop. Its running a 3rd Gen i7 and by tomorrow ill have another 8GB of ram to make it a total of 16GB 1600MHZ ram. I'm new to the SSD's and I trust this comunity when it comes to these things. I would also like to dual boot with windows from the SSD for Games and such. Any suggestions? Oh and I'm looking to make compiling faster or is this not the way of SSD's?
jpc22
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 3:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure, compiling on a ssd will indeed be faster than on a regular disk, but will also degrade it faster since ssd have limited write cycles.

The best ssd's available now have about 3 or 5k write cycles.

You could store /usr on your ssd so that you get faster access to source code during compilation and buffer the compilation in a ramdisk since your going to have a decent amount of ram

The above would be faster than your ssd while exhausting write cycles at the rate of one per sync/update instead of many per compilation, thereby making your ssd last longer.

As for games and windows on the ssd along with some linux files, space might be an issue depending on the disk capacity, but you should be fine if you manage what you want to speed up carefully.

You should also consider if the filesystem you put on ssd has journaled access, since they usually keep track of access time which adds a write cycle each time a file is accessed.
mounting with noatime can counter this.