Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] force install from portage tree instead of overlay
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
emc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2004
Posts: 552
Location: Cracow, Poland

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:52 am    Post subject: [solved] force install from portage tree instead of overlay Reply with quote

Hi
I have the same package in these same version in official portage tree and in one of overlay. How to force portage to use portage tree instead of overlay but only for this specific package with this specific version?


Last edited by emc on Fri Jul 20, 2012 2:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DawgG
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Sep 2003
Posts: 839

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

delete the ebuild in the overlay (if the same version exists in the official portage tree it's unnecessary anyway) and emerge the exact same version. then the one from the official tree should be used by portage.
GOOD LUCK!
_________________
DUMM KLICKT GUT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Polynomial-C
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 1430
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
echo "category/package::overlay-name" >> /etc/portage/package.mask

_________________
The manual said "Requires Windows10 or better" so I installed GNU/Linux...

my portage overlay

Need a stage1 tarball? (Unofficial builds)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1873
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Example: Let's say there is an ebuild for libwnck in the main Portage tree and in the stuff overlay.
Code:
$ eix -I x11-libs/libwnck
[I] x11-libs/libwnck
     Available versions: 
        (1)     2.30.7 2.31.0
        (3)     3.2.1 (~)3.2.1[1] [M](~)3.4.0 [M](~)3.4.2
        {{doc +introspection startup-notification tools}}
     Installed versions:  2.31.0(1)(23:30:00 27/04/12)(introspection startup-notification -doc) 3.2.1(3)(05:58:17 02/11/11)(introspection startup-notification -doc)
     Homepage:            http://www.gnome.org/
     Description:         A window navigation construction kit

[1] "stuff" /var/lib/layman/stuff

But I don't want to merge libwnck from the overlay, I want to merge it from the main Portage tree, so I do:

Code:
emerge =libwnck-3.2.1::gentoo

To force Portage to do that without me having to enter the suffix in the above command, I would mask the overlay version in the file /etc/portage/package.mask as follows:

Code:
=x11-libs/libwnck-3.2.1::stuff


EDIT: Whoops, while I was typing that, Polynomial-C gave you the succinct answer!
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
OpenRC eudev elogind & KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emc et al ...

while the answer is already provided, for overlays I tend to do the following:

mask the entire overlay in /etc/portage/package.mask:

Code:
*/*::overlay

unmask in /etc/portage/package.unmask in only those packages in the overlay I'm concerned with, or require:

Code:
category/package::overlay

While this requires additional work it has the advanatge that no packages from an overlay will slip into @system or @world ... if for example using --newuse --deep (and similar operations).

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
emc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2004
Posts: 552
Location: Cracow, Poland

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if I have:
Code:
#cat /etc/portage/package.mask
=x11-wm/compiz-0.8.8::elementary
=x11-wm/compiz-fusion-0.8.8::elementary

and
Code:
# cat /etc/portage/package.unmask
=x11-libs/compiz-bcop-0.8.8
=x11-themes/emerald-themes-0.5.2
=x11-apps/ccsm-0.8.8
=x11-libs/libcompizconfig-0.8.8
=x11-wm/compiz-0.8.8
=dev-python/compizconfig-python-0.8.8
=x11-plugins/compiz-plugins-unsupported-0.8.8
=x11-wm/emerald-0.8.8
=x11-apps/fusion-icon-0.1-r2

=x11-plugins/compiz-plugins-main-0.8.8
=x11-plugins/compiz-plugins-extra-0.8.8
=x11-wm/compiz-fusion-0.8.8

#for kde
=x11-libs/compizconfig-backend-kconfig4-0.8.4

and:
Code:
cat /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords
=x11-libs/compiz-bcop-0.8.8 ~amd64
=x11-apps/ccsm-0.8.8 ~amd64
=x11-libs/libcompizconfig-0.8.8 ~amd64
=dev-python/compizconfig-python-0.8.4-r3 ~amd64
=x11-wm/compiz-fusion-0.8.8 ~amd64
=x11-apps/fusion-icon-0.1-r2 ~amd64
=x11-themes/emerald-themes-0.5.2 ~amd64
=x11-wm/emerald-0.8.8 ~amd64
=x11-plugins/compiz-plugins-unsupported-0.8.8 ~amd64

=x11-wm/compiz-0.8.8 ~amd64
=x11-plugins/compiz-plugins-main-0.8.8 ~amd64
=x11-plugins/compiz-plugins-extra-0.8.8 ~amd64
=x11-wm/compiz-fusion-0.8.8 ~amd64

#for kde
=x11-libs/compizconfig-backend-kconfig4-0.8.4 ~amd64


so why:
Code:
# emerge -pvNDu world

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R   #] x11-wm/compiz-0.8.8::elementary  USE="cairo fuse gtk kde* svg -gconf -gnome" 0 kB
[ebuild  N    #] x11-libs/compizconfig-backend-kconfig4-0.8.4  USE="(-aqua)" 0 kB
[ebuild   R   ~] x11-apps/fusion-icon-0.1-r2::elementary [0.1-r2::gentoo] USE="gtk qt4*" 0 kB
[ebuild   R   #] x11-wm/compiz-fusion-0.8.8::elementary  USE="emerald kde* unsupported -gnome" 0 kB

Total: 4 packages (1 new, 3 reinstalls), Size of downloads: 0 kB


compiz is still emerging from overlay. I need some packages form elementary, but x11-wm/compiz-0.8.8 form portage has some patch for KDE4.8. BTW I got compilation error during x11-wm/compiz-0.8.8 after change USE to kde and gt4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
emc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2004
Posts: 552
Location: Cracow, Poland

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:

Code:
category/package::overlay

While this requires additional work it has the advanatge that no packages from an overlay will slip into @system or @world ... if for example using --newuse --deep (and similar operations).

best ... khay

I didn't refresh post before sending, so... I will try your way ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emc ...

your problem seems to be that you mask (by ::overlay) but then unmask globally (no overlay is provided) ... this unsets the definitions in package.mask.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
emc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2004
Posts: 552
Location: Cracow, Poland

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, good point... now everything is clear... case close...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum