Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Trying to install Virtualbox in headless
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mattg889
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:38 am    Post subject: Trying to install Virtualbox in headless Reply with quote

Hi,
First I would like to apologize in advance, I am still new to Gentoo so I would like some extra explanation whenever possible. :)
To the topic, I have installed minimal Gentoo on my server and I want to install virtualbox in headless mode. I have had it installed before and it worked fine, but I broke my Gentoo install so I reinstalled and started from scratch. But now I can't seem to install virtualbox with the headless use flag. The following is my use flag settings for virtualbox in my make.conf :
Code:
app-emulation/virtualbox-bin headless rdesktop-vrdp vboxwebsrv python -qt4 -pulseaudio -sdk -additions -alsa


and when I try to install virtualbox with
Code:
emerge -avp app-emulation/virtualbox-bin


it says this:
"/etc/portage/make.conf", line 16: Invalid token 'headless' (not '=')


So just doing some troubleshooting I changed my use flag to simply:
Code:
app-emulation/virtualbox-bin -qt4


and it says this:
"/etc/portage/make.conf", line 18: Invalid token '-qt4' (not '=')

Maybe its as simple as a syntax error on my part, but everything I have done was from the same website I used the last time I installed it, but now it doesn't work. The main site I am using as a guide is http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/VirtualBox

Please help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome!

Code:
app-emulation/virtualbox-bin headless rdesktop-vrdp vboxwebsrv python -qt4 -pulseaudio -sdk -additions -alsa


This is not valid for make.conf, you have to put it into /etc/portage/package.use/app-emulation
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattg889
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you! That was it. Virtualbox is emerging as I type this.
I figured it was something obvious and simple. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bookmark it now. :)
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattg889
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2012 8:42 pm    Post subject: New problems Reply with quote

Hi, sorry its been a bit, I got sidtracked by work. I was able to install virtualbox in headless and it let me create and configure a machine, but I have run into a new problem now. It figure it still fits in this thread.
When I type the following command to start the vm "vs01":
Code:
VBoxManage startvm "vs01" --type headless


I get the following output and the vm does not start:
Code:
Waiting for VM "vs01" to power on...
VBoxManage: error: Failed to open/create the internal network 'HostInterfaceNetworking-eth0' (VERR_SUPDRV_COMPONENT_NOT_FOUND).
VBoxManage: error: One of the kernel modules was not successfully loaded. Make sure that no kernel modules from an older version of VirtualBox exist. Then try to recompile and reload the kernel modules by executing '/etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup' as root (VERR_SUPDRV_COMPONENT_NOT_FOUND)
VBoxManage: error: Details: code NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005), component Console, interface IConsole


I did add the kernel modules to the kernel that the guide in my previous post stated to add.
I did try the command that the error code suggests which was:
Code:
/etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup

and I get this:
Code:
-bash: /etc/init.d/vboxdrv: No such file or directory

I installed and added vboxdrv to the startup as the guide also stated to do. I am at a loss here, does anyone know what the problem may be?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MacGyver031
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Jul 2004
Posts: 141
Location: Ilavalai, Sri Lanka

PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2012 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi mattg889,
Could you answer the follwoing question?

Are these packages installed? Which version?
app-emulation/virtualbox
app-emulation/virtualbox-additions
app-emulation/virtualbox-extpack-oracle
app-emulation/virtualbox-modules

It is important to have virualbox-modules installed and the following modules loaded:
vboxnetadp 17254 0
vboxnetflt 13773 0
vboxdrv 1771198 2 vboxnetadp,vboxnetflt

BR.
_________________
Sincerely your
Joanand K.

MacBook Pro 5.1: 2.4GHz Core2 Duo, 4096MB, 500GB, NVidia 9400/9600 M GT
Gentoo, Kernel 3.4.9, XOrg, Fluxbox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattg889
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2012 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

removed

Last edited by mattg889 on Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:12 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattg889
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2012 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I did "emerge -p app-emulation/virtualbox and it had virtualbox-bin as a conflict, then I remembered, I installed app-emulation/virtualbox-bin , version 4.2.2 because it had remote desktop.

I am trying to install virtualbox in headless mode so I do not need the additions and extensions
I thought the modules one was not installed, but see next post.


Last edited by mattg889 on Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:21 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattg889
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2012 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is something wrong here. Is emerge -p supposed to show what is currently installed?

I just did "emerge app-emulation/virtualbox-bin" and it re emerged it, and it does it again and again if I run the command. It is installed... I thought it will stop, saying current version is installed. Perhaps the modules one was already installed as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattg889
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:56 am    Post subject: I think I got it fixed. Reply with quote

I can not be 100% sure what I did that fixed it, because I lost track of how many things I tried, but the last thing I did was enter the command "emerge -q1 virtualbox-modules" and then I rebooted my server and now my virtual machine vs01 started with no problems.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 3919
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Welcome!

Code:
app-emulation/virtualbox-bin headless rdesktop-vrdp vboxwebsrv python -qt4 -pulseaudio -sdk -additions -alsa


This is not valid for make.conf, you have to put it into /etc/portage/package.use/app-emulation
Just like to comment, that every file name under /etc/portage/package.use/ is sufficient.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattg889
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, I have a new problem. If you were following my other thread you know I got a new server. I am again installing Virtualbox on it. I have Virtualbox installed, but I need to know a couple things.
First is http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki down? Last time when I was installing Virtualbox I was using http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/VirtualBox as a guide, but it will not load for me now.
I need to know what kernel modules I have to add to my kernel for Virtualbox?
And I need to know what group I need to make my user a part of in order to run VBoxManage?

Next thing I want to do once I know its all working is install phpvirtualbox...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5909

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

please open a new thread instead of ressurection old ones.

vb is supported in by gentoo and this thread (or future threads matter to the fact) regrading it should go to another sub-forum
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

toralf wrote:
Quote:
This is not valid for make.conf, you have to put it into /etc/portage/package.use/app-emulation
Just like to comment, that every file name under /etc/portage/package.use/ is sufficient.

And so is just an /etc/portage/package.use file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattg889
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I will start a new thread, I didn't realize that this one was over 6 months old. haha. In my mind I was just trying to keep it all together.

The new thread for this topic:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-7331522.html#7331522
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum