Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cannot setup wireless with Broadcom STA (need help!)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ColinMc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 4:15 pm    Post subject: Cannot setup wireless with Broadcom STA (need help!) Reply with quote

I just finished my install of Gentoo yesterday. I have spent over 12 hours trying to get wireless up and running. I configured the kernel to properly install the wl module and renamed eth1 to wlan0 using the udev rules. My problem is when I use

Code:
iwconfig


it returns my wireless connection fine but it does not associate an IP address or Subnet Mask or anything.

Code:
wlan0 IEEE 802.11abg ESSID:off/any
                    Mode:Managed Access Point: Not-Associated Tx -Power = 200dBm
                    Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
                    Encryption key:off
                    Power Management:off


My /etc/conf.d/net file:

Code:
config_eth0="dhcp"
          modules=("wpa_supplicant")
          config_wlan0=("dhcp")
          wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dbroadcom"


My /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf file:

Code:
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
          ctrl_interface_group=wheel
          ap_scan=0
          network={
              ssid="foo"
              scan_ssid=1
              proto=RSN
              pairwise=CCMP
              key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
              psk="password"
              priority=5
          }


Forgot to mention, I am using kernel version 3.6.11

Edit: Here is what is displayed for my Network Controller.

Code:

0c:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM43228 802.11a/b/g/n
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 850c
        Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
        Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
        Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 64 bytes
        Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 19
        Region 0: Memory at f7100000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
        Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
                Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0+,D1-,D2-,D3hot+,D3cold+)
                Status: D0 NoSoftRst+ PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=2 PME-
        Capabilities: [58] Vendor Specific Information: Len=78 <?>
        Capabilities: [48] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
                Address: 0000000000000000  Data: 0000
        Capabilities: [d0] Express (v1) Endpoint, MSI 00
                DevCap: MaxPayload 128 bytes, PhantFunc 0, Latency L0s <4us, L1 unlimited
                        ExtTag+ AttnBtn- AttnInd- PwrInd- RBE+ FLReset-
                DevCtl: Report errors: Correctable- Non-Fatal- Fatal- Unsupported-
                        RlxdOrd- ExtTag- PhantFunc- AuxPwr- NoSnoop-
                        MaxPayload 128 bytes, MaxReadReq 128 bytes
                DevSta: CorrErr- UncorrErr- FatalErr- UnsuppReq- AuxPwr+ TransPend-
                LnkCap: Port #0, Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x1, ASPM L1, Latency L0 <4us, L1 <64us
                        ClockPM+ Surprise- LLActRep+ BwNot-
                LnkCtl: ASPM Disabled; RCB 64 bytes Disabled- Retrain- CommClk-
                        ExtSynch- ClockPM- AutWidDis- BWInt- AutBWInt-
                LnkSta: Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x1, TrErr- Train- SlotClk+ DLActive+ BWMgmt- ABWMgmt-
        Capabilities: [100 v1] Advanced Error Reporting
                UESta:  DLP- SDES- TLP- FCP- CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF- MalfTLP- ECRC- UnsupReq- ACSViol-
                UEMsk:  DLP- SDES- TLP- FCP- CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF- MalfTLP- ECRC- UnsupReq- ACSViol-
                UESvrt: DLP+ SDES- TLP- FCP+ CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF+ MalfTLP+ ECRC- UnsupReq- ACSViol-
                CESta:  RxErr- BadTLP- BadDLLP- Rollover- Timeout- NonFatalErr-
                CEMsk:  RxErr- BadTLP- BadDLLP- Rollover- Timeout- NonFatalErr+
                AERCap: First Error Pointer: 00, GenCap+ CGenEn- ChkCap+ ChkEn-
        Capabilities: [13c v1] Virtual Channel
                Caps:   LPEVC=0 RefClk=100ns PATEntryBits=1
                Arb:    Fixed- WRR32- WRR64- WRR128-
                Ctrl:   ArbSelect=Fixed
                Status: InProgress-
                VC0:    Caps:   PATOffset=00 MaxTimeSlots=1 RejSnoopTrans-
                        Arb:    Fixed- WRR32- WRR64- WRR128- TWRR128- WRR256-
                        Ctrl:   Enable+ ID=0 ArbSelect=Fixed TC/VC=01
                        Status: NegoPending- InProgress-
        Capabilities: [160 v1] Device Serial Number 00-00-c9-ff-ff-9f-94-db
        Capabilities: [16c v1] Power Budgeting <?>
        Kernel driver in use: wl
        Kernel modules: wl


Last edited by ColinMc on Thu Dec 27, 2012 9:58 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2633
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't use -Dbroadcom, use -Dwext. Where did you read -Dbroadcom anyway?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColinMc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
Don't use -Dbroadcom, use -Dwext. Where did you read -Dbroadcom anyway?


Shows it in the man page for drivers. I tried -Dwext no difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2633
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What exactly does "no difference" mean? Without info, no one here can provide help.

Connect on the commandline instead of using the /etc/init.d/ script. By that I mean run wpa_supplicant directly. Don't use the background switch and use the debug switch. This will tell you what exactly goes on. If wpa_supplicant manages to connect, start a dhcp client in a different terminal. Also, before you even start, check dmesg to see if the wl driver even loaded correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColinMc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
What exactly does "no difference" mean? Without info, no one here can provide help.

Connect on the commandline instead of using the /etc/init.d/ script. By that I mean run wpa_supplicant directly. Don't use the background switch and use the debug switch. This will tell you what exactly goes on. If wpa_supplicant manages to connect, start a dhcp client in a different terminal. Also, before you even start, check dmesg to see if the wl driver even loaded correctly.


In dmesg for eth1 which I have identified as wireless shows this:

Code:
eth1: Broadcom BCM4359 802.11 Hybrid Wireless Controller 5.100.82.112
          e1000e 0000:00:19.0: eth1: (PCI Express:2.5GT/s:Width x1) c8:60:00:a4:9f:33
          e1000e 0000:00:19.0: eth1: Intel(R) PRO/1000 Network Connection
          e1000e 0000:00:19.0: eth1: MAC: 10, PHY 11, PBA No: FFFFFF-0FF


Why does it say Broadcom BCM4359 when using lspci it is BCM43228?

running wpa_supplicant from command line:

Code:
wpa_supplicant -dd -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf -iwlan0

Initializing interface 'wlan0' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'default' ctrl_interface 'N/A' bridge 'N/A'
Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
ctrl_interface_group='wheel'
ap_scan=0
Line: 10 - start of a new network block
ssid - hexdump_ascii(len=3):
      4d 43 51 48 4f 4d 45           foo
scan_ssid=1 (0x1)
proto: 0x2
pairwise: 0x10
key_mgmt: 0x2
PSK (ASCII passphrase) - hexdump_ascii(len=3): [REMOVED]
priority=5 (0x5)
PSK (from passphrase) - hexdump(len=32): [REMOVED]
Priority group 5
   id = 0 ssid='foo'
WEXT: cfg80211-based driver detected
SIOCGIWRANGE: WE(compiled)=22 WE(source)=21 enc_capa=0xf
  capabilities: key_mgmt 0xf enc 0xf flags 0x0
netlink: Operstate: linkmode=1, operstate=5
Own MAC address: 94:db:c9:9f:4c:49
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=0 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=1 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=2 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=3 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
RSN: flushing PMKID list in the driver
Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
ctrl_interface_group=10 (from group name 'wheel')
Added interface wlan0
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x11043 ([UP][RUNNING][LOWER_UP])
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: interface 'wlan0' added
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x11043 ([UP][RUNNING][LOWER_UP])
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: interface 'wlan0' added
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b06 len=12
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x11043 ([UP][RUNNING][LOWER_UP])
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: interface 'wlan0' added
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b1a len=16
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x11003 ([UP][LOWER_UP])
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: interface 'wlan0' added
EAPOL: disable timer tick
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized


Still shows the same information for wlan0 as the beginning of the post for iwconfig.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColinMc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am wondering after installing the wl module from Broadcom-STA is there any firmware I need to install to get wireless working? I am completely stumped on where to go now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2633
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The firmware is already part of the wl driver, no need to install it separately.

That wpa_supplicant output looks incomplete. Is that really all? There's not even an attempt at connecting. You didn't add -Dwext to the commandline, do things change if you do? Post your kernel config, but not directly here, use pastebin please.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColinMc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
The firmware is already part of the wl driver, no need to install it separately.

That wpa_supplicant output looks incomplete. Is that really all? There's not even an attempt at connecting. You didn't add -Dwext to the commandline, do things change if you do? Post your kernel config, but not directly here, use pastebin please.


Adding -Dwext to the commandline made no changes. When posting kernel config on pastebin, do you want me to post the whole config file or specific portions?

Here is the whole file for the kernel configurations:
http://pastebin.com/wSJZzJGt

Just for the sake of it my router is Linksys WRT54G.

Edit: Also adding to wpa_supplicant ap_scan=1 causes a segmentation fault.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColinMc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:21 am    Post subject: Got wireless working!!! :D Reply with quote

So I was able to get my wireless working by creating a local overlay following this url:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-827407-start-0.html

Got the ebuild and patches for broadcom-sta from this site:
http://data.gpo.zugaina.org/dustin/net-wireless/broadcom-sta/

Learned the ebuild command to use to build the manifest from this url:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-939648-highlight-broadcom.html

Then I went to the kernel menu and made IEEE 802.11xxxx TKIP, CCMS section a module and modules underneath. Now it shows wlan0 and an IP address that DHCP assigned to me. The only con I have right now is that dhcp does not assign me an ip when loading up Gentoo even after I log in. After I log in it takes a few seconds until I get an IP address. I think it is because I do not have dhcpcd in the default runlevels.

Here is the URL for my kernel configurations:
http://pastebin.com/fy4H0ij7

Thanks to all the people that helped or tried to help me, I appreciate it! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum