Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Finding out if hardware is broke (Linuxs boots, Windows not)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Raniz
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 965
Location: Lund, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 5:44 pm    Post subject: Finding out if hardware is broke (Linuxs boots, Windows not) Reply with quote

I've got a dual-boot setup with Windows 7 and Gentoo.

While I was toying with MSIs custom power profiles in Windows yesterday I noticed that I get a 50% performance boost (in 3DMark 11) if I enable the "gaming" profile so I installed SiSoft Sandra to examine if it did anything special with the clock frequencies of my CPU/GPU.

When I was going to check the CPU info in Sandra the computer froze and I haven't been able to boot Windows in any way since (regular boot, safe mode, boot repair, system repair, MSI recovery, Windows 7 install disk - all hang on the Windows logo (not safe mode, it hangs after loading all .sys files)).

I suspect something is broke, but the weird thing is that my Gentoo install works as usual.

I've got a few MCE errors related to CPU throttling because of temperature, but that shouldn't really be the issue here since the CPUs are throttled.

I tried running memtest86(+), it won't load at boot because it won't fit into RAM, I found a workaround using the .netbsd binary instead but that doesn't work either.

Any ideas to what I can do or how I can find out if anything is broken?
_________________
#312470 @ http://counter.li.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31352
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Raniz,

Lets see. Windows broke when you were running windows but Gentoo (which was not running) is still ok.
It sounds like something happened, possibly due to overclocking, to break windows.

You should never get MCEs due to overheating. That indicates the cooling system is inadequate, needs cleaned or something.
The CPU may make errors before the throttling kicks in, so Windows may have committed suicide.

If you don't have the RAM for memtest86, you can't run Linux or Windows either. That memtest86+ failing to load is odd.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raniz
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 965
Location: Lund, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As for memtest, I found this here on the forums
FAQ wrote:
Note that on some computers this does not work and results in an "Error
28: Selected item cannot fit into memory" reported by grub. The problem
here is that memtest86+ uses the legacy linux loading mechanism which
expects to be loaded at 0x9A000 in memory. On some systems the BIOS uses a
part of the memory closely after this address and correctly reserves it in
the e820 memory map. Grub will then fail to load memtes86+ over this
reserved memory area, which is the correct behaviour. For now there is no
way to circumvent this. The memtes86+ loader should be rewritten to use a
newer loading mechanism, but this will be quite a big task. It is unclear
when this will be realised.


As for Windows breaking because of overheating, that would only ruin my current install, but trying to launch either the recovery partition or a Windows install CD results in the exact same issue - it hangs on the Windows logo.
_________________
#312470 @ http://counter.li.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 480

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you tried to check BIOS settings? May be something wrong here and loading default/failsafe BIOS configuration might helps.
_________________
Intel Core i3-2120 / 4Gb RAM / 250Gb HDD / NVidia GeForce-550Ti
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31352
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Raniz,

With the CPU misbehaving due to overheat, a write address could have become corrupt so windows could have written to any random LBS on your hard drive.
This will trash random stuff (Gentoo is not safe either) but will not harm the CD boot, unless it looks around for an existing install and doesn't like what it finds.

When a CPU makes errors, anything can happen and its usually nasty. If you are really lucky, you get an illegal instruction exception and the CPU halts but as I say, anything can happen.

Start your Gentoo and have a look around your Windows partitions. Does it look OK?
Cut your losses, save your data elsewhere and reinstall windows.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raniz
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 965
Location: Lund, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Cut your losses, save your data elsewhere and reinstall windows.


That's the issue here - I can't.

Neither the Windows install CD nor the MSI Recovery application will start, they both behave exactly the same - hang at the Windows logo without any errors.
_________________
#312470 @ http://counter.li.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4563
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shot in the dark. Bad RAM. Remove a module if you have more than one, then another one.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raniz
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 965
Location: Lund, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I'll try this when I get home (at my brother's place atm). Too bad I can't get memtest running :(
_________________
#312470 @ http://counter.li.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4563
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Who knows, just reseating the RAM may fix it, too.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s_bernstein
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Mar 2006
Posts: 172
Location: Bremen, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:

If you don't have the RAM for memtest86, you can't run Linux or Windows either. That memtest86+ failing to load is odd.


Well, I've got the same problem with 24G RAM. The RAM size is not the issue, but the available memory below 1MB. Also, I've never found a memtest86(+) which will run on an X57 system either, which is a shame.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum