View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bjorntj
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 11:56 am    Post subject: How stable is Gentoo now? Reply with quote

I used to run Gentoo but the last couple of years I have mainly been running Fedora... The reason I went away from Gentoo, was that the emerge updates too often broke my system in some way... So I am thinking about trying Gentoo again and was wondering things are kind of stable and minimal of system breakage?

Regards,

BTJ
"It's even worse than that; play it forwards and it installs Windows"

Last edited by bjorntj on Fri May 06, 2011 12:46 pm; edited 1 time in total
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I have been running a Gentoo testing box for a couple of years and I must say that it's pretty stable even on the testing arch.

You should retry :P
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been running Gentoo as my primary OS since 2002. I've done this because I decided a long time ago to eschew binary distros, and Gentoo is a well-functioning option: configuration and installation behave as I would expect, and when things break I can fix them. Whether or not particular applications or drivers work is partly due to the Gentoo maintainer, but mostly due to upstream. You can choose to run software declared stable (as I do), or be a bit more adventurous by using ebuilds in testing.

If you define stability differently, e.g. everything works out of the box, no questions asked, there may be better options: FreeBSD/OpenBSD stable, Debian stable, etc.
bjorntj
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote