VMWare SCSI Kernel options
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
matop
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 6:15 pm    Post subject: VMWare SCSI Kernel options Reply with quote

I'm new to gentoo and Linux kernel rebuilding, but I've got the bug and am interested in rebuilding my kernel for a VMWare image that is as small and tight as possible. Since I really want it to act like a server and the only real devices I care about are the networking and the disk and basic keyboard, it seems like it should be a really tight small kernel.

I have an x86 host (Windows XP/AMD Athalon64) running VMWare and have walked through the handbook and tried to manually configure the kernel.

I'm always getting an immediate kernel panic though because it can't seem to read sda3. I'm assuming that is because I don't have the correct device driver built into the kernel (not a module). I'm having a harder time figuring out what the right options are that I should select though.

According to lspci I have: SCSCI storage controller: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic 53c1030 PCI-X Fusion-MPT Dual

Sounds reasonable. Now mapping that to the options presented in "make menuconfig" is slightly more daunting. I've selected the various SCSI options, but I must still be missing something.

Is there a pointer to where to track down kernel options to make hardware work? Should I be looking at kernel.org, other guides, any pointers would be much appreciated.

Thanks.
EatMeerkats
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 3:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I remember correctly, you need either CONFIG_FUSION or CONFIG_FUSION_SPI built into your kernel (not as a module). I have both enabled, and I don't remember which one VMWare uses, but you can definitely boot in VMWare with one of these.
s4e8
Guru
Guru