View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
kevin22
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 7:27 am    Post subject: [Newbie] Gnome3 from ~arch - USE flags? Reply with quote

Hello
I'm very new to Gentoo and I would like to get gnome3, as I really love it, even though it's only in ~arch and not very stable yet.

The problem is, I don't really know how and I can't find any informations about it which are not for users, which already know Gentoo quite well.

What I did so far:

-ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64"
-eselect profile set 4
-emerge -e world

Now, I wanted to emerge gnome-base/gnome (I hope it's right?), but he tells me he needs some USE Flags (mesa-9.0 xa and libkms for libdrm)

Can anyone help me?
Thanks a lot!
The Doctor

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, but we will need more information.

Would I be correct in assuming that you set ACCEPT_KEYWORDS in make.conf and that profile 4 is desktop/gnome?
The emerge -e world was a bit excessive. emerge -uND world would have updated the important packages, but emerge -e should have done the trick as well.

As for the errors you are getting with emerge, you'll need to post them. If you have X working you can simply post it. If you do not have X working yet because you are waiting for gnome3, then emerge wgetpaste and then run emerge -pv gnome | wgetpaste and post the URL that is returned. You may also want to consult the Handbook's section on use flags.

Also, the gnome includes everything gnome. There is another meta package gnome-light which includes a slightly smaller number of packages. Either one is fine.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
kevin22
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi The Doctor,