View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ryao
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 6:04 am    Post subject: Gentoo on ZFS Reply with quote

I am a new Gentoo developer. I am working on ZFS support in Gentoo Linux, among a few other things. I am the person responsible for the sys-fs/zfs and sys-kernel/spl ebuilds in the tree. I am also the person who wrote ZFS support in genkernel. I have been working hard on ZFS support for the better part of the year and that is starting to bear fruit.

In particular, support for Linux swap on ZFS zvols, kernel preemption and Gentoo Hardened will soon enter the tree in the form of a snapshot. It is possible to boot off ZFS using GRUB2, but that is limited to single drive pools and mirrored setups. I am working on a port of FreeBSD's bootloader to address that. I intend to release documentation detailing how to install Gentoo Linux on ZFS when it is ready.

Does anyone have any questions?

Last edited by ryao on Mon Jun 04, 2012 7:04 am; edited 1 time in total
aCOSwt
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 6:26 am    Post subject: Re: Gentoo on ZFS Reply with quote

ryao wrote:

Not really
But thanks to address, many !
So...
Thank you !
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 11:14 am    Post subject: Re: Gentoo on ZFS Reply with quote

ryao wrote:

Is ZFS on Linux fast and stable? I'd be interested in using the features, but I'm just not sure how "hacky" is that.
peje
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my case it's stabler and faster than in FreeBSD so I would say its fast and stable.
cu peje
ryao
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 11:43 am    Post subject: Re: Gentoo on ZFS Reply with quote

phajdan.jr wrote:
ryao wrote: