Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
radeon built in causes screen to freak out
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Skyer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 57
Location: Europe

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 5:19 pm    Post subject: radeon built in causes screen to freak out Reply with quote

Hello,
I'm trying to build radeon driver into kernel along with external firmware blobs for my GPU. However, when I attempt to boot the kernel no messages are displayed, instead, there are weird color schemes drawn. I am not sure how to describe this - perhaps the screen freaking out would be a good term. Also, the screen changes - brightness of some parts, color, etc.

If I leave them built in and disable modesetting (by adding radeon.modeset=0 parameter to kernel), kernel works as expected.

If I take the external firmware blobs out, kernel hangs on "Switching to clocksource tsc", but eventually starts. I can also start X server without any problems.
Code:

1.761706] Switching to clocksource tsc
[   61.951571] r600_cp: Failed to load firmware "radeon/JUNIPER_pfp.bin"
[   61.951627] [drm:evergreen_startup] *ERROR* Failed to load firmware!


My GPU has juniper chipset:
Code:

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Juniper XT [AMD Radeon HD 6000 Series]


I also tried to build radeon as module and then install radeon-ucode using emerge, but when I tried to insert the modules into the kernel I got an error message about the modules being incorrect - I'm sorry that I don't remember the exact error message.

Thanks for any help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6256
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge linux-firmware
IMO best way to get firmware on board
built-in is the way to go
boot cd, mount gentoo partitions, enter chroot, nominally:
Code:
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
cp /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf
mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
env-update
source /etc/profile
export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"
then
Code:
emerge pciutils  wgetpaste linux-firmware
lspci -k | wgetpaste
wgetpaste /usr/src/linux/.config
post urls returned here.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
destroyedlolo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jun 2011
Posts: 398
Location: Close to Annecy

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got exactly the same problem on an HP EliteBook 6930p : if I enable Radeon in my kernel, the display is displaying graphical garbages even if the machine is still running (I can ssh to it).

I didn't installed yet X.

In /var/log/messages, I got :
Code:
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [    0.510788] [drm] radeon: 256M of VRAM memory ready
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [    0.510867] [drm] radeon: 512M of GTT memory ready.
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [    0.510946] [drm] Supports vblank timestamp caching Rev 1 (10.10.2010).
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [    0.511041] [drm] Driver supports precise vblank timestamp query.
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [    0.511168] [drm] radeon: irq initialized.
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [    0.511249] [drm] GART: num cpu pages 131072, num gpu pages 131072
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [    0.512398] [drm] Loading RV620 Microcode
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [    0.553579] ACPI: Deprecated procfs I/F for battery is loaded, please retry with CONFIG_ACPI_PROCFS_POWER cleared
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [    0.553699] ACPI: Battery Slot [BAT0] (battery present)
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [    0.553828] ACPI: Deprecated procfs I/F for battery is loaded, please retry with CONFIG_ACPI_PROCFS_POWER cleared
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [    0.553945] ACPI: Battery Slot [BAT1] (battery absent)
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.896082] r600_cp: Failed to load firmware "radeon/R600_rlc.bin"
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.896164] [drm:r600_startup] *ERROR* Failed to load firmware!
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.896245] radeon 0000:01:00.0: disabling GPU acceleration
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.897336] radeon 0000:01:00.0: f65c1800 unpin not necessary
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.897442] radeon 0000:01:00.0: f65c1600 unpin not necessary
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.897523] radeon 0000:01:00.0: f65c1600 unpin not necessary
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.897996] [drm] Radeon Display Connectors
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.898080] [drm] Connector 0:
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.898157] [drm]   LVDS-1
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.898234] [drm]   Encoders:
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.898311] [drm]     LCD1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_LVTMA
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.898389] [drm] Connector 1:
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.898466] [drm]   VGA-1
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.898543] [drm]   DDC: 0x7e40 0x7e40 0x7e44 0x7e44 0x7e48 0x7e48 0x7e4c 0x7e4c
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.898653] [drm]   Encoders:
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.898730] [drm]     CRT1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.898808] [drm] Connector 2:
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.898885] [drm]   DVI-D-1
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.898962] [drm]   HPD1
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.899038] [drm]   DDC: 0x7e60 0x7e60 0x7e64 0x7e64 0x7e68 0x7e68 0x7e6c 0x7e6c
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.899147] [drm]   Encoders:
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.899224] [drm]     DFP1: INTERNAL_UNIPHY
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.899334] [drm] radeon: power management initialized
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   61.843272] [drm] fb mappable at 0x80040000
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   61.843351] [drm] vram apper at 0x80000000
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   61.843429] [drm] size 4096000
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   61.843505] [drm] fb depth is 24
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   61.843582] [drm]    pitch is 5120
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   61.843707] fbcon: radeondrmfb (fb0) is primary device
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   62.080022] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 160x50
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   62.082355] fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   62.082382] drm: registered panic notifier
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   62.082407] [drm] Initialized radeon 2.18.0 20080528 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 0
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   62.083950] brd: module loaded
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   62.084751] loop: module loaded


Additionnal information : lspci, kernel config and messages


Please note : this machine in its early installation stage (as I'm blocked and investigating this graphical problem, so the kernel is not as optimized as it should be :wink: )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31370
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

destroyedlolo,

Code:
Dec  2 01:20:57 dual kernel: [   60.896082] r600_cp: Failed to load firmware "radeon/R600_rlc.bin"

You need that firmware file too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6256
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@destroyedlolo

refer to http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/xorg-config.xml

Quote:
# CONFIG_FIRMWARE_IN_KERNEL is not set
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE=""
reveals that building the firmware into the kernel is not in the kernel configuration.

boot the cd, mount the gentoo partitions, enter the chroot, nominally:

Code:
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
cp /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf
mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
env-update
source /etc/profile
export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"
emerge linux-firmware
cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig
edit menucnfig to
Quote:
Device Drivers --->
Generic Driver Options --->
(/sbin/hotplug) path to uevent helper
[*] Maintain a devtmpfs filesystem to mount at /dev
[*] Automount devtmpfs at /dev, after the kernel mounted the ro
[*] Select only drivers that don't need compile-time external fir
[*] Prevent firmware from being built
-*- Userspace firmware loading support
[*] Include in-kernel firmware blobs in kernel binary
(radeon/R600_rlc.bin) External firmware blobs to build into the kernel
(/lib/firmware) Firmware blobs root directory

Graphics support --->
<*> Support for frame buffer devices --->
[ ] VESA VGA graphics support (NEW)


Having vesa_fb will interfere with kms

Are you sure you don't want [*] Laptop Hybrid Graphics - GPU switching support ? As I avoid laptrops and especially hybrid graphicss laptops ... https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-833166-start-0.html
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
destroyedlolo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jun 2011
Posts: 398
Location: Close to Annecy

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks DONAHUE, it's working.

FYI, as my system was still running, I was able to do the change w/o using the liveCD but thru ssh.

Thanks again.

Bye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skyer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 57
Location: Europe

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For those who might experience similar problem - I'm not sure what's the cause, but I found a partial way to solve this.

I've noticed 'the weird stuff on screen' never occurs if I keep my monitor shut down during system boot. Also, it disappears if I reboot the monitor. I don't really know
why this happens, but it seems to work. I've checked my cables twice, and it has never happened to me with different kernels.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum