Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
x 1.13 update breaks TwinView config
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MikeSummers
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 38
Location: Kansas City

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:40 am    Post subject: x 1.13 update breaks TwinView config Reply with quote

emerge upgraded me to X 1.13 today and now my TwinView configuration is broken.

Rather than two desktops that I can move windows across (full sizing a window only fills one monitor) I have one large desktop split across both screens and centered between the two. Full-sizing a window spans the two monitors.

I'm using nvidia-drivers-173.14.36 and the xinerama use flag is set in make.conf

This is the xorg.conf that worked prior to the upgrade:
Code:

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder63)  Wed Sep 29 10:19:47 PDT 2010


Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from data in "/etc/conf.d/gpm"
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Module"
   Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 110.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 150.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    Option      "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT,CRT"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "on"
    Option         "TwinViewOrientation" "LeftOf"
    Option         "MetaModes" "1680x1050, 1920x1080"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-1, CRT-0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection


Any suggestions short of a new video card?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fhaddad78
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 May 2012
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm on a different driver than you (304.94), still nvidia, and I'm getting segmentation faults when shutting down X. I'm still trying to troubleshoot it, but in regard to your question, have you tried creating a new xorg.conf file? I'm also using dual monitors, you can try my layout as a guide.

# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 295.71 (buildmeister@swio-display-x86-rhel47-04.nvidia.com) Thu Aug 2 20:28:10 PDT 2012

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "DELL 2007FP"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce GTX 560 Ti"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "1"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
Option "metamodes" "DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, DFP-2: nvidia-auto-select +1600+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
travlr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 158
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all.

I just thought I'd chime in and report the same problem of multi-monitor display breaking since the last emerge -avuD world. My driver and xorg.conf is the same as MikeSummers. I am only now starting to investigate and will report back here with any progress I make.


Code:

glacier ~ # xrandr -q
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 2048 x 768, current 2732 x 768, maximum 2732 x 768
default connected 2732x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   2732x768       50.0*
   2048x768       51.0 



Code:

glacier ~ # cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Default Layout"
    Screen         "Default Screen" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Generic Keyboard"
    InputDevice    "Configured Mouse"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option      "AllowEmptyInput"       "false"
    Option      "AIGLX"                 "off"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Generic Keyboard"
    Driver         "kbd"
    Option         "CoreKeyboard"
    Option         "XkbRules" "xorg"
    Option         "XkbModel" "pc104"
    Option         "XkbLayout" "us"
    Option         "XkbOptions" "lv3:ralt_switch"
    Option         "XkbOptions" "terminate:ctrl_alt_bksp"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Configured Mouse"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "CorePointer"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
EndSection                                             

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier      "dell"
    Option          "DPMS"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 83.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 75.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "NVIDIA Corporation NV37GL [Quadro FX 330]"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    Option         "ModeValidation" "NoWidthAlignmentCheck, NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Default Screen"
    Device         "NVIDIA Corporation NV37GL [Quadro FX 330]"
    Monitor        "dell"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "True"
    Option         "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
    #Option        "UseEdidFreqs" "True"
    #Option         "ModeValidation" "NoExtendedGPUCapabilitiesCheck"     # ACTUALLY, DID NOT TRY YET
    Option         "MetaModes" "1366x768,1366x768; 1024x768, 1024x768"
#    SubSection     "Display"
#        Depth       16
#        Modes      "1366x768" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
#    EndSubSection
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes      "1366x768" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
EndSection



_________________
ProDataLab.com -- A Focus On Efficiency
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MikeSummers
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 38
Location: Kansas City

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So far I've tried a number of nvidia-xconfig combinations without success, I can't keep the window manager (openbox) from spreading the windows across both monitors or centering tint in the middle of the two.

xrandr shows only one large "display" fwiw.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
travlr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 158
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I decided to try to quick fix the issue until the broken-ness has passed... mask >=xorg-server-1.13. Surprisingly, only the xorg-server itself needed to be re-emerged on a emerge -avuD world (no blocking). I'm a guessin that this might possibly break on re-boot... building right now will report back after re-boot.
_________________
ProDataLab.com -- A Focus On Efficiency
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MikeSummers
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 38
Location: Kansas City

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, let me know how that goes... that was my next step.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
travlr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 158
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 12:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On re-boot, I got the kdm and no input devices worked, so I re-installed 1.13. But, I noticed the emerge messages this time and realized that I should have rebuilt any X11 modules and also that it was recommended to include the 'keymap' use flag for my udev install.. so now I'm going to try the same mask again and see if it works this time without needing to mask all the other newly installed X11 dependencies. ahl b bach ;-) ... in a few minutes or so.
_________________
ProDataLab.com -- A Focus On Efficiency
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
travlr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 158
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, It seems to have worked this time.. no need to mask all of the newly installed xorg-server dependencies, etc.

So, here is what I did

  • Enabled 'keymap' use flag for sys-fs/udev (this might not have been necessary, but it seems that no harm no foul).
  • echo ">=x11-base/xorg-server-1.13" >> /etc/portage/package.mask
  • emerge -av xorg-server
  • emerge -av @x11-module-rebuild

And so far so good.
_________________
ProDataLab.com -- A Focus On Efficiency
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MikeSummers
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 38
Location: Kansas City

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect, everything is back as it should be :-)

Thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum