Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can I install grub to /dev/sdb10 ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
waterloo2005
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:15 pm    Post subject: Can I install grub to /dev/sdb10 ? Reply with quote

I use ' grub-install /deb/sdb10 ' to install grub to sdb10 NOT mbr .
My mbr's grub2 is installed with ubuntu .
I use a menu below in mbr's grub2 to load grub of /dev/sdb10 .
Code:
menuentry "sdb10" {
set root=(hd1,10)
chainloader +1
}

At that time I can NOT see the sdb10 grub list , but I still can boot to gentoo on sdb10 .

How to see the grub list screen of gentoo on sdb10 ?
Thanks
_________________
i5-2450M, gnome, amd64
R,Mathematica,Emacs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

waterloo2005.

Why not just add the gentoo entry to ubuntu :?:

In ubuntu you can either use /usr/sbin/grub-mkconfig to update grub.cfg or add the entry to /etc/grub.d/40_custom if the probe doesn't detect gentoo .

There was really no need to install grub in gentoo since ubuntu can handle it :wink:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waterloo2005
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 2:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillWho wrote:
waterloo2005.

Why not just add the gentoo entry to ubuntu :?:

In ubuntu you can either use /usr/sbin/grub-mkconfig to update grub.cfg or add the entry to /etc/grub.d/40_custom if the probe doesn't detect gentoo .

There was really no need to install grub in gentoo since ubuntu can handle it :wink:


But every time I revised gentoo boot info , I have to log into ubuntu to run update-grub .
It is so boring .
_________________
i5-2450M, gnome, amd64
R,Mathematica,Emacs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

waterloo2005,

I boot from lmde so I can empathize with the hassle. You can minimize that by creating a kernel symlink.

Code:
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   78811 Jan  6 00:10 config-3.6.11-gentoo
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root      21 Dec 20 16:39 kernel -> vmlinuz-3.6.11-gentoo
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2013640 Jan  6 00:10 System.map-3.6.11-gentoo
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 3630256 Jan  6 00:10 vmlinuz-3.6.11-gentoo

In grub:
Code:
menuentry "Gentoo linux gentoo-sources (on /dev/sda8)"  {
   insmod part_msdos
   echo   'Setting Linux'
   set root='(hd0,msdos8)'
   echo   'Booting Linux'
   linux /boot/kernel  root=/dev/sda8 rootfstype=ext3 ath9k.blink=1 ro
}


To compile use make && make modules_install && make install

For a new kernel all you have to do is reset the symlink :wink:

I don't know what else you're doing that requires a lot of revisions :?
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waterloo2005
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillWho wrote:
waterloo2005,

I boot from lmde so I can empathize with the hassle. You can minimize that by creating a kernel symlink.

Code:
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   78811 Jan  6 00:10 config-3.6.11-gentoo
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root      21 Dec 20 16:39 kernel -> vmlinuz-3.6.11-gentoo
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2013640 Jan  6 00:10 System.map-3.6.11-gentoo
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 3630256 Jan  6 00:10 vmlinuz-3.6.11-gentoo

In grub:
Code:
menuentry "Gentoo linux gentoo-sources (on /dev/sda8)"  {
   insmod part_msdos
   echo   'Setting Linux'
   set root='(hd0,msdos8)'
   echo   'Booting Linux'
   linux /boot/kernel  root=/dev/sda8 rootfstype=ext3 ath9k.blink=1 ro
}


To compile use make && make modules_install && make install

For a new kernel all you have to do is reset the symlink :wink:

I don't know what else you're doing that requires a lot of revisions :?


Thanks . Good advices.
_________________
i5-2450M, gnome, amd64
R,Mathematica,Emacs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waterloo2005
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 4:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillWho wrote:
waterloo2005,

I boot from lmde so I can empathize with the hassle. You can minimize that by creating a kernel symlink.

Code:
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   78811 Jan  6 00:10 config-3.6.11-gentoo
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root      21 Dec 20 16:39 kernel -> vmlinuz-3.6.11-gentoo
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2013640 Jan  6 00:10 System.map-3.6.11-gentoo
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 3630256 Jan  6 00:10 vmlinuz-3.6.11-gentoo

In grub:
Code:
menuentry "Gentoo linux gentoo-sources (on /dev/sda8)"  {
   insmod part_msdos
   echo   'Setting Linux'
   set root='(hd0,msdos8)'
   echo   'Booting Linux'
   linux /boot/kernel  root=/dev/sda8 rootfstype=ext3 ath9k.blink=1 ro
}


To compile use make && make modules_install && make install

For a new kernel all you have to do is reset the symlink :wink:

I don't know what else you're doing that requires a lot of revisions :?


Thanks . Good advices.
_________________
i5-2450M, gnome, amd64
R,Mathematica,Emacs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trueriver
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Location: Manchester, England

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:31 pm    Post subject: making Gentoo the default in an Ubuntu boot menu Reply with quote

Thanks waterloo2005 and BillWho, for asking/answering my question before I even asked it :wink:
BillWho wrote:

In ubuntu you can ... add the entry to /etc/grub.d/40_custom if the probe doesn't detect gentoo .


If like me, you want the gentoo entry to appear first, cp 40_custom 07_custom and then modify that to offer the gentoo symlinked kernel. The sections appear in numerical order, so gentoo now jumps the queue. It may or may not also appear lower down, depending on the probe.

Setting gentoo as the default boot option in the Ubuntu boot menu

Once 07_custom is working, you may find the side effect was to set gentoo to be the default, because it is now always the top entry in the menu. Indeed, if you never changed the Ubuntu defaults, this is likely to happen as soon as you use the 07_custom entries.

To alter the defaults, edit /etc/default/grub, changing the following entries to suit your needs (these are my preferences). The menu entries are numbered from zero.

GRUB_DEFAULT=0
GRUB_TIMEOUT=5

Then, to make that effective, in an Ubuntu terminal or console

sudo update-grub

It is harder to set Gentoo as the default using the 40_custom entry, as you do not know exactly how many items will be in the menu above. And anyway, doesn't Gentoo belong at the top :-)

Regards,
River~~

edit for clarity
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum