View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
kbzium
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 2:30 pm    Post subject: High resource consumtion? Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm quite new to Gentoo so I don't really know if some matters should concern me or not. I've noticed that my system is using ~3-4% in absolute idle, ~20% (!!!) with music player on and sometimes xinitrc takes up to 100% of one logical cores! (1 of 8)

Here's sample top:
[IMG]http://i49.tinypic.com/m8d086.png[/IMG]

Is it normal?

My spec:
i72600
audigy 2zs gold
^marcs
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think 3-4% in kde while idle is pretty normal, especially if You have nepomuk enabled it might spike while it is indexing.
As for playback it shouldn;t take 14% of i7, audacious is pretty lightweight, maybe something wrong about it, buggy plugin or something, maybe should try another player?
Playing mp3?
kbzium
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah mp3. The problem is that I acctually have used multiple other players - all of them are laggy and comsume high amount of resources. I think that since i have audigy 2 zs, my CPU should't be burdened when playing music... that's how it is in other oses. I'm missing something.

As for nepomuk. This is file indexer, isn't it? How to disable it safely? I don't need any of those since i have SSD and I don't search much anyway.
^marcs
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can disable nepomuk in "Desktop Search" applet in KDE System Settings - but it's a long shot.